We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting lost” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
ottawa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Getting lost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights here. The building itself is an amalgamation of several and I frequently got lost in the courtyards and corridors. It is a fun place with a staff that really seemed to enjoy meeting the needs of its clientele. One example is that my wife had a very nasty and persistant cough and I was worried about it developing into pneumonia just as we were going into the desert; on a Saturday evening on our first day there, they arranged for a doctor to come to the riad and for the picking up of the medicine he subscribed.
Other reviewers have noted the early morning coffee outside our rooms and the roof top restaurant. Mention should also be made of the location - a short walk to the main square and the souks begin a few meters away.
Before our arrival, the hotel staff put us in touch with a charming Berber who drove us, sometimes on the fast side, over the High Atlas to the dunes and back. On short notice, they arranged for Azziz to take us on a tour of the souks and he proved a well-informed guide. We also had an excellent Moroccan massage.
The bottom line is that this us a first class hotel without losing its Moroccan soul.

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms are good and quiet. The riad also has a nearby house with 4 bedrooms, 4 baths...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Arnold. So pleased you made the most of the hotel as well as making trips to the Atlas and souks. Marrakech is a fascinating place and we're glad you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    44
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
62
213
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just come back from a 4 day stay where we celebrated a great friend's birthday. I felt so wonderfully divorced from reality that I am already planning (mentally at least!) my next trip to the El Fenn. The setting is exquisite - I loved all the different seating areas whether on the rooftop terrace or the Orange courtyard (completely divine with hammock). During my stay I saw many of the bedrooms and they were beautifully decorated with interesting art pieces. I thought the idea of having seating areas outside many of the rooms was a good idea - a perfect place to enjoy your early morning coffee which was left for you everyday before you went to breakfast.
The atmosphere is definitely more private house than hotel which is much more enjoyable. All the hotel staff were wonderful and a special thanks to Megan and Willem for ensuring everything went so smoothly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
It was such fun to have you all here and so pleased that you all had a great time. Thanks for taking the time to review us so warmly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spent a long weekend here recently with friends. Quiet and comprehensive service in a relaxing and beautifully designed setting - we spent ages taking photographs! Highly recommended just as a getaway destination in itself or as a base to explore this vibrant city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Merolfe. We always appreciate people taking the time to review so thanks so much for your kind words. All best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at El Fenn at the same time as the reviewer who has written the recent vitriolic review. Our view of El Fenn is so diametrically opposite some may find it hard to believe we stayed at the same place, over the same period of time. We were happy from the moment we started the online reservation process as nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We were subsequently met at the airport, warmly greeted on arrival and having been shown our room, went up to the roof terrace for dinner. The following morning woke up to a tray of coffee and croissants outside our door, before heading again to the roof terrace for breakfast. We then asked for a guide to take us through the souk, 15 minutes later we were on our way accompanied by the utterly charming Mustapha. Back in time for lunch, 5 salads, chicken skewers and dessert for £20 for the 2 of us. Simple, fresh and delicious. Rest of the afternoon on the roof terrace enjoying the peace and tranquility of our surroundings. We had booked 4 nights in a courtyard room and 3 nights in a colonnade room. Both rooms, along with everywhere else, were beautifully and thoughtfully decorated. They were also spotlessly clean. The only animals we saw were the tortoises that roam around the courtyards. We cannot recommend this riad highly enough. Willem, Megan, Allesandra and Karima couldn't do enough for us along with the rest of the staff. Would we go back, without question. Would we recommend it, without hesitation. Please try it for yourself and judge who has written the fairer review.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review. It was great to meet you, great for us all that you had such a good time and we really hope to see you again. All best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Last week we went to Marrakech to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we stayed at El Fenn which was perfect place for such an occasion, so romantic and charming. This Riad is perfectly located for a walk to busy Medina souks but it is surprisingly quite once you enter the door of the riad. Service is perfect, everyone is so friendly, from the reception, restaurant, driver and the private tour guide. Whole riad is so beautifully decorated with a warm touch in every corner, including our room 7, only rooftop terrace restaurant is not so special, as if was forgotten - still the view and the sphere at the rest of the terrace is fabulous. We had wonderful spa arrangement, hammam and massage, highly recommended. The only min point was a breakfast, the choice was a bit limited.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary stay so much. Come back again next year...?! All best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our 4 night stay at Riad El Fenn was fabulous! We were welcomed into the beautiful Riad by Karima who helped make our stay so enjoyable. The accomodations were elegant and extremely comfortable and the meals were excellent. We could not be happier. Our room (number 16) was spacious and the bathroom large and stylish. It is wise to hire their driver to pick you up at the airport and also to arrange a tour guide to take you around the streets of Marrakech. Our guide was Ali and he was fantastic. The experience upon entering the inside quarters of the Riad from the hustle and bustle of the outside streets is just magical.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
What kind words. Thanks so much for the review. All best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I travelled for the second time to Marrakech in September. My travel companion and I are both in the design world (New York and Hamptons), and both agreed that the decor at El Fenn was outstanding and reflective of the fantastic color and flavor of the city, yet also extremely serene and comfortable. I stayed in several of the rooms and would highly recommend the Colonnade rooms, which were all exquisite. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and it is important to note that El Fenn is very close to one of the main roads with taxi stands - so no walking and winding through long dark alley-ways at night. Dining on the rooftop offered a wonderful view of the mountains, rooftops and mosque and the food was very good. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganLD2013, Director of Sales at El Fenn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Pamela. We always hope that the decor and design here at El Fenn will be one of the things our guests remember about their stay and it looks like it made an impression on you. Thanks so much for the kind words. All best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.