We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
1 review
“Marvelous Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in El Fenn for 3 days and it was simply amazing. Everyone in our group had a uniquely stunning room. My room was bigger than my flat in London!

We also had a fantastic cooking class with the chef and then enjoyed our meal on the beautiful rooftop terrace. Definitely one of the best hotels Ive stayed at in the world.

Can't say enough about the warm and wonderful experience that Megan, Yulia, and the whole staff provided. Highly Recommend, I cant wait to visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    44
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
62
213
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place is a hidden gem in the heart of Marrakech within the walls of the old city. We stayed here for 4 nights in July, and we absolutely adored it. It's the perfect getaway for couples wanting a break away from the norm to relax and recharge. Here's some quick facts:

1. Location. Perfectly positioned right in the heart of the old city; 5 mins walk to Koutoubia Mosque, El Fnna Square and the Souks, and 5 mins taxi to Guileuz.

2. Riad & Facilities. There is no one word that sums it up, but if I had to in a few words: authentic, unique, warm, homely, cosy, private, tranquil, clean. There are 3 private pools, a cinema room, bar and library. Breakfast on the terrace is amazing, also recommend the hamam and massage - which was phenomenal.

3. Service & Staff. This is what makes the difference at this place, service is top notch. All of the staff are welcoming , accommodating and always smiling. Thank you especially to Yulia, Latifah and Megan (for tips on attractions and local info!).

Highly recommended and can't wait to visit again!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

With a myriad of riads to choose from and a myriad of reviews espousing the virtues of most of them , making a choice was a challenge.So many of them sounded great and looked interesting on the websites.Ultimately we narrowed our choices to El Fenn (because we thought Branson's sister wouldn't want to let the family down and fortunately she didn't) and Riad 72 (not sure why in the end but it was excellent as well but much smaller than El Fenn).We also stayed at La Mamounia ,which is a totally different experience to the riad.
El Fenn has a great feel to it.Sitting in one of the courtyards having afternoon tea whilst the pet tortoises lazily ambled by our feet was quite surreal.Chilling in the nearby courtyard and plunging into its chilly pool certainly took the edge off the heat of the day.It was easy just being languid.
The rooftop with its huge terrace and restaurant/bar (with lots of daybeds and lounges to relax on) has amazing views and a very small plunge pool which serves its purpose.Probably going to be too hot to hang out here during the heat of the day but great for breakfast and dinner.Great spot to enjoy the sunset and cocktail whilst listening to the haunting evening calls to prayer.Breakfast had typical choices which included amazing croissants and locally made jams.One could easily over indulge.We dined in the 3 nights we stayed and enjoyed a selection of Moroccan dishes with local Rose' wine which was surprisingly good and matched the food and outside temperature well.The food was fine but not as good as we had at Riad 72.After dinner we just enjoyed post dinner drinks lounging on one of the daybeds(does that name apply in the evenings?) looking up at the stars and across the illuminated skyline.
The room we had was very spacious but hanging space was a little light on.The small safe in the room was not fixed but the riad manager was able to store our valuables in their safe in the managers office.We didn't feel security to be an issue but you have to question the logic of providing a room safe that someone could just pick up and walk away with.
The floors aren't tiled but are clean and nice and cool.
We enjoyed the morning delivery of coffee and a couple of pastries which was placed outside our room each morning.We sat on the chairs on the verandah outside our room.
Judging from some comments by some other guests who had to move room (and the failure of the roof top toilet) plumbing can be an issue at time.
We had a massage in the little spa area(which also had a pool) which was ok as far as massages go but nevertheless a very pleasant way to spend an hour or so.
Would we recommend this riad to our friends?--yes.Great location,chilled out ambiance with a blend of Moroccan and shabby chic that doesn't look contrived,unobtrusive but helpful staff,cool soundtrack wherever you were in the riad.The rooftop area really is worth a visit from sunset onwards even if you aren't staying in the riad-eat at the restaurant or grab some refreshments and soak up the stunning views.Would be a great place to hang out with a bunch of friends.
The guide we got thru the riad was excellent.We just wanted to be shown thru the souks,el fna sq and a couple of museums(Ben Youssef was quite fascinating) .He was knowledgeable , good company and not looking to take us to shops/stalls owned by his cousin /brother/uncle who would offer us a special deal.
And one more thing-the red leather Moroccan slippers are complimentary and if your feet are small enough, a good way to pad around the riad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited El Fenn for dinner, on recommendation, and were delighted with our experience. They have created something special in marrying the attentive, but not disruptive, service and facilities of a five star hotel with the tranquility that only a Riad can normally offer. You don't feel like a customer, but that you've been invited into someone's incredibly palatial(!) home. That El Fenn is in a perfect location steps away from the souk makes it even more of a wonder.

The setting for our dinner couldn't have been nicer; pre drinks on the lounging sofas around one of the pools, then round to the dining area for fabulous food topped off with what is probably the best view of the mosque in the medina. The service was impecable, and the tour afterwards was a real treat.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone travelling to Marrakech.

Thank you to everyone at El Fenn!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Excellent service, beautiful place, wonderful rooms, a peaceful retreat in the middle of noise Marrakech. We stayed 5 days and loved the Riad, did not want to spend to much time in the city but on the terrace, at the pool, in our room, in the restaurant.
It is a beautiful location, very well kept, clean and with a very nice staff.
We cancelled two restaurant reservations somewhere else just to spend the evening here havin dinner at the restaurant on the roof trace.
Highly recommended !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Although we only visited the El Fenn for a cool drink on a hot day, I had to review this fantastic place. We tentatively asked if we could be shown around(and wasnt sure if this would be ok) and the restaurant manager Houssein couldnt have been more helpful explaining the history of the building his passion for his work at the El Fenn is obvious. The decor and the atmosphere of this amazing place have to be experienced first hand. We enjoyed a cold drink on the rooftop terrace and were served by Tied who was really attentive and made us feel very welcome. Will definately be booking next time we are in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

An enchanting series of tiny courtyards linked by stairs, serene and cool. A courtyard garden with a family of tortoises. Afternoon tea and pastries. A beautiful rooftop terrace with excellent food, a good wine/beer selection, and exceptional service. While I didn't try out the spa, it looked lovely and relaxing.

But Riad el Fenn is not just suitable for quiet leisure. It's conveniently located right at the entrance to the Medina-so you can get there by taxi and proceed on foot. The wi-fi coverage is excellent throughout. And the coffee/tea service every morning at 7:30 is a great start to a full day of exploring the city, if you're so inclined.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#13 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.