We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes me want to go back just thinking about it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Save Saved
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€200 (EUR)
Ranked #46 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Makes me want to go back just thinking about it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited El Fenn for dinner, on recommendation, and were delighted with our experience. They have created something special in marrying the attentive, but not disruptive, service and facilities of a five star hotel with the tranquility that only a Riad can normally offer. You don't feel like a customer, but that you've been invited into someone's incredibly palatial(!) home. That El Fenn is in a perfect location steps away from the souk makes it even more of a wonder.

The setting for our dinner couldn't have been nicer; pre drinks on the lounging sofas around one of the pools, then round to the dining area for fabulous food topped off with what is probably the best view of the mosque in the medina. The service was impecable, and the tour afterwards was a real treat.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone travelling to Marrakech.

Thank you to everyone at El Fenn!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    380
    40
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
59
189
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Excellent service, beautiful place, wonderful rooms, a peaceful retreat in the middle of noise Marrakech. We stayed 5 days and loved the Riad, did not want to spend to much time in the city but on the terrace, at the pool, in our room, in the restaurant.
It is a beautiful location, very well kept, clean and with a very nice staff.
We cancelled two restaurant reservations somewhere else just to spend the evening here havin dinner at the restaurant on the roof trace.
Highly recommended !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Although we only visited the El Fenn for a cool drink on a hot day, I had to review this fantastic place. We tentatively asked if we could be shown around(and wasnt sure if this would be ok) and the restaurant manager Houssein couldnt have been more helpful explaining the history of the building his passion for his work at the El Fenn is obvious. The decor and the atmosphere of this amazing place have to be experienced first hand. We enjoyed a cold drink on the rooftop terrace and were served by Tied who was really attentive and made us feel very welcome. Will definately be booking next time we are in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

An enchanting series of tiny courtyards linked by stairs, serene and cool. A courtyard garden with a family of tortoises. Afternoon tea and pastries. A beautiful rooftop terrace with excellent food, a good wine/beer selection, and exceptional service. While I didn't try out the spa, it looked lovely and relaxing.

But Riad el Fenn is not just suitable for quiet leisure. It's conveniently located right at the entrance to the Medina-so you can get there by taxi and proceed on foot. The wi-fi coverage is excellent throughout. And the coffee/tea service every morning at 7:30 is a great start to a full day of exploring the city, if you're so inclined.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed for sadly only 1 night at this amazing hotel. It consists of 4 courtyards, all joined to make an amazing riad. Although it has 21 rooms, you can find so many little quiet and beautifully decorated corners. It takes at least a day to soak in all the sights of just this riad, let alone the busy chaotic world outside the doors. The art, and collection of books in every room and the library, the rooftop terrace and dining, the family of turtles in the courtyard - all invite you to just relax and soak up the ambience. Not to mention the spa - I have never felt so clean in my life as after the hammam experience there.

But even better than all that, the service was fantastic. Genuinely friendly and cheerful staff. I was particularly impressed that when one of the people in the office found out that we were leaving after only 1 night, and that our flights out of Marrakech weren't until late the following day, she quickly arranged for us to relax in another room for the day, as our suite was being rented the following night. All without us even hinting that we would like to do that.

I would HIGHLY recommend this place for a fantastic experience. It ranks up in the two 2 hotel experiences of my life!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
dear Lubie,

thank you so much for your kind words. it is always a great pleasure for the whole El Fenn crew to read about our guest's experience.

Hope to have you back for a third great experience!

warm regards, willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

2 Nobel Prizewinners recommended this hotel...now we see why!! Spectacular, quirky oasis in the old medina. Food service the best we found in Morocco with a staff that understands international travel standards but does not sacrifice local charm. Each of our rooms was an individual jewel, updated with a quirky design sense and many artist touches in public and private spaces. Unexpected personal touches kept wowing us and we would DEFINITELY come back. Despite very good access to the souks and core of the medina, the location was perfect for taxi access with our luggage and near the landmark Bab el Ksour gate making navigation easy in the old city.We loved the rooftop restaurant, where the food and service outperformed many more famous venues we tried.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
dear Jim,

thank you so much for your very kind words and what an honour to read we have been recommended to you by 2 Nobel prizewinners. We do hope to have you back in the near future!

warm regards, willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

There really is no better place in the whole of Marrakech.

From the dusty hot medina it is impossible to imagine what lies behind the large brown doors that are the portals to El Fenn. The most beautiful series of courtyards unravels as you wander in - some filled with day beds, orange trees and fountains, others with pools and sun-loungers and the 'reception' courtyard is packed with incredible palms, more orange trees and a fabulous little family of tortoises (with their own stylish little house). We arrived at tea time and tables were laden with homemade little cakes, mint tea and biscuits - this happens every afternoon around 4pm.

We were greeted by the charming Karima and whisked off for a quick tour of El Fenn. It is all palatial but nothing could have prepared us for it all and wow - the roof terraces! Gorgeous day beds, spaciously dotted around, hip music, a little pool, friendly staff, eager to ensure happy times are had by all, but the backdrop nails it - the Atlas mountains and the Koutoubia Mosque. To say it is picture postcard is massively underplaying it.

Expectations were pretty high when we were shown our room, down on the ground floor, near to the large marble pool. We could not have been more delighted! It was huge with a massive bed (with fabulous sheets), a silver free-standing bath, a separate bathroom and dressing room and a private outside area where we had breakfast most mornings. The style of everything is exquisite and I immediately wanted to re-do our house!! Apparently much of El Fenn has recently been refurbished and it certainly feels incredibly well cared for. Charmingly and understandably the staff all have so much pride in the place. They are obviously very well managed and looked after.

We decided to eat on the roof terrace that night but ended up eating on it every night as the menu is brilliant and varied, the food well prepared and the wine list well thought out....and that backdrop would take some beating! It's even better at night!

I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: They are all brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
dear Sir | madam,

thank you so much for sharing your experience of El Fenn. it is always wonderful for the whole team to read such wonderful feedback and indeed we are all very proud of what we have co created over the last 2 years.

During the major renovations we have done over the last 2 years we also redid room 14 where you were staying and added the coper bath tub and found the 4 poster bed, you are mentioning. Al linens have indeed been replaced with 600 count hand embroider Egyptian cotton.

We are now finishing the last couple of rooms and we do hope to see you back to get more El Fenn experience!

warm regards, willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#33 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.