We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you go to Marrakech and you don't stay here, you've made a mistake!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Save Saved
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€200 (EUR)
Ranked #53 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“If you go to Marrakech and you don't stay here, you've made a mistake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I am not a regular reviewer on Trip Advisor, far from it in fact, but I have just returned from Riad El Fenn and I felt compelled to lend my support to this fantastic hotel. The staff were exceptional and I found every single person I met in the hotel to be extremely welcoming and very attentive. Whilst only a minute or two's walk away from the souks, once you close the front door of Riad El Fenn behind you, you feel a world away from Marrakech's famous hustle and bustle. The courtyards are beautiful, the rooms are spacious and varied in design and the roof terrace is fantastic. One thing that we all noticed was the unbelievable attention to detail that has so clearly gone into every part of the hotel and it truly captures the essence of North Africa. I could not recommend this hotel more highly to anybody - the location is fantastic, the food was outstanding, the service was faultless and the atmosphere was extremely welcoming. If you go to Marrakech and you don't stay here, you've made a mistake!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    38
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
55
179
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from the Riad El Fenn where we stayed for 3 nights and are so sad to be back.

The rooms themselves offer high ceilings, spacious bathrooms and outstanding features. We had room number 15 which had a beautiful pale pink marble bath along with a lovely rain shower. When we checked out at 12 they offered us room 4 to shower in. This room was absolutely beautiful with so much character in the doors and the bathroom.

The staff are amazing, humble people who couldn't do enough for us! Alessandra and the team were all so warm, welcoming and advised well on where to go. The head chef at the hotel who we were properly introduced to as part of our Morroccan cooking class is one of the nicest people we met in Marrakech and took us to the local market to pick up some local, fresh produce before heading back to the riad to prepare the meal. To get more of an experience out of the session I'd recommend you ask if you can cook in the tangia which is a clay pot. The chef takes you to the local hammam where you're taken underground to bury the tangia in the hot ashes allowing it to slow cook. The result is the most tender, infused meat you have ever tasted.

The whole vibe of the place is really moorish and you almost don't want to leave your riad to step outside.

Overall I would definitely return and recommend the Riad to anyone wishing to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is my very first review ever, but I thought that I should do it in exchange of the amazing time I have spent on this place.
The room, the food, the ambiance, the decoration, the staff, everything was beyond perfection.

It is by far the most incredible place we have ever stayed and we have already booked our Holidays for next year again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

"My two friends and I recently stayed in Riad El Fenn for 4 nights whilst we were on holiday. From the moment you arrive you are greeted with a warm comforting smile and immediately feel at ease. The Riad is a beautiful place with pockets of vibrant courtyards round every corner providing natural light throughout the maze like corridors. The room we were in was very comfortable and i liked the design, from the high rise ceiling to the old wooden fireplace helped instill a homely feeling rather than a 'plastic' hotel room you often stay in. My favorite area is the rooftop terrace which looks over Marrakesh and the Souks. There are number of Bedouin area's dotted around where one could lay, sit or sleep on. We ended up eating a majority of our meals up there and we were never disappointed with our food or service. The food in fact is fantastic, especially the lunches. We often were late for lunch but the staff and chef were always accommodating and even made a particular meal requested by my friend without fuss. I would suggest trying the Cinnamon porridge for breakfast. I miss not having it now! The location of the riad allows you to roam around the hustle and bustle of the city and explore the djemma al fna square. However this can be very hectic after a while and there is something very special about returning to the tranquility of the riad, especially at around 4pm when the cakes and tea are laid out. Just be weary of the tortoises roaming around. Over all Riad El Fenn is one of my favorite places and I could not pay it a high enough complement. The staff, the location, the food, the people, the culture all culminate in a fantastic and memorable experience."

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Overall it was a stunning Riad to visit, from the sense of humour as you walk in to be greeted by dozens of slippers, and then walk into breath takingly beautiful courtyards, with both modern and traditional themes.

I would totally echo the comments this hotel has the most fantastic collection of bathrooms i have ever seen... from rain showers to bath’s you could stage a swimming final in... I would agree that not everything is pristine and new adds to the sense of the relaxed atmosphere and your ability that nothing is to much trouble. The Hotel bent over backwards to organise a private dinner and drinks party on the terrace.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Riad Vanessa a few minutes away from the main Riad which was lovely, had stunning r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have never been in such a cool and wonderful place before. This amazing riad with it's attention to detail, lovely colonial/art deco style is something else.
The room we stayed in, Chambre 19 with it's private rooftop terasse and private pool was just fantastic.
Each morning you are served coffe/thé and cakes outside your room (there are wonderful seating areas outside all rooms), before breakfast so you can wake up gently. What a treat.
Although there are 21 rooms and technically this is a hotel, you are so private, you can sit in different areas for a whole week and admire the beauty of this place. There are so much to explore.
The rooftop terasse were breakfast is served and dinner, has stunning views of Marrakech. You can also eat dinner downstairs in the restaurant were you'll also find the bar. Real art deco style, so cool. Try the drink, Fenn express, lovely!
Each afternoon the pampering continues when the afternoon Tea is served in the courtyard. Wow. This is a hidden gem in a perfect location. Close to the souks but at the same time faar away enough from Jemaa el Fna. It's a 5 minute walk. Perfect.
We will definately be back!
Thanks to all the staff that made our stay such a wonderful and unforgetable experience!!!

Room Tip: Try chefs Tagine! Best one we've Evert had!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed with our three kids at Riad El Fenn for 4 nights in occasion of my husband's 40th birthday - a fantastic choice!

The Riad is a beautiful place and will make your Marrakech trip pretty unforgettable! We stayed in one of the Imperial suites for 4 nights, but could have happily stayed for much longer.

Riad el Fenn is made up of three connecting riads, making it very spacious, a real bonus when you have three excited kids with you. We had the sole use of the main pool (but the heated water, at the beginning of March, was pretty cold) and the kids loved splashing about in the plunge pool on the roof terrace (which gets the sun all day - the other two pools unfortunately are mainly in the shade). There's also a small cinema room (which was out of order when we stayed), ideal for kids to use to watch some movies - I suggest you bring along a few kids' DVDs!

Coffee, tea and some pastries are left by your room door every morning just before 8AM. How I loved sitting on the outside small sofa sipping a freshly brewed cup of coffee while the rest of the family was still in bed, and chirping birds all around me! (and, admittedly, also an iPad to read the morning news...)

Breakfast and light lunch is served on the roof terrace, with magnificent views of the Koutoubia Mosque and Atlas mountains. There's even a bowling green for kids (and adults) to entertain themselves with a game of bowls.

The main restaurant where evening meals are served is very atmospheric and unmissable. There's a wonderful array of art exhibits on the walls which I couldn't stop photographing! The food is well above average and the chef made our kids whatever food we asked for. The service throughout is very good, especially at the front office.

In the afternoon, cakes, coffee and tea are made available on the ground floor near the front office for guests' use. The cakes are freshly made and delicious. And there are little tortoises walking around as you enjoy your afternoon snack (my girls loved them)!

The location of Riad el Fenn is absolutely fantastic, a two-minute walk to the Koutoubia mosque and a five-minute walk to Jemaa el Fna, the main square. The hotel recommends food stall no.1, where we happily (and cheaply) dined twice.

Being so close to the souks and Medina makes exploring Marrakech very possible with children as it gives you the chance to pop in and out of the hotel throughout the day.

On the last night, my husband misplaced (or lost) the keys to our room safe (where our passports were) - the safe was swiftly broken into with screwdrivers and hammers (making it unusable) at no extra charge.

As a final note, and looking at previous reviews, Riad el Fenn is certainly not without its small faults (some handles that come off, some windows hard to open, some smoke in the room when the fireplace is on) - but that is because it is an authentic place. If you want a faultless hotel, there's plenty of choice of modern large-chain hotels around Marrakech, with none of the charm of this Riad though.

Thank you Riad el Fenn for making our trip so memorable, we will be back (if you'll have us!).

Room Tip: Imperial Suite 18 is very spacious and will easily accommodate two extra beds for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#64 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.