We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Save Saved
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€200 (EUR)
Ranked #52 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Riad El Fenn is an oasis of peace within the medina of Marrakech. We arrived late in the evening and were very well received with a guided tour of this beautifully decorated riad. The roof top terrace is wonderful, breakfast with a nice view on the Koutoubia, the pools are great. We stayed in a nice room with a large bath. We never felt any resistance to go out in the busy streets being on walking distance of delightful calm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
dear Tom,

thank you so much for your very kind words, much appreciated! We hope to have again at Riad El Fenn,

warm regards, willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    37
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
53
177
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a wonderful 6 night stay at the Riad el Fenn at the start of our Moroccan honeymoon. We were exhausted after the wedding and the Riad was an oasis of calm and luxury in the middle of Marrakech. The pool suite was enormous and bliss and views from the roof terrace over the city were great. Although we had our own little pool we also liked the fact there were 3 other pools and lots of quiet shaded areas to enjoy. We loved the flasks of tea and coffee and pastries outside the room in the morning and afternoon tea in the courtyard. The staff were fantastic and looked after us beautifully, including a very romantic, candle lit meal on our roof terrace (including a very helpful waiter jumping over a wall with our delicious food and great local wine, both discreet and funny!). The staff were very helpful when recommending restaurants and took the time to get to know what we were looking for and the type of thing we'd enjoy. Marrakech is beautiful but the Riad el Fenn is so blissful that it makes it challenging to find the time to explore the city.

Room Tip: Pool suite with the roof terrace is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
dear Emily,

thank you so much for your time &effort to share your experience at Riad El Fenn. A review like yours always makes the day of the El Fenn team.

All the best to both of you and we hope we will be your favourite destination for your anniversaries!

warm regards, Willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night before going on to Kasbah Tamadot in the Atlas mountains; of the two, Riad El Fenn is the one we definitely plan to come back to.
The Riad has many charms, the principal of which is its tranquility so close to the heart of a bustling city; it really is a haven of peacefulness. We liked the almost anonymous entrance, which lead through into connected courtyards; each one was a delightful surprise. The perfect restorative after a two hour wander round the souk was a hamam at the Riad, followed by a delicious light lunch - and then we were ready to venture into the Souk again. Breakfast on the roof terrace was a delight, as was an evening drink and dip in the plunge pool.
If you are looking for a safely predictable, anodyne, could-be-anywhere-in-the-world hotel, then this is not for you. We loved its character, the warmth and great kindness of all the staff, and its proximity to all the rich vibrancy of the city. We definitely plan to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
dear Iain & Kate,

thank you so much for your time and effort to share your experience at El Fenn and especially for the lovely words!

and what a beautiful photos; it is always good to see the premise through the eyes of our guests.

Hope to have you back soon! warm regards, Willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What an amazing place to stay. A perfect oasis in the madness that is Marrakech. I travelled to Marrakech with my two teenage daughters in the heat of July. From the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough for us, to make our stay so memorable.The Riad was busy considering it was off season, but there were so many places to relax in private, and nothing was too much effort for the staff.They organised trips for us, booked transport, recommended places to eat ,organised a guide, in essence looked after us brilliantly! The rooms are large and airy with very comfortable beds.An endless supply of towels, bathrobes and toiletries. The Hamman is a must.The roof terrace is a lovely spot to start the day with your breakfast, but you can ask to have your meals served anywhere in the Riad.The courtyards are so peaceful with native birds flying around,and the Riad tortoise ambling along.The Riad was very conveniently located,to the Souks, but the minute you cross the threshold you leave all the noise and hassle behind. We were always greeted by the friendly doorman, and felt very safe staying here. Would definetely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
dear Jacqui,

wonderful to read you enjoyed your stay with us so much on such a special occasion. Hope you will spend many more birthdays at El Fenn!

warm regards, the El Fenn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

All that has been said by previous reviewers tells excatly how beautiful this Riad is.
You have to experience the craziness of the outside to really get the whole picture,but where else can the sight of a tortoise ambling slowly about a courtyard,restore the soul so quckly,to a state of complete calm.
Special mention about the lovely young staff who keep this Riad immaculate.The wonderfull roses.The sensuall 'smellies' in the bathroom.Terrific breakfast[ask for menu].Stunning pool.Wonderful shower and huge bath.The drivers [use them,same price to the airport as rubbish taxi].
We hope to return next year

Room Tip: Talk to the receptionist and let her guide you.All the rooms have different aspects.Our 'Courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
dear Christine,

thank you so much for your lovely words and compliment (also about our age :-)

Reviews like this makes the day of the whole El Fenn team. Looking forward to having you back next year.

warm regards, Willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

WE LOVED Riad El Fenn. Full of atmosphere in an enchanting city. A real haven from the chaos of the medina. Loved the little touches like free tea/coffee outside room at 7am and the free mini bar and the amazing afternoon tea and homemade cakes.
Our favourite bit was the outdoor seating area outside our room with the sounds of the trickling water and the distant sounds of city life in the background.
Just fabulous.
Our room was totally amazing - like nothing I've ever stayed in, and the bathroom was just incredible with the highest ceilings ever and a huge sunken bath. Brilliant bed leading to the best night's sleep.
The hamman could have been better. But other than that it was amazing.

Room Tip: They all looked amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
dear Michelle,

thank you so much for taking the time & effort to share your experience and what a wonderful words.

good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Apparently the bed linens really stick out as many guests are raving about them. We changed them last summer and we were quite anxious about it as it was a substantial investment but worth every bit of it apparently.

Thanks again & don't be a stranger,

warm regards, Willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

A memorable long weekend in this haven in the midst of the bustle of the Souk. Room 19 lived up to expectations; we loved the private roof terrace, rose scented soaps, bath oils, mud masks and big fluffy robes in the palatial bathroom. The fine linen sheets, open fires and rich Moroccan decor added to the sense of opulence.
The Riad has enchanting courtyards and lovely pools – although the water was a little chilly. We experienced an invigorating hammam followed by a blissfully relaxing massage. The afternoon tea is delightful and the terrace breakfast serves the most delicious spiced porridge, home made yoghurt and fruits.
We had a warm welcome from enthusiastic and knowledgeable staff and nothing was too much trouble which made our stay really special. An oasis indeed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. Great to read you enjoyed your stay with us so much and particularly room # 19. Since your stay with us we have been redoing the roof terrace of this room, which we extended with a traditional Berber tent, new Tadelac and an even more spectacular pool.

We do hope we will see you back to enjoy Marrakech & our property,

warm regards, Willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#64 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.