We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Thousand and One Nights fairy tale trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Save Saved
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One Thousand and One Nights fairy tale trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

It was amazing, on forehand you hear stories about Marrakech that it is a place like you are in a fairy tale of the famous One Thousand and One Nights. The city is exactly what it's said before, the Riad el Fenn however is much better. The first time you arrive at the hotel you won't have any clue what is behind the walls. Once you enter the door and step into the red hall, you'll be amazed. It's better then your imagination. We were told that it was a hotel combined by 5 traditional houses within the old medina (old town). Really beautiful.
There's a fabulous roof top where they will serve the breakfast and with a beautiful view around town. There are a lot of opportunity's to chill out on the roof top, many places to sit without being disturbed by other guest of the Riad. Everything in the Riad El Fenn is remarkable being analysed for improvement. You can see that there is a lot been done to give the visitor a as best welcome vacation as possible! Everything is taken care of until the last detail. We enjoyed it very much and recommended it already to some friends. Hopefully we will come back sometime.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Google Translation
Dear Pim,

Het was geweldig om jou en je familie bij ons te gast te hebben en dank voor de lovende woorden. We hopen je snel terug te zien en wellicht om een impressie van Riad El Fenn vast te leggen.

hartelijke groet, Willem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    42
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
62
201
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We only spent two nights in August at the El Finn, but they were wonderful. The Riad is beautifully decorated and centrally located. Our first night we stayed in room 15, which was very well appointed with a large lovely bathroom and then, upon meeting Willem, he moved us to room 22, which was even more spectacular. (Even though this room had an outside terrace, in the searing +45 degree heat, we didn’t really have the chance to enjoy. However, on our early morning departure, we were served breakfast there and it was very nice.)

The Riad has lovely sitting areas and a few plunge pools which provide relief when escaping the Medina and the heat.

We had dinner (a delicious lamb and prune tangine) on the rooftop, which was truly beautiful. The staff are incredibly accommodating, from dinner and breakfast service to the cleaning staff (a maid took me on a tour of the unoccupied rooms, when I inquired about the room she was entering to clean, which turned into a mini ‘behind the scenes’ tour of the entire Riad). Everyone was just lovely. They even brought in an outside masseuse to oblige our request for a deep tissue massage, which was miraculous.

I even loved the hand-drawn map they gave us to guide us about the Medina.

A truly wonderful experience and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Kelly,

thank you so much for your time & effort to write these complimenting words on Riad El Fenn. We do hope you find the time to visit us again and experience one of the other 23 rooms.

warm regards, the El Fenn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We visited during the low season, and had the Riad to ourselves. The rooms are impeccably decorated with Moroccan decor & modern art. There are several dipping pools & sitting areas. The breakfast on the terrace was great. Staff was at our service as needed.We felt very secure & didn't even lock the room. I will visit El Fenn again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear guest of Riad El Fenn,

thank you so much for your kind words, it means a lot to us you have take the time and effort to share your experience. We hope you will visit again although it is quite a journey from California.

warm regards, The El Fenn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We visited Riad El Fenn last week for a short two night stay before travelling within Morocco and we had the most amazing, relaxing experience. The service and attention to detail were impeccable and shone through from the very beginning when we were handed chilled bottles of water by the Riad driver who collected us from the airport in the stifling midday sun and continued with the lovely fresh pot of coffee (kept warm in a thermos flask so that you can enjoy it when you want), mint tea and pastries left outside of the room each morning. We were given a warm greeting on arrival and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, it felt more like staying a friend's home rather than at a hotel. It has a real feeling of safety and security which is due to the friendliness and warmth of the staff and to the general ambience of the Riad which is so calm and welcoming.

The Riad itself is a beautiful oasis of calm and tranquillity which is much needed after a day exploring the hectic sights of Marrakech. Our suite had the most amazing wooden carved ceiling and was filled with light and eclectic art and furniture. Within the Riad there are lovely quiet sun dappled courtyards and areas with pools, loungers and sofas in which to cool off and relax. It is also perfectly located for exploring the medina and the staff will help to find a taxi for wherever you want to go to if it isn't within walking distance and also advise on prices and recommendations.

We booked in for a Hammam and also a cookery lesson at the Riad and would highly recommend both. There were only the two of us on the cookery course so we had the undivded attention of the Riad's head chef who took us to the market to purchase ingredients and then gave us a two hour lesson where we cooked a variety of tagines which we ate the same night on the lovely, romantically lit rooftop terrace. Sadly we couldn't finish them all as there was enough food to feed the entire Riad but we gave it a good go!

We would return to Riad El Fenn time and time again for its charm, intimacy, attentiveness, friendliness and beautiful design. We arrived there two stressed out Londoners and left after two days feeling completely serene. Now we're very much looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Kirtsty,

Thank you so much for your lovely words, of course we shared your compliments with both the kitchen & spa crew. It is always wonderful to hear we have met expectations and we do hope to see you again.

All the best, The El Fenn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went to the Riad El Fenn a couple of weeks ago during the low season and the searing heat. It's a wonderful Riad in a great location - not right in the middle of the medina, but close enough to pop in and out when you like. The staff were incredibly kind and attentive, especially those who helped me when I fell ill one night (not the hotel's fault.)
I really recommend getting the guided tour with Mustapha, he knows the city incredibly well and is very kind and welcoming. The rooms are huge and the food is brilliant. Megan is a great manager and was always willing to help out if there were any problems.
I can appreciate some people might find the security an issue - we went in the low season where there weren't many around, but can appreciate that you do need to be careful about your belongings.
I would happily stay there again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
dear guest of Riad El Fenn, thank you so much for your wonderful compliments. The time and effort to share your viewings is greatly appreciated.

Hope to have you as our guest again soon,

warm regards, the El Fenn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have travelled to Marrakesh about 6 times and stayed at various riads either close to the medina or a little drive away to escape the hustle and bustle.This Riad is everything you could wish for and then more, the location is excellent. You will be inspired by the rooms and the surroundings, you will be spoiled by the lovely staff who are like one happy family of which you are included, when you wish to be. The weather was in the 50s so we pretty much stayed in the Riad the whole time. The breakfast was lovely crusty bread just made, homemade jam, fresh juice, fruit, homemade yoghurt but you can order eggs as well. I don't want to tell you too much because it's always so nice to have little surprises but each morning would be a tray of coffee waiting for us outside our door we would sit out before breakfast, in the afternoon there is Moroccan mint tea and divine cakes such as French macaroons in beautiful colours. At night the cool karma music plays and the food is better than anywhere I have eaten in Marrakesh, we had Mohitos in the cool bar area what more can I say just book it you will love it.

Room Tip: We had the Imperiel Suite with a bronze freestanding bath, the shower room is huge with a hand of fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked a four night break at Riad el Fenn and had a wonderful holiday. The service was excellent throughout - from being greeted at the airport by our polite and courteous driver to the Riad itself where every member of staff went out of their way to make our stay extra-special.

The best bits:
Food:
1. Tea and pastries left outside your room every morning - the perfect start to the day.
2. Breakfast itself - served anywhere (your room, the beautiful terrace, any of the nooks and crannies around the Riad), with fresh orange juice, pancakes, croissants, eggs, berber bread and anything else you can think of to ask for.
3. Lunch/dinner - so delicious that we ate in the Riad every night except one. The three-course set dinner menu needs an empty stomach though!
4. Afternoon tea - every day there is mint tea with pastries - good enough to skip lunch for!

Rooms:
Stunning! Beautiful artistic details throughout, thoughtful touches everywhere and lovely toiletries in the bathroom. Very spacious, good aircon (very important as we went in July!) and not too kitsch.

Setting:
Only a short walk from the Medina and within walking distance from the new town.

The spa:
We had a Hammam, certainly an experience (not necessarily a relaxing one!), included in our package and would have loved to have had any of the other spa treatments on their extensive menu.

The bad bits:
Nothing! Only one word of warning, which is not specific to the Riad, is that we both suffered with travellers' diarrhoea, which is very common in Morocco so you might want to think twice before taking young children.

In summary, we had a wonderful time and would recommend Riad el Fenn to anyone and everyone. They made our holiday so special with luxury throughout and it is the only place we would stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willemsmit2011, General Manager at El Fenn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you, greatly appreciated! Do come again, warm regards, the El Fenn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.