We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Save Saved
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€200 (EUR)
Ranked #49 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and I were told about Riad El Fenn by a very well traveled friend. We stayed for three nights over the Easter holiday and it was magnificent! We arrived and were immediately whisked to the calm and quaint roof terrace overlooking the Jemaa El Fna mosque. After snacks and a glass of wine, we set out to explore the city. Riad El Fenn was great at steering us to all the best places and restaurants. The day trip they organized to the high Atlas mountains could not have gone better. In addition to having such a helpful staff, the Riad is gorgeous. Our room had soaring ceilings, beautiful blue and green tile work, interesting art and intrictae window shutters with a huge bathroom and all the amenities you expect in a nice hotel. My last comment has to do with the location. It's perfect! We felt so centrally located which made navigating the confusing streets so much better. I highly recommend Riad El Fenn and am looking forward to my next trip back already.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    40
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
58
185
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I too was part of the 40th birthday celebrations when we all stayed at Riad Vanessa. It was a definite WOW when we walked through the front door and whilst getting changed for the evening our housekeeper lit all the candles and lanterns so that when we all came downstairs it looked beautiful. Loved the leather floor and sunken bath in my room.

We enjoyed a fabulous evening at the Riad, everyone was welcoming, helpful, food was delicious and the highlight was the amazing birthday cake complete with "happy birthday" singing chef and waiters.

We enjoyed lazing around on the roof terrace of Riad Vanessa, plenty of space for us all and loved being able to go to Riad el fenn and enjoy the roof terraces and facilities there.

Everyone was very welcoming, charming and helpful - loved staying here and its proximity to everything was great, it was so easy to pop out for a bit more souk touring.

Loved it and would love to return to Riad Vanessa again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have just returned from a 5 day break where I was part of a 40th birthday celebration staying in El Fenn's sister, Riad Vanessa with a group of girlfriends. Wow is all I can say! The Riad was stunning, each and every bedroom was luxurious and chic in every way - I particularly liked the leather tiled flooring which felt wonderful underfoot. The housekeeper was attentive, charming and extremely helpful (even making a special trip to get some sellotape as I was trying to lower the tone slightly by draping a 40th Birthday banner across the balcony) as well being utterly unobtrusive and discreet.

But it was the staff at El Fenn that really made it exceptional. From the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble and they were all utterly charming. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed using all the wonderful facilities El Fenn had to offer. We spent many a lazy afternoon whiling away the hours snoozing on the roof terrace following a delicious lunch. The restaurant downstairs is also wonderful and there are so many different courtyards full of shade and day beds that it was always possible to find a quiet, private spot to chill, read etc - the perfect antedote to a busy morning in the Souk. I will definitely be recommending both El Fenn and Vanessa to anyone I know travelling to Marrakech in the future and I will most definitely be back myself.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

We just came back from our trip to Marrakech where we stayed at the Riad El Fenn !
What a great experience ... !
We have been spoiled with great service ( very friendly and helpful ) luxurious rooms ( stayed in three different : every room were different and special by its style and unique colors ) and good food !
The common areas were as well very nice either to rest in the shade or not or to enjoy the swimingpools !
The Riad is almost an art gallery ..... AND A NICE ONE !

Big LIKE

thx for a beautiful week

Seb

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed here for a special anniversary with my wife and three grown up children. We had a fantastic time and were really pleased with ouir choice of stay. Just a warning for those wanting five star de luxe that this isn't it. Management is relaxed, housekeeping is similarly relaxed - drainage can be iffy, On the Saturday morning we were woken at 8,30 because someone had decided to hold a yoga class right in front of our room - management thought this was funny! My massage started well but was abandoned half way through when the masseuse realised that she had double booked, and our complimentary hammam treatment seemed to involve a lot of sitting around doing nothing whilst waiting for the attendant to come back - she must have popped outside about 5 times in the course of a one hour treatment. Each of the pools only had a couple of recliners near them so if someone was already in situ - it felt intrusive to go and sit anywhere near them.

However, notwithstanding all those gripes, this is the best place on earth for a real bohemian chill and a bolt hole from the chaos of the Medina. Chic furnishings, unusual rooms - some lovely staff (Mohammed exceptional). We particularly appreciated being able to take meals wherever in the Riad we fancied. Our candle lit dinner was the best we had in Marrakech and falling asleep in the afternoons, on the sun on the roof terrace with a chilled bottle of wine in an ice bucket, was idyllic. Breakfast is taken on the roof and was plentiful. Beware if you order anything cooked that they have to bring it up four flights of stairs by which time it is likely to be tepid at best.

Take a guide - at around $40 for a half day, it was well worth it and Mustafa who was arranged by the Riad, was exceptional.The position of the Riad means that you can see all that you need to see on foot and each time we returned from a bout of heavy haggling it felt very privileged to be able to disappear through an anonymous doorway into a haven of cool and relaxing tranquility.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Spent 6 nights in Raid el fenn and all I can say is that it is a little piece of heaven. I don't like to return to places as I think life is short and I would rather experience a new hotel, city etc but this place has to be an exception. Food is excellent, really delicious breakfast and dinner. You really do get all the extras here, with complementary tea, coffee and pastries left outside your room at 7:30 to help kick start your morning before your go up to the roof terrace for breakfast. . Not to forget the delicious mint tea and pastries left out for your to enjoy every afternoon, simply divine. Dinner was delicious and the service is very warm and relaxed. Each room has its own character and charm and I would have no problem is recommending this place to any of my family or friends. This is a real oasis in the wonderful hectic Morocco.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

An absolutely beautiful place to stay. Extremely relaxed and very private, the way it is laid out means you rarely bump into other guests. Like a scene from Elle Decoration. Go there!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#57 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Fenn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.