We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Fenn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El Fenn to your Saves list
El Fenn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

A great stay in a breathtaking environment.
We really enjoyed our stay in Riad el Fenn
Everyhing was perfectly clean. For every detail in the decoration/interior was taking care of. Also the way people approached us, was excellent. We felt very special and very welcome during this stay.
A chapeau for all the people who work in this Riad as especially for the management.
I think staying in Riad El Fenn is THE perfect way to explore Marrakech.
Thank you very much
Mr. Brouwers

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Vanessa designed paradise. I didn’t know that was possible until I stayed in it. It wasn’t just the way the colour contrasted to the grey on grey of England, but the vibe. That comes from the people. Those like Aisha who smile and laugh and sometimes sing as they work here. Laila, who quietly gives the most rejuvenating massages. Issam, who has a higher degree in English from the university and reads ancient Arabic poetry. Raffik and his partner are dashing managers. Alexandra is an ever elegant and generous presence as one walks in to el Fenn.
Among all the pretentious and uptight high end hotels I experienced in Marrakech this one maintains exquisiteness without ever showing an effort or making you feel like the staff are under unpleasant strain. It is also not too personal like some warm family run places, only if you want will you see the articulate, joyful, pleasure that all have to share here.
Plus it's the hub of arts and the Marrakech Biennale! http://www.higheratlas.org/

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Khadija_1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We rented the entire "small house" (Riad Vanessa) for our family's week in Marrakech. The service we received was outstanding. It was a pleasure to interact with the staff each day. Our housekeeper, Jora, should be singled out for providing truly exceptional customer service. She was warm, efficient, industrious, and actually looked for ways to make our stay more pleasant. She even helped us out with our 10 month old grandson!! Allesandra was a great help, booking transfers, arranging dinners, and generally being kind, patient, and pleasant. Riad Vanessa itself is very comfortable and ideal for a family. Riad el Fenn is described as "trendy" which worried me a bit, but the small house is an excellent choice for a family of a group of close friends travelling together. It really felt like an oasis and a refuge from the sometimes overwhelming sights and sounds of the medina.

Room Tip: The small house (Riad Vanessa) has an excellent location and is perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anitabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Beautifully decorated and stunningly designed, Riad el Fenn is a truely special retreat tucked away in the heart of the city. It is just amazing to have such a tranquil and relaxing hotel amidst the chaos of the Marrakesh streets. The staff are friendly, the food is exceptional (almost too good, it's tempting to not eat anywhere else!) and the views from the roof are simply breathtking. You won't find a hotel with more charm and character. I couldn't recommend this hotel more, you will love it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SankaCoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

7 demanding ladies on a weekend in Marrakech searching for perfection, indulgence, relaxation and atmosphere. Found it all at Riad el Fenn. A perfect spot close to the main places of interest. Beautiful suites and a stunning roof terrace where we feasted on freshly prepared breakfasts and taste tingling lunches whilst basking in the sun with the snow topped Atlas Mountains in the distance. Disappointed not to find a Riad el Fenn cookbook for sale on departure and hoping their amazing chef will have written one when I next return. A wonderful place to stay with friends or lovers. Nothing too much trouble for the staff from lighting our room fires when we got back late at night, to bringing us mint tea (also late at night) to organising the delightful Mustapha to show us some of the sites. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in 20, 21 and 22 and had terrace to ourselves which was great as a group of 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jules l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I loved my stay in El Fenn!! The attention to detail is beyond any other hotel I've ever been to, all the rooms have a different thing to them that make you feel as though you're always staying in the master suite. It's so luxurious and relaxing. I loved the food, and the hammam is a great thing to do if you need rejuvenating. The situation is perfect as it is stepping distance from the main square and shopping, yet once you're inside, you shut off all the noise and bustle, and enter a tranquil retreat. I can't wait to return for my fourth visit! I couldn't recommend a place more!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HonorHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at El Fenn. The Riad is beautiful, extensive and constantly surprising; after being wowed by the central courtyard, exploring revealed two further courtyards, two pools, a pool on the roof, a bar, a film screening room, a spa, etc., all designed in a unique way with stunning art hanging on the walls. We stayed in room 21, which was luxury (including a fantastic bed with gold-leaf panelling behind). Although you sometimes have to wait a bit for the food, it is delicious, particularly when eaten on the roof with views of atlas mountains. Highly recommended - a luxury stay unlike any other.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peterwlindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#6 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#162 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,333 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Villa des Orangers
La Villa des Orangers
#39 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Fenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Fenn

Address: Derb Moullay Abdullah Ben Hezzian | Bab el Ksour, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#14 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#15 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#16 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — El Fenn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 individually styled rooms and suites, a four-bedroom private riad, 3 swimming pools and its own hammam spa, El Fenn is a unique boutique hotel combining grandeur and historic architecture with hideaway nooks, terraces and gardens - making it the most peaceful place from which to enjoy Africa's most exotic city.Our story began with two friends on the hunt for a small riad to buy as a holiday home. It was 2002 when Vanessa Branson and Howell James walked into the almost ruined courtyard of one of Marrakech's formerly great private homes. Nearing dusk and with the sound of the muezzin's call to prayer echoing in the air, they instantly fell in love with the atmospheric house which was being sold with three smaller neighbouring homes. They soon realised that their holiday home was going to become so much more.At the time, only a handful of Marrakech's riads had been converted to small hotels and Vanessa and Howell knew they wanted to open a place offering something different – a home from home retreat that combined great food and service with the spirit of the building's past and a contemporary decorative twist. During a two-year renovation, local craftsman used traditional techniques to breathe new life into the building. Polished lime plastering was used in a rainbow of colours to create walls, baths and bed frames, original tiling was renovated and carved cedar ceilings restored. Retro furniture sourced from local flea markets was combined with one-off bespoke pieces to create a unique interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith and Priceline so you can book your El Fenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Fenn Marrakech
Riad El Fenn Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing