We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting worse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hivernage Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hivernage Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Ave Echouhada et Rue des Temples | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #292 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Kenya
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Getting worse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is the second stay in as many years. seems to be getting worse and worse.

The rooms are getting darker and the check process is getting longer.

I was also shocked at how much the pool attendant was staring at one of the ladies who was swimming. I did not know her but I was actually cringing!

Also the bar staff are always hanging around the bar counter, they are not proactive about offering a further drink, something to eat. You always have to go searching for someone!

There was no holder for the shower head and no shower curtain so I managed to spray water everywhere each time I had a shower, thankfully there were plenty of towels for me to use to mop up!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    123
    61
    35
    20
See reviews for
33
158
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hotel is actually fine, well situated close to the medina.
Restaurants is fine as well. Food is very good, somewhat expensive for Marrakesh though.

However, the big disapointment is the coffee for breakfast.... You will not be able to find a real coffee nor an espresso. They only serve Nescafé, no real coffee! It is really disappointing for a 5 star hotel, even in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed here and it was ok.

When we first arrived the reception staff were quite rude. They would talk to you then half way through speaking would serve someone else. Every time we would go to the reception we would get a half smile. Also every time we walked in after a day out, they would check to see if we were actually staying there. Its not like we look crazy, we are just two young girls.

We also had to pay a security deposit of $1500 Australian dollars, when we asked later they told us usually it is $300 pounds, I asked why did we get charged so much and they stated that it was due to us staying 6 night (our room was fully paid for and we had also paid for all our meals up until this point, so I think it was due to us being young)

Other than the not so friendly reception staff the rooms were big and sky bar was very pretty. The pool was relaxing and all the other staff usually said hi and gave you a smile. Location was good only a 5 min walk to the centre.

If you are coming to morocco and are young travellers definitely stay somewhere else.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here with my Girlfriend late September 2013 for our first holiday together. We selected this Hivernage based on its relative location on the map, the fact it was "Spa" hotel and that it looked very nice. We also managed to get a very good deal through booking website.

On first impression (after a ropey ride in with a taxi driver!) we noticed that it's in a very nice part of town (Next to a Louis Vuitton store) and the Taxi driver got shouted at for dropping us off for what seemed being on their property. Upon entering the Hivernage, it seemed like a very nice hotel that was well decorated and slightly upmarket.

During check in, it felt like the reception staff a) had better things to be doing or b) felt we didn't "deserve" to stay there, I felt that this was slightly rude and the GF felt the same, as if they were looking down on us, I did also notice that they took a rather large "security" deposit on my Card.

We had another "incident" with Reception... We'd booked an excursion separately and were informed that we'd be picked up from the hotel at 14.15. However, come 14.15 no-one had arrived, so we waited outside where we were greeted by the driver... Apparently, he'd been in, asked for my name/room and was told we weren't guests of the hotel!!!!! On returning from the excursion (Quadding) we we're looked up and down by the security on the door! Overall, the reception staff felt rude, arrogant and snooty. Although the same can't be said about the rest of the hotel staff.

The Bar Staff, Pool Staff, Porters etc were all very friendly and went the extra mile to make sure we were ok, they made up for the poor effort of the reception team.

The room was large, spacious and was to be expected. It had possibly the biggest bed I've ever stayed in! We faced the road that ran alongside the hotel and it did get a little noisy at night, but being 5 floors up - it didn't really bother us. There was only one problem with the room, on one occasion the maid's had been in, cleaned and forgot to replace any towels etc - we waiting about 40mins for replacements (after noticing in the shower!).

Location-wise, it's a 15 minute walk to Djemma El Fna (the main square) and sits just outside the old city walls. Top location to get away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina's. It felt safe throughout and has good links to the newer end of town too. This is really one of it's main selling point.

The pool was great from around 1pm, although as others have mentioned it's not heated, but certainly feels great to get out of the heat and once you're in - it's fine!

Prices for the minibar were extortionate. The pool bar and sky lounge were still quite pricey, 60md for a 25cl btl of Heineken but the decor, atmosphere, views upstairs and friendliness of the staff makes up for this. The food was prepared freshly and we had a couple of sandwiches around the pool that tasted great and were well made.

Overall, Great location and was chosen because we got a great deal. I wouldn't say I'd stay again and felt it was more of 3.5* as opposed to anything else. If you're looking for a great location, can get a good price and don't care what people think about you (like me!) then this is your place!

Room Tip: If possible, avoid a road facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel near of the medina and the new city.
helpful and smiling staff, spacious rooms,
Very romantic sky bar
It's close to famous clubs and restaurants in Marrakesh
Unfortunately, the pool is small and is not heated, the prices are relatively expansives

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Good location within walking distance to the Koutoubia Mosque and Gardens and the medina. Located in a rather fancy area of town. Quiet, clean, well-appointed rooms. Lovely pool, which is key in the very hot summer weather. Breakfast was OK, served at the cafe on the first floor. The staff at the cafe was a bit rude and unfriendly but the staff at the front desk of the hotel was very nice and helpful. Had a pedicure at the salon that was amateur at best and over-priced. The room we stayed in had an enormous bed, which was lovely and lots of space in the room as well as complimentary high speed wifi access, which was fantastic. One odd thing though was that multiple times, housekeeping staff tried to enter our room without knocking!! It was quite strange that they would do so and alarming for both parties. Not sure what that is about. However, overall I quite liked this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Excellent hotel and perfect location of the hotel! It's located in the new part of the city and it's only 5 minutes walking from the entrance of the "Medina".

First of all, the people who works in the hotel are really kind and very servicial with the guests. The only bad thing we found my girlfriend and I were the problem with the dinner because we booked the half board with the breakfast and dinner and we had problems the 3 nights we took it. The chief of the restaurant was a little bit dicky and he thought as we were young people we didn't have paid the half board but when we showed him the voucher he started to say "sorry, sorry, sorry I disparage you...but as I said before, it was the only bad thing we had had.during the stay.

The sightseeing from the balcony are breathtaking because you can see the Koutubia Tower, the Medina and the Atlas. The breakfast it's very complete with many things you can order and the dinner was really good as well but if you take it more than twice you will see there is no variety with food.

I really recommend this place to spend the holidays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hivernage Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hivernage Hotel & Spa

Address: Angle Ave Echouhada et Rue des Temples | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#123 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hivernage Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hivernage Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hivernage Hotel And Spa
Hivernage Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hivernage Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.