We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hivernage Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hivernage Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Ave Echouhada et Rue des Temples | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #301 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel near of the medina and the new city.
helpful and smiling staff, spacious rooms,
Very romantic sky bar
It's close to famous clubs and restaurants in Marrakesh
Unfortunately, the pool is small and is not heated, the prices are relatively expansives

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    143
    66
    38
    23
See reviews for
34
179
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Good location within walking distance to the Koutoubia Mosque and Gardens and the medina. Located in a rather fancy area of town. Quiet, clean, well-appointed rooms. Lovely pool, which is key in the very hot summer weather. Breakfast was OK, served at the cafe on the first floor. The staff at the cafe was a bit rude and unfriendly but the staff at the front desk of the hotel was very nice and helpful. Had a pedicure at the salon that was amateur at best and over-priced. The room we stayed in had an enormous bed, which was lovely and lots of space in the room as well as complimentary high speed wifi access, which was fantastic. One odd thing though was that multiple times, housekeeping staff tried to enter our room without knocking!! It was quite strange that they would do so and alarming for both parties. Not sure what that is about. However, overall I quite liked this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Excellent hotel and perfect location of the hotel! It's located in the new part of the city and it's only 5 minutes walking from the entrance of the "Medina".

First of all, the people who works in the hotel are really kind and very servicial with the guests. The only bad thing we found my girlfriend and I were the problem with the dinner because we booked the half board with the breakfast and dinner and we had problems the 3 nights we took it. The chief of the restaurant was a little bit dicky and he thought as we were young people we didn't have paid the half board but when we showed him the voucher he started to say "sorry, sorry, sorry I disparage you...but as I said before, it was the only bad thing we had had.during the stay.

The sightseeing from the balcony are breathtaking because you can see the Koutubia Tower, the Medina and the Atlas. The breakfast it's very complete with many things you can order and the dinner was really good as well but if you take it more than twice you will see there is no variety with food.

I really recommend this place to spend the holidays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Booking+reception:
As staying 7 nights I needed a hotel with pool and fitness and booked the room directly via Hotel and got the best rate. Correspondence via email was smooth at the beginning but closer to arrival stopped and I had to call to get a final answer.
Overall good service, occasionally had feeling like bothering them and didn't spot concierge- seemed to be same persons who were at reception and as they were very busy they really didn't have time or will to help fully.
Not all the hotel staff spoke english, but they all spoke excellent french.
One of the Bellboy was well educated and spoke many languages, very polite and intelligent- one of the most pleasant staff member I talked. Go figure...:)

Rooms:
1st room 517: spacious, rug, sitting area, 2 wardrobes, safe. Phone was not working, no phone directory. Wifi started to work after manual fix and worked very well.
Bathroom: shampoo, conditioner, bath foam, vanity set, lotion. - brand ETRO
Towels- good quality, soft, with hotel logo pressed in- nice touch.
AC silent, but above my room was house central AC and this was very noisy, hence I asked to change the room, which was done next morning without hassle.
New room #602, facing quieter street, nicer view, small balcony, no rug, sitting area, less wardrobe space. Phone working+ had phone directory.
Bathroom and WC separate.
PS: Mixers in the bathrooms would need to be changed or updated.

I experienced as well the late room check: room service paid an overall visit at late in the evening 22:45 to ask is all OK with the room. Which was disturbing as I was already in bed. I pointed out few errors but these were never fixed, as they also didn't understand english.

Breakfast: found it rich with fruits, pastries, fresh egg dishes, salads, warm dishes, pancakes, selection of cheese etc.

Hotel grounds: Fresh roses everywhere.
Pool: hotel inner yard, sun-beds little dated. Lack of umbrellas, daytime full sunlight is strong hence would be nice to be able to sit on shadow. Inside pool (heated) little smelly. Didn’t had time to try hammam.
Fitness: decent but dated and I would expect clean facilities.
Cafe table du Marché- city's best pastries.

Location: close, walking distance, to all main attractions. Also great clubs and bars around the hotel. In general Hivernage is quiet and clean area (mainly hotels), medina or Guêliz much busier.
For great food I recommend (taken by local): Chez Lamine Hadj Mustapha (best lamb ever or gr8 couscous), or fancy end Hotel La Mamounia restaurants.
cafe Lobo- nice chill out with international kitchen.
Try fish on the market, fresh and cooked on spot/ nothing fancy but taste is unbelievable. Lunch for 2> ca 160 MAD

Room Tip: Some (left wing, main str side) 5th and 6th floor rooms can be noisy due to the central AC placed on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located and very close to the city center. The service is excellent, we had a friendly welcome and service. The rooftop bar is very cozy and the view is stunning. The swimming pool is in the shade most of the time but it didn't bother us. In the hotel restaurant you can have a good morrocan meal.The breakfast buffet varied little but overall oke.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great hotels second time there and I must say they know their business. Great welcome as soon as you pass their door, fr the bellman to the housekeepers they all smiling always a greeting of the day
The rooms are up to the standard of a 5 star hotel
The spa is great same excellent service as the rest of the hotel
Will be back I'm 6 months

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed her for 6 nights. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. Clean rooms.
Breakfest was average.Pool area and roof terrace were perfect.
They have a shuttle from and to the airport, but you have to pay for it. This wasn't told us.
All togethernice enough but rather a 4* instead of a 5*

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#294 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Pearl Marrakech
The Pearl Marrakech
#238 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.1 mi away
Suite Novotel Marrakech
Suite Novotel Marrakech
#313 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 940 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlas Medina & Spa
Atlas Medina & Spa
#267 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hivernage Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hivernage Hotel & Spa

Address: Angle Ave Echouhada et Rue des Temples | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#147 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hivernage Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hivernage Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hivernage Hotel And Spa
Hivernage Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hivernage Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.