We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not excellent but good enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hivernage Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hivernage Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Ave Echouhada et Rue des Temples | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #269 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“not excellent but good enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed her for 6 nights. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. Clean rooms.
Breakfest was average.Pool area and roof terrace were perfect.
They have a shuttle from and to the airport, but you have to pay for it. This wasn't told us.
All togethernice enough but rather a 4* instead of a 5*

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    116
    56
    29
    18
See reviews for
32
150
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here on the way back from Merzouga. We were tired from the long drive and relaxing in the room. My husband was about to crash and I was about to take a shower around 10:30pm. We heard somebody knocking the door. But we thought it was for somebody else since we did not ask anybody to come up. Suddenly the housekeeper/roomservice opened the door without our permission. I was surprised and rushed to the door. We complained to the front desk twice. The worst part was they did not admit it was a mistake in the beginning. One of them said she came to our room to make sure it was empty or not. At 10:30pm? It did not make sense at all for us. This room did not have the inside metal lock. What would happend if we were already sleeping? If I were taking a shower? This is extremely rude and unacceptable. We were very disappointed the front desk even tried to excuse instead of apologizing. None of the hotels opens the door without the guest's permission at 10:30pm.

Room Tip: Make sure nobody opens the door at 10:30pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm surprised by some of the positive reviews this place receives. Maybe they're from people who didn't stay long or from friends and family of the owners and staff.

I had always dreamed of gong to Marrakech, but lovely photos of this hotel give a false impression: we had an awful experience and a ruined holiday.

Day 1: room very basic, view over Sofitel, towels hard as sandpaper, fluffy dressing-gowns in the picture not included, minimal toiletries, fridge didn't work, WiFi didn't work in room, woken by music from hotel's roof garden. NOT five star.

Day 2: room upgraded after we complained: now had working wifi, fluffy gowns and towels plus a nice window seat, bowl of fruit in room, rose petals…for one day. Thereafter occasional rose petals but no fruit. View of building site, disturbed all night by nearby lift with loudly squeaking metal parts. Fridge didn’t work here either, and the two electrical sockets were hanging out of the wall and buzzed when we unplugged TV to charge phone - a tricky manoeuvre as the socket was extremely inaccessible. (The more accessible socket was hanging out of wall on a wire ad looked too dangerous to even touch). We complained about this, the manger said they'd fix them the next day. We complained 3 days running, but of course they didn't fix anything and the receptionists started to 'disappear' when we came downstairs.

Second lift was out of order for the duration of our stay.

Food and drink prices were extortionate. The food in the allegedly 'genius' chef’s restaurant was lousy and the men's toilet has a window open onto the eating area - as we discovered when we were subjected to a rather extravagant breaking of wind during breakfast. Nice touch.

- Dinner: 1 meal OK-ish, 1 meal awful, bill VERY HIGH.
- Breakfast: very poor selection, although surprisingly nice scrambled eggs - but it was the same every day with no variation whatsoever of the very limited selection. (Def not 5 *. I’ve had better in a Parisian 2*). The ‘Selection of cheeses’ amounted to one chedder-like cheese every day and the occasional glimpse of brie. They ran out of decaf coffee on our 3rd day and didn't ever get any in (we were there for a week).Waitress dropped bread on floor, dusted off on apron, replaced on display. Juices were in containers designed to hold iced water but there was never any ice, so they were slightly warm and all the juices - yes even cucumber and carrot juices - were heavily sugared. Some days there were tongs to pick up dried fruit, other days nothing, so people used their fingers.

We had a very nice waitress though and tipped her every day because she did do her best - but no way is this 5*.

Pool area: in shadow most of the day with view of building site. Beware of ordering from pool area; the price is based not on what you order, but from which door waiter brings your order. Milk shake ±£3 when delivered from door on left, £7.50 if delivered from door on right. We had a 30 minute argument with an astonishingly rude waiter, showed him price on menu, but he insisted he was right, stating we had ordered from another menu, which we hadn’t even seen. When we insisted on looking at it, the item in question was not even included. The waiter stalked off offering no apology. Eventually the restaurant manager apologised and said it would be refunded on our bill, but it wasn't - and when we left at 5 a.m. next day, we discovered how many other things we’d been overcharged for. Finally we were hit with a substantial ‘city tax’ we knew nothing about beforehand.

None of this could be rectified (of course!) because the only person on duty at 5 a.m. had no authority to change the bill. Suspect this is a calculated strategy (i.e. hold back bill / receipts until client rushing for plane) because they'd refused to give us the receipt the night before (we had prepaid but they take your credit card to cover food and drink), and were not keen to provide a receipt next morning either. They probably figure that you’re won’t risk missing your plane to argue about £40 worth of overcharging.

The utterly cynical rip-off mentality at the Hivernage was sickening. Never again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here on the last night of our stay in Marrakech - the room itself was huge and the bed is honestly the largest bed I have seen. The spa access was also a lovely treat but staff were abit rude to my boyfriend - the staff for the ladied were lovely. The only draw back was it was quite noisy at night, with a few nightclubs near by. would recommend but I wouldn't pay the full rate - we got it on a deal on last minute.com

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Very professional and friendly staff made a pleasant stay in the hotel which is quite stylish and modern.

The indoor pool and spa is great and room service food as well. Breakfast is traditional and modern and well presented but the hotel restaurant is nothing to get excited about.

We had a few issues however: we booked a double room but they gave us a room with two single beds. We kicked up some fuss so they gave us what we wanted. The waiters take away your plates really quickly which makes one feel rushed when trying to enjoy your food. They also allow smoking in the restaurant and breakfast area which was irritating to my pregnant partner. Finally the cleaner forgot to give us clean towels and it took them 20 minutes to sort it out.

Overall these are only small complaints and we would stay there again as the service and overall experience was good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hivernage in November 2012 for five nights. After checking in at the hotel we were taken to our room by a porter, however upon arrival at the room I realised that they had put us in a standard room rather than the Junior Suite we had booked. Just in case I was mistaken, I asked the porter if this was defined as a suite, to which he answered "yes" and made a very swift exit! I then phoned down to reception and asked them if this was the correct room, to which they said all the suites were booked that night and so they had put us in a standard room and would upgrade us to the Luxury Suite for the rest of our stay.

The standard room was actually very nice, with a huge bed and a balcony view towards the city walls. However, we had paid for a suite, and so I was a little annoyed as I think that if I hadn't asked them about the room they would have let us stay where we were for the rest of the week without saying anything!

The next day we were transferred to the Luxury Suite, and it was beautiful! The suite comprises of a lounge area, a bedroom through some lovely carved doors, and a bathroom with separate partitions for the toilet and sauna (yes, sauna!), as well as a jacuzzi bath positioned in an alcove. There were complimentary treats of macaroons and fruit as well as bottled water. There was also a coffee making machine. The bed was very comfy and the air conditioning kept the rooms nice and cool.

Overall, I was really happy with the quality and cleanliness! My only issue with the room was that the shower head over the bath was fitted very low on the wall so you couldn't stand under it and had to hold it in your hand the whole time if you wanted a shower rather than a bath. It was also not very securely attached, so there were a few times when the shower head fell off its hook and onto me while I was in the bath - which hurt a lot as it is a big metal shower head!

We were on half board and so had breakfast and dinner at the hotel most days. Breakfast was a very nice buffet, with fresh bread, pastries, eggs, fruit, cereal - basically anything you could want! There was also water and fruit juice and coffee and tea were served by the waiters. Sometimes it could take them a while to come over and take your order, and if you wanted more than one cup you had to actively seek them out for a refill.

As we were on half board, for dinner we had a specific menu including salads and pastillas for starters, tagines and various meat and veg for mains and apple tarte and fruit for desserts. The food itself was very good, full of flavour and perfect portion sizes. But it took a VERY long time to have dinner! Most nights we only had two courses but were in the restaurant for over two hours each time.

The waiting staff were friendly and polite when they came to the table, but quite often we sat with empty plates in front of us for 20+ minutes before they were cleared away. As drinks weren't included in half board we always had a small bill to pay at the end of the night. This again took a long time to come and then we'd have to sit there for a further 15-20 minutes before we could pay. We did try to catch waiters' attention to speed things up but it seemed like they were avoiding eye contact!

It may be that this is just what Moroccan service is like, and as mentioned, the food was good and the staff polite enough, so it wasn't awful, just a bit tedious every evening!

The hotel is in a great position, just outside the entrance to the city walls with a 20-30 minute walk to the Jemaa el Fna which takes you past the Koutoubia mosque and gardens. As the route is along main roads with wide pavements, we felt perfectly safe walking to and from the city centre, even at night time.

As we were on more of a sight seeing rather than sun holiday, we didn't spend any time by the hotel pool. I think if we had wanted more of a poolside holiday we probably would have stayed at another hotel, as the outdoor pool at the Hivernage isn't particularly big and I imagine it gets pretty crowded when the hotel is busy. It is also at the back of the hotel and so from what I could see didn't really get much sun.

For those looking for a nice, slightly upmarket hotel from which to venture into the city, I would definitely recommend the Hivernage, particularly for the quality of the rooms.

Room Tip: Unlike the standard rooms, the suites do not have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at The Hivernage Hotel for 4 nights 12th to 16th February. Hotel is attractive and clean; staff were all very friendly and helpful. Standard room was a good size with a nice balcony.
Breakfast was good and days spent sunbathing and relaxing in the comfortable outdoors sky bar/terrace on the top of the Hotel were really good. Views of Marrakesh and the Atlas Mountains from there were wonderful. Staff in the bar looked after us every day, serving drinks and meals and repositioning loungers.
In the evening service and food in the Hivernage’s restaurant were well up to par. The Seafood Linguine was so good! Meals were also very good value.
The location of the Hivernage was very convenient. The Hotel was a very safe 15-minute walk from the market past the Casino de Marrakech and the gardens of the Koutoubia Mosque to the Jemaa el Fna (Marrakech’s central square at the entrance to the market).
I would definitely choose to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hivernage Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hivernage Hotel & Spa

Address: Angle Ave Echouhada et Rue des Temples | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#108 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hivernage Hotel & Spa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hivernage Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hivernage Hotel And Spa
Hivernage Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hivernage Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.