We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hivernage Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hivernage Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Ave Echouhada et Rue des Temples | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #286 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here on the last night of our stay in Marrakech - the room itself was huge and the bed is honestly the largest bed I have seen. The spa access was also a lovely treat but staff were abit rude to my boyfriend - the staff for the ladied were lovely. The only draw back was it was quite noisy at night, with a few nightclubs near by. would recommend but I wouldn't pay the full rate - we got it on a deal on last minute.com

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonFoodie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very professional and friendly staff made a pleasant stay in the hotel which is quite stylish and modern.

The indoor pool and spa is great and room service food as well. Breakfast is traditional and modern and well presented but the hotel restaurant is nothing to get excited about.

We had a few issues however: we booked a double room but they gave us a room with two single beds. We kicked up some fuss so they gave us what we wanted. The waiters take away your plates really quickly which makes one feel rushed when trying to enjoy your food. They also allow smoking in the restaurant and breakfast area which was irritating to my pregnant partner. Finally the cleaner forgot to give us clean towels and it took them 20 minutes to sort it out.

Overall these are only small complaints and we would stay there again as the service and overall experience was good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike73Mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hivernage in November 2012 for five nights. After checking in at the hotel we were taken to our room by a porter, however upon arrival at the room I realised that they had put us in a standard room rather than the Junior Suite we had booked. Just in case I was mistaken, I asked the porter if this was defined as a suite, to which he answered "yes" and made a very swift exit! I then phoned down to reception and asked them if this was the correct room, to which they said all the suites were booked that night and so they had put us in a standard room and would upgrade us to the Luxury Suite for the rest of our stay.

The standard room was actually very nice, with a huge bed and a balcony view towards the city walls. However, we had paid for a suite, and so I was a little annoyed as I think that if I hadn't asked them about the room they would have let us stay where we were for the rest of the week without saying anything!

The next day we were transferred to the Luxury Suite, and it was beautiful! The suite comprises of a lounge area, a bedroom through some lovely carved doors, and a bathroom with separate partitions for the toilet and sauna (yes, sauna!), as well as a jacuzzi bath positioned in an alcove. There were complimentary treats of macaroons and fruit as well as bottled water. There was also a coffee making machine. The bed was very comfy and the air conditioning kept the rooms nice and cool.

Overall, I was really happy with the quality and cleanliness! My only issue with the room was that the shower head over the bath was fitted very low on the wall so you couldn't stand under it and had to hold it in your hand the whole time if you wanted a shower rather than a bath. It was also not very securely attached, so there were a few times when the shower head fell off its hook and onto me while I was in the bath - which hurt a lot as it is a big metal shower head!

We were on half board and so had breakfast and dinner at the hotel most days. Breakfast was a very nice buffet, with fresh bread, pastries, eggs, fruit, cereal - basically anything you could want! There was also water and fruit juice and coffee and tea were served by the waiters. Sometimes it could take them a while to come over and take your order, and if you wanted more than one cup you had to actively seek them out for a refill.

As we were on half board, for dinner we had a specific menu including salads and pastillas for starters, tagines and various meat and veg for mains and apple tarte and fruit for desserts. The food itself was very good, full of flavour and perfect portion sizes. But it took a VERY long time to have dinner! Most nights we only had two courses but were in the restaurant for over two hours each time.

The waiting staff were friendly and polite when they came to the table, but quite often we sat with empty plates in front of us for 20+ minutes before they were cleared away. As drinks weren't included in half board we always had a small bill to pay at the end of the night. This again took a long time to come and then we'd have to sit there for a further 15-20 minutes before we could pay. We did try to catch waiters' attention to speed things up but it seemed like they were avoiding eye contact!

It may be that this is just what Moroccan service is like, and as mentioned, the food was good and the staff polite enough, so it wasn't awful, just a bit tedious every evening!

The hotel is in a great position, just outside the entrance to the city walls with a 20-30 minute walk to the Jemaa el Fna which takes you past the Koutoubia mosque and gardens. As the route is along main roads with wide pavements, we felt perfectly safe walking to and from the city centre, even at night time.

As we were on more of a sight seeing rather than sun holiday, we didn't spend any time by the hotel pool. I think if we had wanted more of a poolside holiday we probably would have stayed at another hotel, as the outdoor pool at the Hivernage isn't particularly big and I imagine it gets pretty crowded when the hotel is busy. It is also at the back of the hotel and so from what I could see didn't really get much sun.

For those looking for a nice, slightly upmarket hotel from which to venture into the city, I would definitely recommend the Hivernage, particularly for the quality of the rooms.

Room Tip: Unlike the standard rooms, the suites do not have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midtwentiestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at The Hivernage Hotel for 4 nights 12th to 16th February. Hotel is attractive and clean; staff were all very friendly and helpful. Standard room was a good size with a nice balcony.
Breakfast was good and days spent sunbathing and relaxing in the comfortable outdoors sky bar/terrace on the top of the Hotel were really good. Views of Marrakesh and the Atlas Mountains from there were wonderful. Staff in the bar looked after us every day, serving drinks and meals and repositioning loungers.
In the evening service and food in the Hivernage’s restaurant were well up to par. The Seafood Linguine was so good! Meals were also very good value.
The location of the Hivernage was very convenient. The Hotel was a very safe 15-minute walk from the market past the Casino de Marrakech and the gardens of the Koutoubia Mosque to the Jemaa el Fna (Marrakech’s central square at the entrance to the market).
I would definitely choose to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Travelling with my wife and daughter we arrived at the hotel late at night following delays due to adverse weather. We had booked and paid for a triple room and receptionist asked if we needed 2 rooms. No we replied, we have a triple room. After waiting 30 minutes we were shown to a room with only a double bed and a sheet thrown over a sofa which was actually just a block of foam covered in fabric. After a bit of haggling we managed to get an adjoining room. We had paid a lot more for a triple room over the price of a double and the hotel website clearly states that 3 adults are not possible. We are still waiting for the outcome of our complaint with the travel agent. Despite this we enjoyed our stay and the highlight was the croissants at breakfast which were exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotsman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from 19th-25thJanuary 2013. We had a nice clean room with balcony, bathroom was a nice size with complementary bath robes, slippers and toiletries. Hotel Spa/Sauna was excellent with indoor swimming pool. We did not use the outdoor pool as its in a shady area & looked very cold. Breakfast was very nice with a choice of different breads, croissants, cakes as well as cooked breakfast and staff were very friendly & attentive. We would definitely like to come and stay at this hotel again. Location of hotel is excellent with 10 minutes walk to the local Souke Market. The market is like a maze and locals will hassle you to buy things, but that's just part of their lifestyle. Best advice is to stick within busy area of the square. We went further in towards Berbur Market, where we were told locals sell home made Leather items like carpets, handbags, shoes etc; it was quite a long way from the main square, Although the stuff was very nice, we didn't buy anything; the shopkeeper did
not look happy and we felt quite vulnerable, walked back quickly to the safe zone of the square. Overall we really enjoyed our visit to Marrakech, it was a lovely experience and people were very friendly. Harry & Charan

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charan-birdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here only one night and wish we had stayed here tree or four nights more. The hotel was really nice and we were greeted with a cup of moroccan tea. When we got to our room it was just an incredibly large bed and it that was incredibly delicious, a sweet porch. The bathrobes was also large and soft.

This is one of the better hotels we have stayed at.

The breakfast we had heard was delicious, but it was a bit disappointing as it is in the same building is a patisserie without equal. Possibly it was because we were there off-season.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, but on the fourth and fifth, it was an absolutely amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
4.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Pearl Marrakech
The Pearl Marrakech
#230 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Hotel
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#299 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hivernage Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hivernage Hotel & Spa

Address: Angle Ave Echouhada et Rue des Temples | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#144 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hivernage Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hivernage Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hivernage Hotel And Spa
Hivernage Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing