We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Into Two Won't Go” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hivernage Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hivernage Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Ave Echouhada et Rue des Temples | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Three Into Two Won't Go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Travelling with my wife and daughter we arrived at the hotel late at night following delays due to adverse weather. We had booked and paid for a triple room and receptionist asked if we needed 2 rooms. No we replied, we have a triple room. After waiting 30 minutes we were shown to a room with only a double bed and a sheet thrown over a sofa which was actually just a block of foam covered in fabric. After a bit of haggling we managed to get an adjoining room. We had paid a lot more for a triple room over the price of a double and the hotel website clearly states that 3 adults are not possible. We are still waiting for the outcome of our complaint with the travel agent. Despite this we enjoyed our stay and the highlight was the croissants at breakfast which were exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    135
    60
    30
    18
See reviews for
32
147
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from 19th-25thJanuary 2013. We had a nice clean room with balcony, bathroom was a nice size with complementary bath robes, slippers and toiletries. Hotel Spa/Sauna was excellent with indoor swimming pool. We did not use the outdoor pool as its in a shady area & looked very cold. Breakfast was very nice with a choice of different breads, croissants, cakes as well as cooked breakfast and staff were very friendly & attentive. We would definitely like to come and stay at this hotel again. Location of hotel is excellent with 10 minutes walk to the local Souke Market. The market is like a maze and locals will hassle you to buy things, but that's just part of their lifestyle. Best advice is to stick within busy area of the square. We went further in towards Berbur Market, where we were told locals sell home made Leather items like carpets, handbags, shoes etc; it was quite a long way from the main square, Although the stuff was very nice, we didn't buy anything; the shopkeeper did
not look happy and we felt quite vulnerable, walked back quickly to the safe zone of the square. Overall we really enjoyed our visit to Marrakech, it was a lovely experience and people were very friendly. Harry & Charan

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agadir, Morocco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Hivernage hotel is a an establishment with human dimensions not like those hotels I call fabrics where the point is to get as many customers as possible.
First of all the personal is really really well educated, polite, smily. They make you feel home just because of their natural kindness but always being very respectful directed by a great general manager. Mr Fadi Kenje is issued from the best hotel school of Switzerland, he is a very classy man, who has an eye on everything, a smile and a nice word for each one. You will often see him arranging a flower bouquet or show an employee how to clean or serve. I have appreciated this humble way to be.
The beds are so large and so comfortable, it's a heart break to leave them. The food is delicious and the service impeccable.
The only little problem is the rest room as the SPA, it is located in the middle so people pass back and front to go from the pool to the sauna, hard to rest with all that traffic.
However, after paying the bill, you just feel like saying: THANK YOU!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the angle rooms, they are distributed in a little strange way but on the other hand the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here only one night and wish we had stayed here tree or four nights more. The hotel was really nice and we were greeted with a cup of moroccan tea. When we got to our room it was just an incredibly large bed and it that was incredibly delicious, a sweet porch. The bathrobes was also large and soft.

This is one of the better hotels we have stayed at.

The breakfast we had heard was delicious, but it was a bit disappointing as it is in the same building is a patisserie without equal. Possibly it was because we were there off-season.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, but on the fourth and fifth, it was an absolutely amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I checked in on 29th December and had a great stay, although the room was very noisy at night as located just over the restaurant and somehow the windows not noise proof .The room was spacious, in Moroccan style, the bathroom ditto with great ETRO amenities. On 31st the room staff brought little presents, a delightful touch! The Internet connection was lousy until 1st, when many checked out, then it gained strength. The New Year's Eve party was GREAT : good food, fantastic entertainment and amazing atmosphere! I would certainly come again!!!
The staff in general were charming and helpful, the restaurant and coffee shop la Table du Marche was excellent, as was breakfast.
Great location, within minutes walk of La Koutoubia and the Medina.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool, avoid rooms over the restaurant and street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for a business conference and found that the hotel has some great good points but also some pretty dreadful bad points.

The good stuff:
Had a superior room which had a great balcony, seating area and sunbeds.
Room size is pretty decent
Bed was large
Service was pretty good for Morocco
Public areas are well done and clean
Roof top terrace bar is brilliant

Bad stuff:
Never really felt the floor was cleaned properly in the bedroom, especially when walking around barefoot - probably why they provide the generic slippers
Breakfast was pretty dreadful except for the pastries
WiFi only worked in the corridor and not in the bedroom, fine if you on holiday but drove me mad as i was on business
Swimming pool is very exposed from most bedrooms and corridors
Lots of French tourists (not a bad thing in itself) but they do get better service than us conference delegates that don't speak the language
The cushions on the balcony were nasty; very dirty and stained. Too cold to use the balcony too much but come high season no way would i want to sit out there. Also the view is awful overlooking other hotels and a rubbish dump!

I would stay there again as its location was pretty good but there are other hotels next door that would be worth a look at like the Sofitel and the Delano. Marrakesh hotels operate a quite low occupancies, so a deal can always be done especially for longer stays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hotel & restaurant were first class. Rooms clean & spacious with nice touches like scattered rose petals & chocs on the pillow. What made it more special were the staff - both reception & restaurant who were friendly couteous & incredibly accommodating. Would certinly stay here again

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hivernage Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hivernage Hotel & Spa

Address: Angle Ave Echouhada et Rue des Temples | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#107 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hivernage Hotel & Spa 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Splendia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hivernage Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hivernage Hotel And Spa
Hivernage Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hivernage Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.