We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy New Year!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hivernage Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hivernage Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Ave Echouhada et Rue des Temples | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #297 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Happy New Year!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I checked in on 29th December and had a great stay, although the room was very noisy at night as located just over the restaurant and somehow the windows not noise proof .The room was spacious, in Moroccan style, the bathroom ditto with great ETRO amenities. On 31st the room staff brought little presents, a delightful touch! The Internet connection was lousy until 1st, when many checked out, then it gained strength. The New Year's Eve party was GREAT : good food, fantastic entertainment and amazing atmosphere! I would certainly come again!!!
The staff in general were charming and helpful, the restaurant and coffee shop la Table du Marche was excellent, as was breakfast.
Great location, within minutes walk of La Koutoubia and the Medina.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool, avoid rooms over the restaurant and street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    136
    66
    37
    23
See reviews for
34
172
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenya
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for a business conference and found that the hotel has some great good points but also some pretty dreadful bad points.

The good stuff:
Had a superior room which had a great balcony, seating area and sunbeds.
Room size is pretty decent
Bed was large
Service was pretty good for Morocco
Public areas are well done and clean
Roof top terrace bar is brilliant

Bad stuff:
Never really felt the floor was cleaned properly in the bedroom, especially when walking around barefoot - probably why they provide the generic slippers
Breakfast was pretty dreadful except for the pastries
WiFi only worked in the corridor and not in the bedroom, fine if you on holiday but drove me mad as i was on business
Swimming pool is very exposed from most bedrooms and corridors
Lots of French tourists (not a bad thing in itself) but they do get better service than us conference delegates that don't speak the language
The cushions on the balcony were nasty; very dirty and stained. Too cold to use the balcony too much but come high season no way would i want to sit out there. Also the view is awful overlooking other hotels and a rubbish dump!

I would stay there again as its location was pretty good but there are other hotels next door that would be worth a look at like the Sofitel and the Delano. Marrakesh hotels operate a quite low occupancies, so a deal can always be done especially for longer stays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hotel & restaurant were first class. Rooms clean & spacious with nice touches like scattered rose petals & chocs on the pillow. What made it more special were the staff - both reception & restaurant who were friendly couteous & incredibly accommodating. Would certinly stay here again

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hello,

We went in Marrakech for visiting and eating local. I can't tell you anything about food or even breakfast because we took our meal outside from hotel.
We were in a "standard" room. The room is very big comparing to standard room in europe and US. You can compare it two a "large and high skill room" but not to a "suite". So it was the first good surprise. The personal is very kind and their behaviour is fitted to our "occidental" code of beaviour. They don't push you to buy, drink and eat... For example my girlfriend went for a "manucure" (I don't know the word in english but it's a nail repairing and nail varnishing). 2 days after, the red varnish was crackled and she went back. She was asked 70 DH = 7 $ and she says " It's a lillte bit expensive for just having varnishing and I was here for treatment just 2 days ago". The hostess agreed and gave it for free. (We went there for 2 spas and massage before... Maybe that's why). This little story illustrate, I think, our experience in the hotel, personal is fair I think.
SPA is really really nice! We had hammam with skin scrub and 2 relaxing massage. Price are correct and service is excellent. It's the best SPA I have ever been (I'm not very experimented in SPA but..)
Hotel is located at 10 min. by walk from the center of hitoric city and is far away enough for not having noise from city. It's quite perfect.

Based on our 4 days trip ther I recommand this Hotel but for food quality I let you read other reviews!

Sincerly yours
Le gabe

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel staff were most polite and accommodating. We were given an upgrade to a luxury room with an extended late check out as our plane wasn't leaving until 5.30. The hotel is quite luxurious with extra large 7 excellent beds, everything you would want in a luxurious hotel was 'on tap'. The restaurant food was excellent with an extensive wine list (not something available in a Muslim country). The Sky Lounge has a wonderful view over the city and is a delightful place for a drink after a day in the heat. Compared to the other hotels in this area, the value was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stay in a lot of business hotels so when on holiday I tend to compare, and this hotel did quite well against some of the larger marques.
The position of the hotel is just outside one of the main gates and the famous Jemaa el Fna square is a 15 minute brisk walk away. It is only a 15 minute drive to the airport.
The pool is nice but when we wre there in October / November it was decidedly chilly, the pool area was in the shade for most of the day - this may change is summer.
The breakfast was good with plenty of choices and refreshed regularly.
Staff - always the sign of a good hotel - were excellent. Couldnt fault the service in any way at all.

Room Tip: Some of the suites have their own Hammams and the difference in price is worth it. Insist on a Super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong Region, China
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Location is good (next to So, Theatro, Comptoir, Silver...), but hotel services are awful.
We took the room with a hammam inside to be able to relax a bit, but it took 4hours and 5calls to get someone to come and make it... not work!
Same story to get a iron and ironing table. 5calls, 1hour, had to go down to the lobby so they would tell me it'll come in 5min.
Pool is ok but a bit surrounded bu buildings so be aware if you want to get some sun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hivernage Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hivernage Hotel & Spa

Address: Angle Ave Echouhada et Rue des Temples | Quartier Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#131 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hivernage Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hivernage Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hivernage Hotel And Spa
Hivernage Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hivernage Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.