We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place - but it's a few miles from Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Le Mirage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kasbah Le Mirage to your Saves list
Kasbah Le Mirage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ouahat Sidi Brahim, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place - but it's a few miles from Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

We had a perfect holiday and highly recommend Kasbah Le Mirage. As other reviews have said, it is in a berber village a few miles outside Marrakech, reached down a dirt track. This may not suit everyone, but we found it very relaxing after the intensity of the city and also provided a different insight into local life,with goats being herded etc. The hotel's panoramic countryside views over the palmeraie and to the atlas mountains were particularly interesting during our visit as we were able to observe dust devils and sandstorms in the distance.

The place is immaculately clean and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful. They really went out of their way to accomodate us, but most have little or no english, so a few words of french would help you get more out of your visit. The quad bike and camel rides were interesting, great fun and very well organised. The pool and jacuzzi were nice, rooms and the hotel tastefully decorated. Food was good, but for evening meals you are limited to either eating in the hotel, or taking a taxi back from the city, as the hotel shuttle departs from the centre at 7:30. Some people might find the rooms which face inwards a little dark - the ones with outside windows did not have this problem and in any case you probably won't want to spend your time sat in your room!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceratonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Although the hotel is a long way out of the centre, it was lovely to see a different side of Morocco. At this hotel you are surrounded by traditional Moroccan villages and we got to see a more 'real' side to Morocco, compared to the bustling and crowded Marrkech centre. The staff are all friendly (although their English was not great so if you dont speak French it could be difficult at times!). The dinner set menu was delicious - the best food we ate all week was at the hotel. As there are no shops nearby it can get a bit pricy buying all your food and drinks from the hotel though. Brilliant location to do activities like quad biking or camel riding - right outside the hotel! The room was fairly small but clean, the only compaint was the noise from the birds and the dogs in the early hours of the morning! The pool was lovely, and the spa treatments were nice but a little expensive. Overall, we would definitely recommend this as a place to stay if you are looking to relax away from the busy-ness of the city, embrace the local culture, and dont mind spending a bit of money for the luxuries.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shep23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

The uncertainty of getting to the Kasbah was daunting at first, using the internet to translate English to French (as its the second language of Morocco) and then doing the same with replies. I managed to co-ordinate with the hotel my taxi / collection and drop off from the airport at a cost of 100 Dirhams - approximately £10.

The hotel was fantastically located to sample some othe Real Morocco. A mud flat village, made with straw etc, filled with chickens, running children, donkeys, dogs and quite good fun to get to. Down a dirt track, full bumps along the way, makes it all more enjoyable. Upon arrival a porter visited to collect my bag and show me to reception where I was shown to the Bar, Terrace and then given a complimentary Cocktail. Called the Kasbah. Fantastic as I sat to watch the Quad bikes come in, a donkey going down the river and the sight of further quads in the Palmerie.

Finally getting to the room, getting a little confused with the labyrinth of stair ways, flowing fountains the room was of Patio View, called KouKouYou. WIth a large wooden (secure) door, safe, drapes surrounding the bed. The room was fantastic, left to my own accord to find my way around. Hunting the pool, the grounds and the sun terrace in which I sat to read a book. Surrounded by birds, the call from the village mosque. The tranquil atmostphere really did set off the stay for some serious relaxation.

The Menu du Jour is a set menu at a cost of 180 Dirhams, with service with a smile. The final night this also included some live North African Music and Belly Dancing.

The hotel were courteous, a little hard of talking English although you can get by, a shuttle into Marrakech City twice every day, although they can organise taxi's otherwise at a rate of 100 Dirhams, (an extra 50 between 5pm and 9am), is great for a day out of exploring and even a night in Gjeema El Fna square with the fantastic food markets at night.

Although out of the way, this place is perfect to unwind, cut yourself off. Sure theres no TV in the room, but you dont go on holiday to keep an eye on the news, nor to watch English TV. Enjoyed it so much, that I am looking to return in May or June.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlideal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

After reading various reviews about Kasbah Le Mirage, I decided to go ahead and book it anyway as a birthday surprise for my partner. The Mirage is situated out of town, but that was half the reason for booking it. We found the Kasbah and the staff to be great, everyone was really helpful and friendly and the food was amazing. They offer a free shuttle service into the centre twice a day. The views from the terraces are lovely and we had a really good stay. Thank you everyone at Kasbah. Nikki 02 - 05 July.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zimdeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

Right well - first thing I should tell you is that this hotel is far away from central marrakech - around 6/7 km I believe... Its in the countryside area of Marrakech and may feel like you're in the middle of nowhere - getting there can be annoying at first since you have to drive on this long dirt track - but you'll get used to this...

When there - it is pretty nice, the air in spring is very still and its quite warm even at night - therefore going out on the patio for a drink and/or shisha is something I enjoyed a lot. In the morning, breakfast was filling and having it out on the patio in the sun was really good - there's a river nearby and hearing it flow at night is brilliant. I didn't go swimming but it definitely looked like a relaxing place to go to. There is a very very small town pretty much surrounding the hotel - the people seem nice although I do regret not going to talk to them to find out more about their way of living and how life is in this part of Morocco (which reminds me, unless you speak a decent amount of arabic or french you may very well have a hard time in Marrakech - unless travelling to the posh parts of the city (e.g. Gueliz).

Leading onto the service - yeh it was very good but again, mt arabic isn't that good and my friend did most of the talking - they were very helpful and allowed us to change rooms.

Altogether it was good but its only for some - if you feel to see more of Marrakech then yuo'd hoped, and venture out a bit into the wild by making those long trips into the centrte city now and again then this place is for you. If you're the sort who likes to have everything easily accesible from their doorstep and be able to only walk 15 mins from the city centre to their hotel room - then perhaps you'd better look elsewhere. I loved it though!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mustafa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Qc
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed at the Kasbah for 2 nights, in a room that only had windows that faced into the interior courtyard/lobby area of the hotel. This was the first thing we weren't crazy about - the room was very dark and quite small, although the bathroom was nice. We asked to change rooms since the hotel wasn't full when we arrived but were told we couldn't because a group was arriving the following day. The courtyard layout results in the rooms near the lobby (such as ours) being very noisy - you can hear everything going on at the front desk, as well as the numerous guests (we assume it was the group) who arrived very late during the first night of our stay.
The hotel has a pool area which would be nice except for the annoying techno music playing, and the flies buzzing around. There's a rooftop terrace with a tented lounge area - its a good place to read or relax except that the cushions on the chairs/lounge areas aren't kept that clean. There is also a hot tub which is not too appealing - the area around it seemed to be used for storing various equipment and lawn chairs.
The food at the restaurant was pretty good and reasonably priced although the choices are limited (and if you don't want the table d'hote you have to advise them what you from the regular menu before 18:00, which is a bit of a pain). The staff were generally pleasant but not very pro-active or service oriented, for example, if you were out by the pool or on the terrace no one would ever come back to see if you wanted anything else (you have to go back down to the restaurant to order).
The hotel is located out in the middle of no where, about 13km from the centre of Marrakesh. The taxis we took had trouble finding it. There's a very poor village right outside the Kasbah walls and not much else.
There are quad and camel expeditions but they both looked pretty lame. The hotel does offer free mountain bikes for guests to use, which was nice - we went on a ride from the village into the countryside.
Overall, if you're looking for a hotel outside of the city I would suggest other areas such as the Palmeraie than staying here.

  • Liked — The hammam
  • Disliked — Location and noisy room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank montrealjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

Well what can we say. After driving back to Marrakech from the wonderful Irocha hotel near Ouarzazte we were somewhat shocked to discover the mirage was certainly that. We could not believe our eyes when we discovered the hotel. It is located in the middle of nowhere about 7 km from civilization in the middle of what can only be described as a mud hut shanty town with thieving little kids everywhere trying to open the car doors and then throwing stones at us, which was nice and welcoming !! We had a quick look round and realised that the website really is quite "amazing" at making this hotel look nice. The place was deserted, the lobby very nice, the pool area pretty fowl with a delicate stench of manure and body odor. Needless to say we left and drove back to the medina and checked into Les Jardins de la Medina. This was a stunning place with great service and staff. but with a poor website !! DO NOT GO TO THE MIRAGE ITS SHOCKING.

  • Liked — Getting back in the car and leaving before checking in.
  • Disliked — Arriving.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
Helpful?
5 Thank morocco08London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
9.8 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#176 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
19.4 mi away
Kasbah Caracalla
Kasbah Caracalla
#249 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
1.5 mi away
Murano Resort Marrakech
Murano Resort Marrakech
#218 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#269 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
5.6 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#286 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
7.1 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#254 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Le Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Le Mirage

Address: Ouahat Sidi Brahim, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#117 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#117 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#172 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Le Mirage 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Kasbah Le Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Le Mirage Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing