We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting experience but beware of false guides” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dyers District

Dyers District
Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Interesting experience but beware of false guides”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Be careful with false guides who are actually staff who work within the Dyers District. They will show you to the area, as well as the general process involved in dying, but later ask for a fee.

I was involved in one such incident where the guide's friends said I should tip my guide for his efforts to bring us around. We gave him first 10Dh, but he wanted 100Dh. Seeing that we were cornered, we had no choice but to give, which ruined an otherwise interesting experience in a local place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beware of False guides”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I was so much looking forward to the dyers district...and then we ended up with a false guide, whom we were not able to shake off. So we had to leave and my visit was ruined. Later we learned how to handle a guide you di not ask for...Say stop, thats enough, leave us in peace, i english or french, or learn the arab words to say this.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baumholder, Germany
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Colorful and unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

This isnt a long stop but is definitely worth the short exploration. Its a thousand year old tradition that really gives some perspective to life in marrakech. Bring your camera.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Small area, worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We walked through the medina and souk to reach the dyers district. Unfortunately we kept being harassed by a young boy who wanted to take us there (for a payment), when it's an easy place to find. Quiet area, visited by a small number of tourists. Not anything like the scale of the one in Fes.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Interesting part of the souks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

If you enter the souks from the north end (just past Rue de Mouassine) and follow round to the right you will find the dyers souks. Lots of brightly coloured scarves and wool suspended over the lanes on ropes to dry. Shopkeepers will want to arrange a headscarf desert style in the hope you will buy. Like in the rest of the souk if you are not interested don't let them wrap the scarf round you. A firm but polite "la shukran" (no thankyou) will do the trick.
If you are prepared to pay a small sum (5-10Dhs) you can go through behind the shops to see where stuff is dyed and have the natural pigments explained. This is actually very interesting and you can have a friendly chat with the guys there.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dyers District also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dyers District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dyers District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.