We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff shame about the booking system.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie to your Saves list
Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sidi Yahya la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel and staff shame about the booking system.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

When booking with children and expecting to be next door to each other beware, they can't guarrentee they'll be next door. We ended up trying to then get 2 deluxe rooms next to each other but they weren't either so ended up with a room we didn't need.

We were given spa treatments to make up for there lack of info on this but did not make up for the £1000 wasted on the other room.

While we waited for our rooms we walked into the pool area at the 11.30 aqua arobics which sounded like a French cross between Hi Di Hi and Benidorm, we were in a bit of shock at this point and were beginning to wonder if we'd made a big mistake. As the day went on and we found our bearings (and had a few drinks) we started to relax, we found the Zen pool (adults only) and even danced around the pool ourselves by the end of the first week getting involved in water fights and a cheesy peace balloon release. If it did get a bit bonkers around the pool you could always choose the sun loungers on the grass further way from the pool.


The staff and management team were hand on all day, some of them were around at breakfast and in the shows until 11pm even the manager. The food was wonderful and loads of choice. We didn't like the themed nights idea, having to dress in the colour for that day, luckily we didn't know about it prior to arriving so just looked the odd ones out....must be a French thing! The English stuck out like a sore thumb.

The activities were good, we all did the Trapeze, had Camel rides and my wife used the gym, there was so much more to do but we just lazed around the pool. They really looked after the kids in the various clubs but, and I know its a French resort, I don't think some of the talking gets translated into English to the English kids, it would help if your kids could hook up with other English speaking ones to keep them company.

Apart from the room debarcle we had a really good time, all the staff there work very hard to keep you happy and entertained. We've done Nielsen and Mark Warner Holidays before but this stand out a mile.

Ratings are for hotel not booking!

Room Tip: One deluxe room is big enough for 2 adults and a small child!!! The most you'll walk to a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Mr Simon K,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to put your comments in writing. We are happy to note that you had an enjoyable stay at Marrakech.
We are sorry to hear that you experienced difficulties during the booking process.

As you already contacted us directly regarding the above issue we will respond to you on same way.
Assuring you of our best intentions at all times.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    419
    153
    65
    26
See reviews for
509
213
75
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

At the beginning of the school holidays we took our 2 Godchildren aged 13.5 and 15.5 and stayed in the 5 trident Riad. They voted it the best holiday ever and have been to such places as The Atlantica Palm in Dubai and want to go back next year. They much preferred the pool in the Riad and the sun loungers. Breakfast and lunch and evening cocktails were superb; with a very high standard of the food especially the evening canapés. Staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Having researched before we booked we were prepared for it being mainly French speaking which was not an issue. The only down side was an initial problem with the Pitch and Put but his was quickly dealt with. We all enjoyed the sports amenities and they even had a go on the trapeze, you were never bored. The parting gesture of beautiful roses to take home said it all. Thank you to all the management and staff of the Riad.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was my fourth stay at Marrakech La Palmeraie, we stay in the 5 trident Le Riad and have always felt welcome and the service has been great. This time however was different, the children were most definitely NOT welcome in the riad, especially the pool. Mine are 12 and 9 and sometimes they can be noisy when excited but generally they are calm and quiet children. They were asked to remove a small ball that they'd bought in the club med shop from the pool, my youngest was floating on it at the time and a family next to us with a 2 year old, were asked to take her out of her flotation device as this was not allowed. This resort is not an adult only resort yet it wants to be, club med either change the entry criteria or ease up on the rules.

When booking I specifically asked not to be situated by the tennis courts (it's extremely noisy, especially at night when they have the disco). My room was the closest to the tennis courts, we were kept awake until 3am with loud music nearly every night but no space to move us. *sigh*

The quality of the drinks in the Riad is now the same as the Palmeraie, it used to be that you paid extra for the 5 trident resort and you got what you'd paid for, not now, apart from the rooms which are still very very nice, you get exactly what you've paid for in the Palmeraie, so I don't see the extra cost being worth it. Especially when your children can't really use the pool.

Unless you speak french well, then avoid this resort, there are some english speaking staff and some of the staff are amazing, friendly and lovely but generally I felt like a pest when asking for anything, even for my toilet to be fixed every other day. The flush didn't work at all which is kind of important...

Anyway it was a bittersweet holiday, there were 11 of us in total and we all had the same experience. Beautiful resort, ease up on the rules for the kids and bring back the real riad cocktails! Oh and remember to give me my lovely roses when I depart! and maybe i'll return one day but for now, no thanks.

Room Tip: Do not have rooms 32 and 33, you won't sleep for bad dance music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear dullwitch2014,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to put your comments in writing. We are sorry to hear that some aspects of your holiday in Marrakech did not meet your expectations and that your experience was somewhat unsatisfactory.

As you already contacted us directly regarding the above issues we will respond to you on same way.

Assuring you of our best intentions at all times.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We go to Club Med often with our 3 kids and have always been happy. This time we stayed in the 5 trident Riad. The environment is beautiful and so are the rooms but what they don't tell you is that kids are not really welcome here. There is no paddling pool, no baby corner (you have to go to main restaurant) and we were told our kids were too noisy even though they would only play at the pool from 16:30 to 17:30. Also the life guards on duty pay NO attention to the kids in the pool. Our son and another boy nearly drowned when one of his floaters slipped off and all the manager could say was that our kids are too noisy. No apologies nothing. We are never coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was a family trip with two teenagers aged 16 and 18
The club is 20 mins from the airport so no long transfers. The club is a nice size not too big. It is green and lush and well maintained. The public areas have what you would expect of Morroccan architecture - quite impressive to look at.
We had an interconnecting club room which was was perfectly acceptable. Nothing super luxurious but clean save for a few ants which didnt bother me. I had a look at the Riad 5T area, very nice but not sure its worth the extra expense
Food is good and plentiful but I do feel that the standard of cuisine has dropped in all club meds in recent years especially when it come to desserts which are decidedly dull. There is a problem with birds in the restaurant who particularly love the bread. The try to keep them out but its not working
GO's are generally good but this is a very french resort with mainly all french speaking guests so it can feel a little isolating. This was particularly an issue for my teenage children who did not have many other kids to mix with, for this reason they much prefer Palmiye in Turkey which has many more English speakers. A knowledge of basic french helps in this resort
There were a couple of GO's who really stood out for their friendliness Salah from the sports team who led us on lovely walks each morning and Zen from archery who was great. Not forgetting the very bubbly and enthusiastic Chef du village Stephan he with the ice blue eyes and who all the mums like. lol
Entertainment was very good and great fun. The 70's night was excellent as was the Abba show.
One thing that really lets the club down is the awful wifi. Its only available in the common areas and then its very hit and miss. Internet access is an essential and this needs to be addressed
All in all we had a good time. Would I return? probably not, in my opinion Palmiye is a better option for the English
I am however a huge fan of club med, it may appear to be expensive but for what you get it is actually good value for money. If you want a week or two of relaxation,activities, entertainment, food and drink of a good standard all included you cant beat it

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here for a few days before my husbands work conference and so I wasn't expecting much and had never though about going to club med as we are a young couple and club med always seemed like a family resort to me. However I was really happily suprised and enjoyed the good food, friendly staff, lots of fun activities (really enjoyed the aqua aerobics, golf, tennis and although I was really scared the trapeze team were great). The resort it self is great, pretty grounds, well kept, pools were perfect and we spent most of our time between the main pool and adult only pool. The food was really good quality and varied with lots of fresh options and salads etc. Would probably consider another club med experience in the future...

Room Tip: Resort is pretty big so if you have kids/can't walk a lot ask to be near the main building. I lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the palmeraie Club med and we did enjoy it. The food is really good, the rooms are not too far from the restaurant and the common area.
The only problem is that the wifi did not work properly in all the common areas... No wifi in the rooms.
It's a nice place and experience but you definitly can find better, exotic and magical places in Marrekech.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie

Address: Sidi Yahya la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#84 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#103 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#190 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech is the Southern pearl, full of charm, mystery and bustle, at the crossroads of the Sahara and the High Atlas. The Club Med Village, set in Morocco's oldest palm grove, reflects the intimate aspect of the medina, fostering its way of life with its gardens, refined cuisine and warm welcome. The Marrakech architecture combines baked bricks, tadelakt, red ochre and colourful zellige, to create a relaxing haven to which you can enjoy returning after a stroll through Djemaa el-Fna square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med La Palmeraie Hotel Marrakech
Club Med Marrakech
Marrakech Club Med
Club Med Morocco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;