We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for sports/fun but service level going down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie to your Saves list
Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sidi Yahya la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Belgium
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great place for sports/fun but service level going down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just came back from this Club. As usual, this is great place for fun, sport activities and evening entertainment. Spa is great as great golfing activities. There is a pitch and putt in the Club but you can also book packages in 18 holes within 10 kms. If you enjoy golf, do not miss the Almekis one. We booked a standard club room. Roomy , quiet but honestly we are far away from luxury level here. It could be time to consider renovation.We are indeed far away from the room quality you can find in Sinai Bay or Yasmina. The service level at both bars and Restaurant is quite average ( not enough people behind the bar causing significant waiting time ). Food is ok but again nothing extraordinary. Pool area is great, gardens are great and evening shows are fine as usual. Many activities during the day for all ( kids and adults). The weather was quite nice, averaging 42 daily....we simply miss maybe a bit air-conditioning.... the system in our room was not very efficient and there is no airco in public places.... Internet access is free but only access around the reception areas...Globally, this was a pleasant week. I would recommend this club should you accept here and there some quality shortages.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    505
    174
    75
    27
See reviews for
603
264
94
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a very pretty resort, clean, tidy and a great location. the grounds, pools and general condition is a very high standard.

The food is high quality and as buffets go exceed expectations!

There are a lot of birds hanging around the buffet and dining area but hey it is outside and adds an element of fun.

Daily free bus to medina and the souks and sites - very good.

Bar staff range from slow to slower but hey it's a holiday!

We stayed in a garden room and it was lovely, good bed and high state of repair a few dead bug stains but really what do you expect.

My reasons to 3 star is that it isn't quite a 4 star place.

The staff really don't have great linguistic skills - my French is basic but ok and I struggled. The reception staff were very poor and also continually short changed us on purchases - not as a theft I might add but just because no change and never remembered after.

The musical numbers are generally fun but rarely any English spoken.

If your happy just chatting with yourselves then I would highly recommend this place as its worth the trip but please don't if you don't have basic French - and that means more than bonjour!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We went for the sun and we got it which always makes for a great holiday. This location is really well setup for lounging by the pool interspersed with sporting activities. As a golfer I loved the facilities - brilliant for honing short game. Horse riding excellent, tennis great. Land sports were a little disorganised though - only an issue if petanque, darts, table tennis are your thing. Probably not fair to be too personal in commentary here but CDV needs to be more guest focused - a little to into self for my liking. tennis tournoi not run properly because cdv wanted to play tennis with instructor!. Now that said - great food, good evening entertainment - excellent mini club (our 4 year old loved it). With no seaside we were worried the pool would be busy but not at all - its huge - a fantastic pool in fact - 2 shallow ends. separate quiet pool for those not wanting the noisy kids experience. for me a special mention to medical team. responded immediately to a last day emergency - nurse there immediately, doctor within 45 mins. all advise confirmed as correct on return to uk. Kidney stones not good to have on holiday!!!. So all in all - go to this place - its good fun.

Room Tip: Upstairs for a sunny balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a splendid resort, if you speak French. Gorgeous setting--a true oasis of tranquility. However,nearly all the guests are from France and no English is spoken (save for a few utterances which are not really understood). It is a 15-minute linguistic ordeal to make a reservation at a restaurant or make a simple request from the front desk staff. No linguistic effort is made to accommodate English speakers.

Unlike other Club Meds I have been to, the GO's are sort of - bashful. Someone forgot to explain the role of Go's in Club Meds. Hard to believe. Entertainment in the evenings is poor and completely French based.

Public areas are beautiful, but the rooms, unfortunately, are slightly better than 3 stars (with Moroccan design). On the upside -- the food is fabulous. And the sports activities and lessons are impressive and fun, and in French, of course.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

First the positives: lovely buildings and grounds, very much an oasis of tranquillity. Our room was spacious and nicely decorated with a pleasant quiet terrace.

The shuttle to the city centre was very useful and the Club La Medina bar for La Palmeraie guests' use was a great respite from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.

The pool was nice and there were plenty of sunbeds available the week we were there (off-peak). Staff were very friendly (apart from reception; see below) and really delightful with my 2 and a half year old daughter, which I appreciated very much as I travelled there alone with her.

The kids club was fine though I was disappointed that daytime activities sometimes included watching a DVD. Poorly equipped with toys and books, but plenty of creative activities. My daughter really enjoyed performing in the shows, and riding the ponies. One of the GOs always looked unhappy and I heard her telling the children off, but it was mostly a very nice ambiance. Edna who was in charge of the petit club was very good, as were Sousou, Fabiola and Alida. I'd also note that if you don't put your child in the kids club, there isn't much else for them to do.

My main reservations about the Club were, firstly, an absolutely shambolic reception team. I tried to call reception a number of times but no one answered. Trekking over there to join the inevitable queue, I was treated in an offhand way, sometimes bordering on incompetent. The staff were unable to answer basic questions or got them wrong, and weren't able to help in any practical way. One day, for example, I asked for a late checkout, they confirmed it was possible; the next day I went back to reconfirm the hour of departure and they told me it was impossible. When I protested about the incoherent response, the reception manager rudely tutted and huffed and without any apology said, 'Never mind what my colleague said yesterday, I'm the manager!'

Secondly, and related, was a general lack of information. There were a number of things I only found out by accident or too late to act on (for example that the restaurant opens early for children in the evening; that there were pre-dinner snacks in the bar; that parents could accompany their children to the kids club pool in certain hours). It would have been nice as a first time Club Med visitor to be given fuller information upfront.

The food was OK but nothing to write home about (compared with the praise I'd read on here).

All in all, I wouldn't particularly recommend Club Med based on this experience, and I don't think I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for a week at this resort almost 2 years ago, but after a recent trip to a terrible resort in Egypt (non club-med) I thought I should point out how good this resort actually is.

We actually stayed in 2011 and as it was out first package holiday as with out little girl who was just 2 at the time, we had nothing to compare it to.

First of all the best thing about Club Med here is the food. Compared to the rubbish served at non club med holiday locations we have been to, it is amazing.

The variety and standard of the food, considering it's being made for a lot of people is superb.

The attentive waiters bringing you drinks when you sit down for a meal are excellent.

We would come back to this resort again now as our daughter is older and would enjoy the kids activities better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The kids club was FANTASTIC especially the junior club. Hamza that worked in the junior kids club was particularly brilliant! All of the staff were friendly and welcoming. And even though many people spoke French, almost all of the staff adapted to the English speakers. The drinks (especially the mocktails were delicious and the package deal was fantastic. The kids can go off and do their own thing in a safe enjoyable environment whilst the adults enjoy the weather. All in all an EXCELLENT family experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie

Address: Sidi Yahya la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#96 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#161 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech is the Southern pearl, full of charm, mystery and bustle, at the crossroads of the Sahara and the High Atlas. The Club Med Village, set in Morocco's oldest palm grove, reflects the intimate aspect of the medina, fostering its way of life with its gardens, refined cuisine and warm welcome. The Marrakech architecture combines baked bricks, tadelakt, red ochre and colourful zellige, to create a relaxing haven to which you can enjoy returning after a stroll through Djemaa el-Fna square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med La Palmeraie Hotel Marrakech
Club Med Marrakech
Marrakech Club Med
Club Med Morocco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.