We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Club Med Palmeraie!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sidi Yahya la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Club Med Palmeraie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

La Palmeraie is a beautiful ClubMed, with very nice garden and a lot of facilities. We enjoyed the quiet pool especially. The club never looks busy although it was full when we were there.
Food was excellent, with variety of meals changing all the time. We tried the specialty restaurant which was delicious as well.
The Chef de village was very present and extremely friendly, as were the GOs.

We stayed in a club room, but it was really comfortable. The only bad point were the covers used on the bed, which should be absolutely replaced. They looked dirty to me and I cannot remember seeing these in any hotel for years... we also visited Le Riad, very nice alternative if you want more luxury and quiet environment. Not sure it is worth the price difference honestly..

The only area of concern was with one excursion we did. We had 2 great experiences with the Marrakech city tour with Momo, our great guide. But when we did the Atlas discovery tour, the GO put us, 5 adults + the guide+the driver in an old ugly SUV, which could not accomodate more than 3 adult guests. the car was in very bad condition. We ended up with 2 of us hitting the roof at each bumps (and we were on 7 hours off-road trek), and back problems for 2 days after that... After complaining to the responsible person, we got 20% discount. Be aware if you book it, 3 adults + 3 kids is the max this old car can take in addition to driver and guide. The company sub-contracted by Club Med is Holiday services. If I would be to do it again, I would definitely book in Marrakech from another agency, as we saw much better cars doing the same trip (and for half the price).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    328
    125
    56
    21
See reviews for
406
170
66
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I must that my expectations - first Club Med experience - were probably higher than normal, and as such, not met.
A lot of good things to say about the resort (food, drinks, staff, weather), but a lot of less good things as well.
I had a strange smell and cochrouches in my room, which was not very big and lacked a mini bar and WiFi (this is after all 2012). The airco was not working...
The layout of the resort is so, that you have to do a lot of walking, definitely, when you are located at a far end as I was.
It was EK time, and due to technical difficulties, some we had to miss.
The on site shops had a very limited offering, and lacked some basic sun basing equipment.
To sum it up: I only return if I did not need to pay for it myself.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed in this property as a family of four in Jan 2012. Overall average stay. Club Med really needs to ramp up on the rooms (especailly beds, linens, pillows etc). We had two interconnecting rooms with our kids. The rooms themselves were quite small.

There are decent enough activities in the property, kids club and the availability of babysitters. Our GO managed to get us a babysitter when we decided to step out of the resort on a whim.

Food - very ok for a Club Med! Breakfast was the one with the least variation. One day we has a person at the eggs counter, who did not even know how to make omelettes, not kidding! We were there for 4 days and it was absolutely the same thing, every single day. Dinner and lunch were better, though they could do with a ramp up there as well.

All in all, a decent time for us, but please be aware that this property is nowhere as luxurious as it is made out to be.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We spent 1 week in September 2011, we had à Nice Time there but everything is just about average, from quantity, diversity and quality of food, to activities. Overall good but certainly not wow!!! Club med in Sinaï Bay was much much nicer.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Fantastic location: very spacious, lots of room, beautiful garden.
Great activities and variety of food.
Very well managed.
The GOs are great.

Not 5 stars because of two things:
- the staff at the welcome desk not very helpful and a bit rude
- air con isn't optimal, doesn't freeze

Room Tip: decide whether you want it on the first floor (small terrace on first floor if terrace) or on the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Should you come to this resort you
It's stay in La Riad, ok a bit more expensive but well worth every penny, the staff are charming especially the two guys behind the bar in the evenings they really do run the show and nothing is to much trouble.
The rooms are so large and if you're in the ground rooms you have a fantastic patio and garden.
A very large pool excellent food and champagne at 1800 every night, this really is an excellent all inclusive resort.
The only negative point is that you have to go to the main building la palmeirie for dinner, but you have your own too
Dedicated to La Riad guests and it's only a mere 5 minuet walk

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This our third Club Med experience (after Opio and La Palmyre) and definitely our best. We (two adults and three kids 8, 11 and 15) spent a week at La Palmeraie over Easter. The weather wasn't always kind to us but at least we got to see the resort in rain as well as sun.

So, for the plus points ....

First, the setting is stunning with beautifully landscaped grounds and thoughfully built accommodation and public spaces. Above all, there is plenty of space everywhere and certainly no difficulty in getting a table in one of the four dining rooms on a cold evening, or on the terrace on a sunny lunchtime. The reason for all the space is that La Palmeraie was the sports ground for the original CM at The Medina in down(old)town Marrakech. The accommodation and then the 5* Riad were added later. However the facilities at La Palmeraie have to cope with potentially 1000 plus people (ie everyone staying at all three sites). La Palmeraie was apparently full when we were there (and The Medina was shut for refurbishment so no two way traffic) but we were never pushed for a seat in any of the dining or bar areas on a wet day - unlike the nightmare that is La Palmyre (France) in the rain.

Second, although you are in the CM 'bubble' there is enough of the local colour in the architecture, landscaping, food and atmosphere to ensure this doesn't feel like just another CM.

Third, we now really appreciate the difference between three and four tridents. Four tridents definitely ensure a better dining experience (the patisserie and boulagerie are wonderful here - though you have to fight the birds) and there was lots of Morrocan cuisine on offer.

Fourth, the rooms were delightful and more than adequately spacious. Lighting however was a little too 'atmospheric'. As our teenager remarked drily 'it's bit like a branch of Hollister'. We asked to be moved away from the main drag and found ourselves in an idyllic spot overlooking lush greenery by the perimeter wall. Housekeeping was also excellent with an elaborate line in rose petal and towel origami. Staff generally were charming and there was a far greater sense of 'service' than in other CMs.

Finally, it's an easy transfer from the airport and getting into the centre of Marrakech is simple on the shuttle bus. (We would definitely recommend Rachid from Medina Walking Tours for an excellent guided tour of the history and culture of the old city.)

A couple of downsides .....

The pool is unpleasantly cold and the kids (or anyone else - aquarobics was abandoned) just couldn't swim in it for long. Clearly the management were aware of this and suggested parents took their children to the pool at the kids club which is heated. However, the KC pool isn't really suitable for older kids who like to swim seriously as well as mess around.

The birds! Thousands of small, pretty - but somewhat aggressive - birds. The birdsong is wonderful. The sight of them perched all over the boulangerie in the dining room pecking at the bread and cakes less thrilling. Ditto the high level lighting which they used as perches. This really was a case of check your salads! Hard to imagine that your average Environmental Health Officer would be enamoured with the set up. And don't leave your breakfast - even a glass of orange juice - on an outside table while you nip in for an extra fork. You won't be the first to take a sip / bite. Along with the birds are tens of cats in various states of mangyness. However, they by and large kept themselves to themselves (and certainly had nothing to do with the birds).

There is open water everywhere. Unlike the other CMs we've been to the pool isn't fenced off. This was a bonus for us - none of that cramped round the perimeter fence business. However parents of small children with a penchant for aquatic activities watch out. In addition the shape of the pool although beautifully landscaped also means you cannot have a clear view of your kids (in a way we were grateful it was too cold to swim in). Apart from the pool there are lots of water channels and fountains throughout the site. Very inviting and easily accessible (also not well lit at night).

All in all a very enjoyable escape for some much needed blue skies and sunshine - even if it wasn't everyday!

Room Tip: If you want to ensure you have a room in a particular location then call the resort direct. Do not r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Great Member,

Thank you very much for writing this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Marrakech la Palmeraie Club Med Resort. We are glad to see that you and your family had a great time and that you enjoyed the Resort location -close to the centre of Marrakech-, its spacious environment and its local colour.

Besides, we are pleased to see that you appreciated the food quality, the comfort of your room and the dedication of our staff on site!

We would like to thank you for your comments with regards to the temperature of the pool, the birds and the ‘open water’ concern. It is only with constructive criticism such as yours that Club Med will be able to monitor and improve its offer in all its Resorts worldwide. Thus, we can assure you that they have been forwarded to the relevant departments in our organisation for their perusal and to the Chef de Village on site for his attention.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie

Also Known As:
Club Med La Palmeraie Hotel
Club Med La Palmeraie Hotel Marrakech
Club Med Marrakech
Marrakech Club Med
Club Med Morocco
Address: Sidi Yahya la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#81 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#93 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech is the Southern pearl, full of charm, mystery and bustle, at the crossroads of the Sahara and the High Atlas. The Club Med Village, set in Morocco's oldest palm grove, reflects the intimate aspect of the medina, fostering its way of life with its gardens, refined cuisine and warm welcome. The Marrakech architecture combines baked bricks, tadelakt, red ochre and colourful zellige, to create a relaxing haven to which you can enjoy returning after a stroll through Djemaa el-Fna square. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie to your Saves list