We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Family Holiday Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie to your Saves list
Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Sidi Yahya la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Family Holiday Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I was very impressed when we arrived at nearly 0100hrs and there were still 6 very helpful GO's waiting to greet us and provide us with refreshments. All of the GO's throughout our stay were very helpful and always very pleasant with friendly hello's whenever they passed.
In particular Ashley, from the Circus, and the temporary "Chef Du Village" Mike were very friendly. Mike organised an English evening for all the English guests which made it really easy to make friends and get to know people. Mike was very friendly throughout our stay and despite his busy days made himself visible during the day and even had dinner with us on several occasions. Ashley encouraged us all to come and try the flying trapeze which turned out to be fantastic. We came back every day afterwards to practice as it was really easy to progress from the Knee Hang to the catch. Ashley was really great to talk to and was happy to eat with us when she wasn't busy in the evenings and really made our stay very enjoyable.
The atmosphere at the hotel was fantastic and there was always great entertainment during the days by the pool and in the evenings in the theatre. The hotel offers a great range of activities which are all included in your stay, all you have to do is turn up at the appropriate time and the GO's are very helpful in getting you going.
The rooms are not 5* luxury but they are perfect for the hotel as you only really sleep and then get ready for the evening in them as the rest of the resort is so fantastic. Overall was an excellent stay and we will definitely be choosing Club Med again for our next holiday and we are very grateful to all the brilliant GO's who made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Marrakech la Palmeraie Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed our staff commitment.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    558
    190
    78
    30
See reviews for
680
293
105
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Club Med lived up yet again to all our expectations. The GO's were so much fun, lively and entertaining from the activities around the pool, to all the sports and then the evening entertainment. The Chef of the village organised an English speaking evening for us as we were in the minority-600 French to 60 English. It was such a good evening with drinks,dinner and a mad game involving racing around the resort doing lots of challenges.It was thoroughly enjoyed by both the children and the adults. The food was excellent with lots of different choices and themes. We ventured out of the resort to the souk but found this a little daunting due to the heat, the motorbikes and the persistence of the stall holders- which we were expecting. We also went in a 4x4 to the Atlas mountains which we really enjoyed, stopping to have lunch in a Berber house.
We came home wishing that we had stayed longer - never mind back to reality!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

In one word a trip of a lifetime well in five words one is just not enough to express my feelings for this paradise resort. The sense of relief as everything is prepaid so you do not have to carry money around. The food is all inclusive and is to an extremely high standard. All of the staff are happy and helpful and if you have a problem are sure to sort it out. The endless available activities are mind boggling. However if you want to just relax by the pool and work on the tan it is perfectly fine you are never pushed to do anything and is perfect for relaxing. If you want to explore there is a shuttle bus from the hotel to just outside the main square of Marrakesh. Where there is a convenient club med just waiting for you. If you like adventure, relaxing or sport you will defiantly find that this resort is for you!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Marrakech La Palmeraie Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed the food quality and our staff commitment.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The Club Med experience started already at the airport. After the seemless flight in premium economy class by Brussels Airlines (partner of Club Med for the Belgian guests), a great welcome at the airport and the club was given by the GOs. Never had such a warm and luxurious welcome, even in much more expensive hotels.

Strong points:
*Food quality and variety. No need for different à la carte restaurants, as the buffet offers plenty of choice, and most importantly, varies everyday. Even foie gras available!
*Bar service: many international drinks included
*Sports: a lot is possible!
*Kindness and presence of the "chef de village" and staff, especially the GOs (of all types of nationality).
*Free wifi (only in the bar)
*Frequent shuttle service (free) to Club Med La Medina (centre of Marrakech)

Weaker points:
*Although the rooms have most comfort items available, they can still be described as quite basis (this is quite common at all club meds, I've heard). A minibar was e.g. missing (only a bottle of water is given on a daily basis by the housekeeping).
*As already said by other reviewers a serious birds/flies/bees problem is present in the main restaurant
*GOs dining with you. Although this is part of the Club Med experience, I think there should be more tables for 2-3-4 persons, where guests can dine in own company.
*During our stay, hotel occupation of all three clubs in Marrakech was quite low, about 1/3. That was nice for us, but I can imagine it can be quite busy around the pool and in the restaurant when all rooms would be occupied!

Overall, the Club Med La Palmeraie can - on most points - compete with five star hotels! However, in order to continue the development of Club Med to offer a more luxurious product ("haut gamme"), and to justify the price setting, small refurbishings are suggested.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

My wife and I went to La Palmeraie in the first two weeks of July with our 8 and 3 year old sons. This was our first time with Club Med and we did not know what to expect, but after having a fantastic relaxing time, we will defintely holiday with Club Med again next year. I cannot recommend the place enough if you have a family.

We had twin interconnecting club rooms on the first floor which provided a sizeable space with plenty of cupboards and two toilets and two bathrooms. The aircon in the rooms maintained the temperature at a adequate level, but it was nice to thow open the patio doors in the mornings. True, the temperature will not get down to 5C when you set the thermostat, but then who would want a room this cold! The cleaner Mostapha was very friendly, and always decorating the room with rose petals and towel sculptures for us. Thankfully, due to the location, there is no mosquito or insect problem either.

The resort itself had everything you could hope for on a family holiday. The restaurant and food is fantastic and varied with extraordinary choice, and the waiting staff are efficient. The resort manager is always present at meal times to greet you and take any questions you may have. Yes birds do get into the food area at breakfast, but this is what you expect in a hot climate where the doors are thrown open to let in the breeze.

Activities for children on the resort are great. My 8 year old went into the (free) mini club most days and did archery, table tennis, golf, swimming, tennis etc. They are so felexible that you can drop them in and out whenever you wish. When the kids were not in the clubs, they were more than happy having fun by the main pool and mixing with the other kids there.

Walking around the resort, you always get a friendly "bonjour" from all the GOs, and those from the kids clubs make a great fuss of the children every time they see them. Thankfully the place is not full of Brits, so you do feel you are on holiday abroad rather than England removed. Some fluency in French will definitely help as this is the language spoken in the resort, but there are three English speaking GOs, Joshua, Mike and Jonathan if you get really stuck. Joshua often joined us for dinner, and got to be hero worshipped by my 3 year old.

I do have 2 very small criticisms, but they would not stop me returning.

The music around the pool for the Aqua Gym in the morning is way too loud, and pervades every corner of the pool area. It really does spoil the pool experience for those not taking part, and you cannot escape the noise. Fortunately it only lasts from 11:30am to lunch time.

Dinner commencing at 7:30pm is too late if you have kids. If the kids are in the clubs they can eat earlier, but we would rather eat with our children. A 7.00pm start would be much better.

All in all a great place, go there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Marrakech la Palmeraie Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your family had good time there and you enjoyed the way your children have been welcomed in the Petit and Mini Club Med and our staff commitment.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I went to the Club Med La Palmeraie in June 2011 and had a great time with friends. The property is quite large with nice rooms, nice facilities and beautiful pools and grounds. The staff was friendly, although the bar staff was hit and miss as far as service goes.

There are a few downsides to this property, however. First, the restaurant has a major bird and fly problem. The doors are always open (no AC) and so the birds invade the buffet at every meal. Several times we saw multiple (like a couple dozen) birds feasting on the bread table, or on the pancakes for breakfast. If you leave your plate on the table and go in to get something, birds will attack it unless you have others at the table to scare them off. The other issue with the bars and restaurants is the fly problem. Flies are everywhere and they don't have those black light things that supposedly repel or kill them.

The rooms are decent size, decorated nicely. The beds are all twin beds pushed together with very hard and thin mattresses. The AC in the room adjusts to 5C but the room will never get even close to that. The AC doesn't work well at all, so if you're visiting during the hot months, you can expect to sleep in a very warm room. All of our rooms were like this so it wasn't an isolated incident. Each room has a private balcony or patio which is nice.

As far as the crowd goes, it was 95% French and a surprisingly large number of children. The other 5% was various other Euros (Dutch primarily) and we were the sole Americans as best we could tell. This wasn't a problem, however any Yankees expectign to mingle with the masses will be disappointed even if you speak the langugage. It's not a mingle type of crowd. People were nice, however, and very polite, saying "bonjour" as they walk by on the sidewalks. Knowing French is a huge plus, especially with the staff.

One feature that we really liked was the free shuttle between La Palmeraie and La Medina. It's a tour bus that is air conditioned and goes on a predominantly hourly schedule. We used it a lot. You can eat at either location, but the food is better and a better selection at La Palmeraie. Many people from the Medina location seem to come to La Palmeraie to use the pool and eat. The price to stay at La Palmeraie was slightly more for the week and well worth it. The Media isn't as nice and is much smaller, although appears to have a lot fewer kids.

La Palmeraie has a "tranquil pool" (meaning no kids) which was nice, although the lounge chairs are so spread out that kids were only loud and annoying in the main pool. The main pool is so large, however, that you can go to the other side and not be bothered by them.

The food was great here. Despite it being a buffet, we were very happy with the food. Not a bad meal! The free (house) wine is all local Moroccan which is just ok. Their refrigerators aren't good so expect tepid white and rose. Even the French were putting ice cubes in the wine, so that tells you something. Drinks are served in small cups, so even if you're craving a big glass of water, you're going to have to take them in 6-ounce servings.

Overall, it's very pretty, nice rooms, great food, nice pools. Downside is the bird/fly problem, lack of AC and warm drinks. We definitely enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: n/a
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Well where do i start. I work for a Travel Agent in the UK and i was lucky enough to get a free agents concession with Club Med. We chose Club Med La Palmeraie and we are so glad we did!! I It was our first time at a Club Med property and we will definately be going back. I travelled with my boyfriend for a 7 night stay in May and we were met by Josh on reception who made us feel very welcome. He showed us to our room which was a Club Room. It was very clean and comftable. After a quick unpack we headed straight to the restaurant for something to eat. The food was excellent with lots of choice, no complaints at all. It was time to check the bar and the evening entertainment out now so we quickly headed off as the show was due to start. I have to say the shows are really good and every member of staff puts their heart into it. Mike who is the assistant to the village was great. He always came over to us for a chat and made sure everything was ok. That Guy never stopped! We had dinner with him several times and got to know him really well. We didn't travel with kids but we could see how well thay were looked after by the Mini Club GO's especially Tomoyo. She always had a smile on her face. As my boyfriend likes his vodka we spent quite alot of time round the bar. Even these guys could not do enough for us. They were forever making me different cocktails!! (Othy, Stephane we love you). Even on their day off they are still looking after you and two of the GO's actually took us into Marrakech on their day off!! I really could go on and on about this place but for anybody who is reading this you must go. It really is an amazing experience. I always say i will never go back to the same place twice but i can honestly say i would go back here again and i am already planning to go again in September!! I have to say though it was Mike and all the GO's that made our holiday. They are all fantastic, GO GO GO.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedUK_official, Manager at Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Great Member,

We thank you warmly for the time you took to write this review on Trip Advisor after your stay in our Marrakech La Palmeraie Club Med Resort. We are really pleased to see you and your partner had good time there and you enjoyed the food quality and our staff commitment.

We hope to see you again soon in one of our resorts.

Best regards,

Your Club Med UK Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
#77 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#57 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Palmeraie Resorts - Palmeraie Palace
5.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#189 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 2,921 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie

Address: Sidi Yahya la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#94 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#101 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#162 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech is the Southern pearl, full of charm, mystery and bustle, at the crossroads of the Sahara and the High Atlas. The Club Med Village, set in Morocco's oldest palm grove, reflects the intimate aspect of the medina, fostering its way of life with its gardens, refined cuisine and warm welcome. The Marrakech architecture combines baked bricks, tadelakt, red ochre and colourful zellige, to create a relaxing haven to which you can enjoy returning after a stroll through Djemaa el-Fna square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med La Palmeraie Hotel Marrakech
Club Med Marrakech
Marrakech Club Med
Club Med Morocco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Marrakech La Palmeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.