We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Andalous

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Andalous to your Saves list
Hotel El Andalous
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du President Kennedy | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #333 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
zoe17
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The public areas of the hotel were beautiful, and the staff was generally helpful.

The meals were the worst I had in the 17 days I was in Morocco. I tried to chew the lamb and failed.

The room was smallish and had dirt and dust in the corners. The AC worked seemingly at its own whim. When I arrived, the door to the balcony didn't shut, and it was fixed sometime the next day. I guess they weren't as concerned about security as I was.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    202
    165
    88
    72
See reviews for
137
169
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scottsdale
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I was on a group tour so I do not know what they charge. The room was clean, the beds comfortable. There was a problem with the shower and sink initially but it was quickly fixed. We were in room 414 and it was noisy so if you are a light sleeper this hotel might not be right for you. The shower turns cold suddenly and then back to warm again. The workers are friendly. The breakfast buffet is very good with a good variety but the hot food was luke warm. So pluses and minuses. Be sure you know in advance the cost of getting from place to place in a taxi and do not get in until the price is understood. Be sure they are charging you a total price NOT per person. The taxis are reasonable once you know what you are doing. A little research goes a long way.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in mid Feb and it was all great. Particularly for the price.

Good location, close enough to walk to all main attractions. The people that say otherwise are lazy, elderly or with young kids.

Also we found a beautiful stray kitten alone in a very busy street (close to the hotel), which after giving him some fuss, wouldn't stop following us and meowing.

Long story short - we took him to the hotel and put him in the pool/garden area (much safer and a happier place for him). While we were there, we saw him get lots of attention and food from the staff as well as other people on holiday.

If you see this kitten/young cat please will you mention it on here... I'm curiose to know how he's getting on!

He's a tabby with lots of white bits and very friendly!

Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

After reading some of the reviews on this hotel I was slightly concerned , but after staying there I am now slightly puzzled . Went there with friends stayed in a suite which overlooked pool it was lovely .. Staff couldn't have helped more ,breakfast had loads of choices ,yes if u went later it wasn't as warm as if u got there first thing ,but I'm sure you could say that about any hotel . The location was perfect ,basically in the middle of the old and the new parts of marakesh , both easily walkable unless your lazy or infirm . Would definitely recommend and will hopefully be visiting el andalous again and again ....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stay at the El Andalous for the location and vincinity to the central sights and the airport. Do NOT expect service from any staff members except Tarik in the restaurant and the pool attendant.

The pool area is decent and kids love it. We dare you! Go and place an order at the pool bar and just watch - You might not get all you ordered (if anything) but the duo in the bar is very entertaining (actually not at all, but never seen anyone that incompetent).

Our room? We had a family room and it was Basically worn out

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool area as a bunch of protesters are camped outside the hotel and they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Fl
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in April 2014 as part of an OAT trip to Morocco. Hotel is a hot walk to the main square, so suggest one take a 3 person taxi (30 Dirhams/less than $4 for one-way) to the main square. Buffet dinner was excellent with large variety of items. Our room #205 looked out on the street, but it was ok. Pool looked inviting, but had no time to use it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed here as part of an organised group tour before and after a charity trek through the Sahara.

We arrived very late on a Sunday night and had to go straight into dinner. This was to be in the La Casa restaurant in the hotel basement. It was a buffet arrangement and although some of my party didn't like it, I thought there was a good choice and really enjoyed what I had. Soup, salad, various cold starters. Hot dishes included a sort of lasagne and some merguez sausages. There was a choice of mini desserts too.

My first room was room 212 with a pool view. It was a twin room with two double beds and very comfortable it was too. I thought I heard some "thump thump thump" music in the night, but not enough to keep me awake. It was spotlessly clean and the beds were really comfy. OK, so there's not a massive amount of space in the room, but who needs it?

Breakfast was a buffet in the main restaurant. There was plenty of choice of fruit, cereal, cheese, eggs, pancakes, croissants - all the usuals - plus freshly squeezed juices; orange, beetroot and cucumber! The staff were very attentive, friendly and gave me an opportunity to practice my French on them.

We left the next morning, leaving our main luggage in storage at the hotel and returned 4 days later when we were allocated rooms on the 2nd floor. This time I had a street facing room, number 212. Again, very comfy and spotlessly clean.

We ate in the main restaurant for two nights. Again, plenty of choice, some of it a bit odd, but never boring. The main dishes were in chafing dishes but as there was no heat under them, the dishes were sometimes cold. Such a shame as the fish looked lovely. Highlights included a stroganoff and a beef tagine with prunes. Wonderful. Be warned though - the dish of what looks like smoked salmon is actually thinly sliced carrot. It caught us all out.

There were different desserts each night, some weren't instantly recognisable but everything tasted good. Particularly like the chocolate mousse, the mille feuille pastries and what looked like poppadoms and custard. Delicious.

Again, the staff were lovely. One waiter would make ducks out of the damask napkins for us. Very sweet.

The pool area is excellent. Plenty of sunbeds, towels from the cabin on request, plenty of umbrellas if needed. Very clean pool that is 2.5m at the deep end. There is also a pool bar that does snacks. Sometimes things took a little while to arrive, but they were all freshly prepared.

After the main party departed, 5 of us stayed on and my other half came out to join us. I was upgraded to a corner suite, number 520 and it was lovely. Large bedroom with a sitting room, 3 piece suite and a large telly. Quality sleep, comfy bed, double sink in the bathroom.

The bar is large with a good atmosphere. Drinks aren't too expensive but they did run out of vodka and gin on the Saturday night! It fills up with locals who hog the bar making it a bit difficult to get served and it got a bit smoky as there is no smoking ban in Morocco. The Moroccan singer was quite loud at times but it added to the overall ambience.

The reception staff were really helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble.

There is an ATM in reception but it stopped working on Sunday evening. Assured that it would be fixed "tomorrow", it was still out of service when we left on Tuesday night. There are banks within a short walking distance, so not really an issue.

I had an afternoon at the Andaloucia Spa for a Hammam and full body massage. Excellent, well worth the money.

The city tour bus stops just around the corner from the hotel front entrance so it's really convenient for getting into town if you don't fancy the walk. There are taxis and caleches for hire outside too.

Overall, we'd choose to stay here again as a base for another foray into Marrakech.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have a pool view, odd numbers don't. You might hear the music from the bar i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Andalous

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Andalous 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Andalous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.