We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Andalous

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Andalous to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Andalous
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du President Kennedy | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #332 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Keswick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here in Feb and is an excellent hotel Beautiful inside,clean tidy and the staff are so helpful.Food is of a very high standard aswell.Well located for the Medina Square and Souks,but beware you do get hassled all the time as you walk there,FROM TAXIS AND PEDESTRIANS WHO ALL SEEM TO THINK THAT THEY SERVED YOU AT BREAKFAST AND ARE WILLING TO HELP SHOW YOU AROUND.Don`t be fooled they are only after your money.Say a polite no and if you need a guide then reception will sort you out.
Bar staff are excellent and will always provide nuts and olives for you to nibble on as you sit in the lovely bar listening to free entertainment.Would def go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    188
    147
    84
    70
See reviews for
124
157
28
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We found the hotel to be very comfortable and pleasant. Room was a good size with comfortable beds. It was not noisy, just a very slight smell of cigarette smoke. Breakfast very good with a wide choice, however coffee undrinkable. (Have never experienced good coffee in hotels anywhere!), stick to tea. Staff in hotel where always helpful. Pool area very nice with lots of sun loungers and a good pool-side refreshment service. Food in the bar and Casa restaurant was fine, not very Moroccan but tasty. I recommend the hotel's spa. Very relaxing and reasonably pricded. Taxis into town always seemed to cost 50 DH despite some haggling. Maybe because it was low season and there were not enough tourists around to make a good living? The walk to the medina area was a brisk 15 minutes along a shady and safe-feeling road (for a woman walking alone). Some reviewers have commented that the hotel and its area are uninteresting. Well the souks are interesting but smelly, noisy and dirty. The Hivernage area is clean, safe, fairly quiet and of a good standard. The hotel is only about 10 minutes from the airport but I didn't hear any planes during the stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely stay at this hotel in Marrakech, it is very friendly and the rooms are basic but adequate,the only problem we had was noise late at night from the room above,people with heels on and a lot of furniture scraping !! Breakfast was quite basic but we always had enough to fill us up. It is a good 20 minute walk to the Medina which was very crowded. We got 48 hour tickets on the tourist bus which takes you past all the main attractions and is hop on/hop off as many times as you like and is a good way of seeing everything without getting pestered ! The staff are very helpful and let us keep our room until 3pm without charge, we would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Remember you're in one of the most fun exciting places. There is nothing wrong with this hotel, it's just not very exciting. There's a nice pool and the woman at the front desk has the warmest smile and is very helpful. You might stay here just for her smile,really. The breakfast is okay and the service is fine. The place is clean . It's a good walk about 1/2 hour to the main activities, but a taxi cost only 20 dirham, $2.50 U.S. or 2 euros. The area around offers nothing although pretty.
One thing the rooms that face the pool can be noisy if there's a wedding. I'm told the rooms on the street can be noisy too,One night there was a wedding and the boom, boom of the drums kept me up for a few hours.

Room Tip: Make sure there's no wedding if you stay on poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

My family 2 adults a 3 and a 5 year old stayed for a week in January 2013. After reading the reviews I was a bit worried however i shouldnt have been as we had a great time and for the money it was totally worth it.
I must say I was surprised the room was nice and cleaned everyday. Breakfast was ok, could be improved. Room service was fab and even though the staff spoke little English they tried very hard to accomodate. The staff overall were great and even let us stay over the check out time for free. They loved the kids who got constant kisses wherever they went.
The spa was an experience and all the staff there were very helpful. The whole family went for a hammam which was fun. I stayed and had a massage with four hands. Wow it was amazing. The whole trip was a good experience.
Only downside was that our room was above the nightclub ( we were on the 5th floor) and you could feel and hear the music until 3am. However it never bothered the kids one bit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This is a very good hotel, 20mins walk to the medina. Ideally located for all the sites.

We stayed 2weeks here and found it a perfect getaway, staff very helpful.

Breakfast and dinner was good, plenty of choice. Not sure why so many people are complaining, then spend loads more and stay in a chain hotel. Just enjoy the trip, 2 weeks of sun. Perfect holiday to end the year off..

Leave your old unwanted clothes with the staff,/ or the poor , wages aren't brill over there especially if your are not front of house staff. This goes along way.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Montana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is an average business hotel. It is in a residential neighborhood fairly far from the old part of Marrakech. The people at the desk will try to tell you it's a 15 minute walk to the medina (down a wide, safe boulevard), but unless you are a speed walker, figure on about twice that. The rooms were O.K...nice view over the pool. In good weather, there's a large pool with a bar and restaurant...a little tacky, but nice enough. If you want Moroccan "atmosphere," this is not the place. If you're looking for a more "western" feel, it's adequate. They do have wi-fi, as do many types of accommodation in Morocco, and there is (supposedly) an internet terminal in the lobby that guests can use. However, the whole setup is VERY archaic and is down more often than it works. They hotel does have a spa, but I'd recommend going to one of the private hammams in the medina. Food (breakfast) is the same disappointing collection of breads and pastries, with some hard boiled eggs and runny scrambled eggs on the buffet. When we were there, several families with young children were staying at the hotel. The kids were all coughing and sneezing, but the parents allowed them to go up and handle the food on the buffet and put back anything they didn't want after they'd had it on their plates. Not the hotel's fault, but they might have monitored the buffet a bit better to avoid that type of thing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Andalous

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Andalous 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel El Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Andalous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.