We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine choice, not too exciting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Andalous

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Andalous to your Saves list
Hotel El Andalous
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du President Kennedy | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #338 of 469 Hotels in Marrakech
new york
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fine choice, not too exciting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Remember you're in one of the most fun exciting places. There is nothing wrong with this hotel, it's just not very exciting. There's a nice pool and the woman at the front desk has the warmest smile and is very helpful. You might stay here just for her smile,really. The breakfast is okay and the service is fine. The place is clean . It's a good walk about 1/2 hour to the main activities, but a taxi cost only 20 dirham, $2.50 U.S. or 2 euros. The area around offers nothing although pretty.
One thing the rooms that face the pool can be noisy if there's a wedding. I'm told the rooms on the street can be noisy too,One night there was a wedding and the boom, boom of the drums kept me up for a few hours.

Room Tip: Make sure there's no wedding if you stay on poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    208
    169
    90
    73
See reviews for
139
173
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

My family 2 adults a 3 and a 5 year old stayed for a week in January 2013. After reading the reviews I was a bit worried however i shouldnt have been as we had a great time and for the money it was totally worth it.
I must say I was surprised the room was nice and cleaned everyday. Breakfast was ok, could be improved. Room service was fab and even though the staff spoke little English they tried very hard to accomodate. The staff overall were great and even let us stay over the check out time for free. They loved the kids who got constant kisses wherever they went.
The spa was an experience and all the staff there were very helpful. The whole family went for a hammam which was fun. I stayed and had a massage with four hands. Wow it was amazing. The whole trip was a good experience.
Only downside was that our room was above the nightclub ( we were on the 5th floor) and you could feel and hear the music until 3am. However it never bothered the kids one bit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This is a very good hotel, 20mins walk to the medina. Ideally located for all the sites.

We stayed 2weeks here and found it a perfect getaway, staff very helpful.

Breakfast and dinner was good, plenty of choice. Not sure why so many people are complaining, then spend loads more and stay in a chain hotel. Just enjoy the trip, 2 weeks of sun. Perfect holiday to end the year off..

Leave your old unwanted clothes with the staff,/ or the poor , wages aren't brill over there especially if your are not front of house staff. This goes along way.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Montana
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is an average business hotel. It is in a residential neighborhood fairly far from the old part of Marrakech. The people at the desk will try to tell you it's a 15 minute walk to the medina (down a wide, safe boulevard), but unless you are a speed walker, figure on about twice that. The rooms were O.K...nice view over the pool. In good weather, there's a large pool with a bar and restaurant...a little tacky, but nice enough. If you want Moroccan "atmosphere," this is not the place. If you're looking for a more "western" feel, it's adequate. They do have wi-fi, as do many types of accommodation in Morocco, and there is (supposedly) an internet terminal in the lobby that guests can use. However, the whole setup is VERY archaic and is down more often than it works. They hotel does have a spa, but I'd recommend going to one of the private hammams in the medina. Food (breakfast) is the same disappointing collection of breads and pastries, with some hard boiled eggs and runny scrambled eggs on the buffet. When we were there, several families with young children were staying at the hotel. The kids were all coughing and sneezing, but the parents allowed them to go up and handle the food on the buffet and put back anything they didn't want after they'd had it on their plates. Not the hotel's fault, but they might have monitored the buffet a bit better to avoid that type of thing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for seven nights between 21st of December and 24th of December 2012 on a b&b basis. Our party was two adults and 2 kids under 6. Personally if we were to do anything differently we'd book a half board basis because with little kids having to find a clean restaurant that served suitable food each night was a bit inconvenient. Actually our experience of Moroccan food was unfortunately pretty poor (we all caught tummy bugs!) restaurants were overpriced and poor quality. The 'famous' Jama El Fena food stalls we found to be particularly unhygienic, expensive, and lacking in taste on the couple of occasions we chanced it. We found the hotel perfectly fine though in every way. It's not a 4 star hotel by European standards, maybe 3 stars, but that said, still very decent. The service was friendly and efficient and the staff were on the whole accommodating and helpful. We asked for and received a pool-facing room on a high floor (go for the top fifth floor if you can), you may hear music from the bar at night but you'll get a pool view and a balcony to compensate. The Hivernage district where the Andalous is located provides an ideal base for the main sights in the medina as it borders the old city walls and is only a 20 minuted walk from the Jema El Fenaa square, the kasbah, and souks or a 5 minute 30 dhidam taxi ride.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are probably best, they have a balcony, but on the downside you may pick up noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just got back from 4 nights at this hotel. We were very impressed. We booked thr on a half board basis. On arrival at the hotel it was a great welcome and we were shown to a lovely room overlooking a fab pool area. The room was large with two double beds and a balcony . The food was average with not a great deal of choice apart from the salads and fruit.
Without exception the service was fantastic including around the pool area
We will be coming back next year

Room Tip: Book a taxi through the hotel in advance to pick you up at the airport. This will save you a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Booked this hotel as part of a package for 7 nights. The hotel itself has good decor, but the desk counter staff not very helpful or forth-coming in wanting to help. Check in took about 40 mins. I had my brother and another friend staying in another hotel, and they were not allowed to visit me in my room unless they left their passport with them until they left.
Breakfast buffet wasn't very good even for something basic.
Next time I travel to Marrakech I would be trying a different hotel such as Kenzi Farah which is a few minutes away and my stay there was much more pleasant and for the same price much better.

Room Tip: ask if you are able to have guests visit you in your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Andalous

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 469 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Andalous 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Andalous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.