We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Andalous

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Andalous to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel El Andalous
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue du President Kennedy | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #338 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel itself was not too bad although a spot of refurbishment wouldnt go a miss. The pool area was clean and tidy and the pool itself was very refreshing with temperatures soaring up to 50 degrees. The rooms were ok but certainly didnt look like the pictures we had been shown in the travel agents. The air con was an absolute god send and the fridge was handy as we had a permanent supply of cold bottled water to hand. The walk to the madina wasnt too bad especially when we were shown a short cut, and if you couldnt be bothered there was always plenty of taxis about. The staff were great even though it was ramadam and they were tired. The one thing that we were not impressed with was the food - it was diabolical. Unfortunately we went half board and regretted it from day one. The breakfast was ok so long as you stayed away from the eggs (stuck to the continental breakfast). The evening meal was a different matter - the hot food (meat) was full of fat and bone and was pretty inedible. We decided to try the lunch time menu instead and eat out at night - this was a little better but not much. The hotel was in a nice area but it was a shame that there were no shops nearer especially when you wanted to bulk buy water etc. Would we go back - no definately not.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with CoopTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    193
    152
    86
    71
See reviews for
124
157
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Visited this hotel with some friends in August 2012. Hotel itself was quite nice - rooms quite large with balconies etc. Lobby and pool areas very clean and pleasant.

The problem was the staff and how unfriendly they were. At the poolside bar everything seemed an effort when I ordered any food or drinks. 24 hour room service was definitely not 24 hours as it took 20 minutes of calling and 3 visits down to reception just to get a sandwich. There is a lack of shops around the hotel or anywhere to get food, plus it was during Ramadan, so was difficult to find anything to eat at times.

No complaints about the breakfast - a good selection. The rep who walks around trying to sell tickets was a bit dodgy, changing his story every 2 minutes. We bought tickets to Theatro (a club) and were promised one free drink each. Turned up half an hour late to pick us up. Got there and had a very angry manager after money from us. Fortunately the rep did end up paying for us, but very hard to trust.

When we left the hotel we were then charged a tax of £8 each for staying there even though this was not mentioned anywhere. The receptionist told us we would not leave the hotel until we paid. Very unfriendly and unco-operative.

Good base for main square and markets, but rudeness of staff would put me off going back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

When we booked we thought we were getting a really good deal but were slightly disappointed. It was a solid 3 star and nothing more. Food was mediocre, service was either fast or non-existent. Language barrier with the front desk was slightly frustrating despite two of us being able to speak ok French. It said on the Hotel's website that there was a shuttle to/from the airport of which no one working there knew about. It was about a 25 min walk to the main market at Medina and not close to any corner stores. We didn't have fridges in our rooms which was very unfortunate considering the heat. But the pool was nice and we had great weather so despite the pit falls we did not have a bad stay. The air conditioning in our room worked well but not in our other friends rooms. I would recommend it only if you get a great deal.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

After reading the other reviews I was slightly worried about staying in this hotel but my fears were mainly unfounded. We stayed in a double room (containing two double beds) on the 4th floor at the beginning of August 2012. The room was large and the air conditioning worked perfectly (which was good in temperatures of 47 degrees!) The decor was slightly dated but our room was clean and the hotel employees were all very polite and helpful.

The only downsides we found were that when we arrived the room did smell of stale smoke but this cleared quickly once the air con was switched on, the breakfast buffet was not very varied and the walk to the main square was about 20 minutes, which I wouldn't have normally minded but as it was so hot it was quite a struggle. I note that other people have commented that the hotel is run down but I didn't think it was too bad and would instead describe it as having an air of faded grandeur.

Overall I was pleased with the hotel, but we got a good package deal and I could see that people who paid the full price for their stay might not have been happy with the facilities provided.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Having just read the latest review of this hotel, I was left wondering did we actually stay in the same place at the same time?! It was completely unrecognisable!!

On arrival, the first impression of the hotel was very pleasing - beautiful architecture in the reception area with very attentive staff who made us feel welcome immediately. We were shown to our rooms on the fifth floor. Three of our party were in a suite - 2 queen size beds in the main bedroom, through an adjoining door to a sitting room, which had two single beds in it. The bathroom and toilet were separate and the air conditioning worked efectively in both of these rooms. Our room was of a good size with two queen size beds in it and again the air conditioning worked very effectively and there was also a fridge in the room for your drinks. Both rooms had small balconies with chairs and an occasional table on it.

We stayed in the hotel for a week during the period 26/7 to 1/8/12. We had taken half board and swopped between lunch and dinner. Breakfast was the usual fair of any hotel - pasteries, coissants, dried fruit and fresh fruit, bread, butter and jam. For those who wanted more, there was always hot scrambled eggs and boiled eggs along with porridge. Pancakes were also a regular feature. The lunch was decided from a menu which had three choices for each of the three course - it was written in french, but as this is the language of the country it wasn't a major issue and the waiters were very happy to explain the menu before ordering. It is amazing how much school french you can remember when pushed! Evening meals were always available from 7.30pm at night - no exception and this was a buffet. When we stayed here, I did not see any fly issues .... the choice of food was very good - fish, chicken and meat usually at least one as a tagine with cous cous or potatoes. The starters were usually of a salad nature and the desserts there was always at least 4 options which would be cakes / fresh melon (water and gala) fruit salad. Fresh rolls were always brought to the table before either lunch or evening meal by the waiters. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and their friendliness was excellent.

The pool did have a few cracked tiles on the corner but it was kept meticulously clean by the swimming pool men and was never an issue. In regards to the area around being slippery when wet, this is the case in any swimming pool and obviously most people exercise care when walking around the area.

The location was really good for getting to the main square at night - about 20 minute walk. It is really bustly - people desperate to get you to eat at their stall - all good hearted and no malice in their actions. It was alot of fun!

I would definitely stay here again and can not commend the staff highly enough - very friendly and professional - nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

On arrival at the hotel and checking in everything looked like a 4 Star hotel should look like. We were given our key and told where the room was on the fifth floor, it was a two bed roomed suite.

The first thing we did when we entered the room was to get the air conditioning switched on. We then unpacked. The air con worked in one bedroom but not the second and the bathroom had no worm or hot water at all so we had to shower that evening with a cold water, So we decided to go to reception and complain, where they then moved us to another two bed roomed suite. We got the porter to check the air con was working before we agreed to change suites, which he did and we moved.

The holiday we booked was half board ‘’ open buffet’’, so down to the dining hall we went. The first thing that struck us was the cold starters were laid out in a warm room on a plate on a marble topped tables 4 types of salads and that was that !!! , the food was warm and the flies were all over it having a lovely time. The 5 hot plates were at the other side of the room but after lifting the lids of the dishes and seeing everything swimming in fat this by itself was not very appetising, but since we had no choice but to try the food ... It was all bland with no taste and everything tasted the same whether it was meat, fish or chicken. The dessert table had the still frozen 2 types of cakes and water melon (and this was the dessert by the way ) sitting in a warm room with flies enjoying the food more that the guests of course, Food hygiene was non existent in this hotel unfortunately.

The table linen were stained and dirty, the cutlery was not clean either, what can I say .. disappointed is not the word.

On Saturday we spouse to go for dinner at 7:30 the restaurant did not open until 8:45 without any reason or advanced notice !!
On Monday night there where no ‘’open buffet’’ Instead we had a French menu ( written in French) that could be ordered right there and then and that had 2 options and if you don’t like it you can lump it and starve, the restaurant staff were friendly, but as they have limited English, and I don’t speak Arabic and my French is limited reading and trying to decipher the menu on Monday, Tuesday night were very difficult as we had to wait from 8.30 when the restaurant opened till minimum 9.30 till we had our dinners. The girls (( our Daughters )) refused to eat any thing after the first night but water melon ,so we ended- up taking them to McDonalds for every meal after the first day.
Breakfast was butter , jam bread and 3 types of pastries, with something looks like a scramble eggs, and other looks like soup !! so we ate bread jam and butter only !

The pool looked lovely but as you got nearer you could see that there were lots of the small tiles missing. The children also dived down and picked up some tiles that had come away. The path round the edge of the pool had cracked and broken floor tiles and when it was wet is was very slippery to walk on, if someone would taken a fall then could be fatal.

As for it being a 4 star hotel and seeing pictures on-line,my Daughter and I along my daughters friend and her mum were looking forward to our holiday in the sun after the girls had their exams , but unfortunately this holiday was ruined because of the hotel... the only pictures that resembled the hotel were the outside views. The interior ones I would like to see the hotel they were taken from... and for my daughter this was her first holiday ever in outside Europe, therefore after this nightmare hotel I promised to take her for another holiday where she didn’t have to eat a McDonalds meal twice a day!!

This is my second review on this place, As I don't know why my first review was not posted ????
Is it maybe because I have uploaded photos of as deviance to what i have seen and experienced.

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Hotel is very tired and dated and in need of a refurburishment. The pictures of the hotel on the internet are dubious the only thing that is correct is the outside shots of the hotel and the pool, the internal ones must be from another hotel. The food had no taste and had flies
crawling over the warm saled buffet. Wi fi very intermittent. If you have the "Do not disturb " sign on the bedroom door they still ignore it and come to clean the room!! The outside pool had tiles fallen off it and my daughter and her friend were diving down and picking them off the pool floor. The staff were friendly and helpful, even though they dont speak much english and I dont speak any Arabic and just a little french.So it was and experience I'm glad i've tried it but not sure I would go back to that Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Andalous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Andalous

Address: Avenue du President Kennedy | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Andalous 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel El Andalous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Andalous, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.