We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor location, unreasonable pricing, service variable. Good pool / grounds.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Dar Zina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Dar Zina to your Saves list
Villa Dar Zina
4, Lot Jnane Brika | Rte de Targa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #364 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Poor location, unreasonable pricing, service variable. Good pool / grounds.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Villa Dar Zina, following a city break in Marrakech. Overall, we left fairly disappointed, however, there were some elements of the stay we were positive about.

Firstly, the location was not desirable - it was a drive of around 10 - 15 mins from the centre of Marrakech, however, it was so remote that taxi drivers were unable to find it - our previous hotel took us most the way and we had to swap cars at the end of the main road for the last part of the journey. When we approached the villa, we realised we were in a remote setting with building sites to keep us company (some banging on our first day but not too much noise fortunately). We had hoped for at least a small convenience shop within walking distance but this was not the case.

If you want to leave the Villa, realistically, it will need to be via their driver - a return trip for dinner cost us 25 euros. Otherwise, you are fully reliant on the Villa for all food and drink. Price list below:

Dinner (3 courses) - 35 euro per head. Decent food but comparable with the same package in Dar 73 (see my other review) which cost 20 euros per head.

Lunch - 25 euros per head, didn't take them up on this so can't judge, We were given a free plate of olives and nuts one day, which was appreciated.

Local beer - 5 euros

Local wine - 16 euros (not the nicest tasting but not unreasonably priced compared to other places).

Bottled water (big) - 3 euros (a couple of small bottles left in the room at check-in for free).

All prices subject to 10% service charge.

Our first night's dinner, with 2 beers, bottle of wine and bottle of water came to 110 euros with service. We didn't feel this was great value for money, although the intimate setting in the grounds was quite nice - a few lanterns were lit around us but not all-round the grounds to enhance a romantic walk after dinner (as suggested on the website).

On the second night, we went to Amaia (currently 9th best rated restaurant in Marrakech on TA), which was more reasonable price wise (and food / atmosphere excellent) but obviously meant we had to pay 25 euros (we were told it would be 15 euros and checked this twice).

On the positive side, the grounds were pleasant, as was the pool (decent size, good temperature). Photos suggest there were a number of sun beds, there were only 4 when we were there, with a load being replaced by leather sofas (not what you want in blazing sun). No problem for us but would be an issue if busy.

The rooms were all of a decent size and reasonably comfortable. Shower pressure non-existent if you want hot water. Satellite system has about 5 channels out of 300 that actually work. Furniture and artwork is authentic and interesting. Some fruit, biscuits and tea offered on arrival.

Most the time we dealt with one man who was around most the time - I assume they have more people when it is busier (we were the only people there). His English was't the best and may have resulted in some confusion with things such as car trips, however, the Villa does state they are English speaking on booking.com.

Despite the English issues, he generally did his best to help us - we asked to swap rooms when we arrived as the door didn't lock and it couldn't be fixed straight away. No issues with this and we were offered a choice of 2 rooms to go into which was good. Beach towels were left out for us when we arrived and on the second day but not on the final day when we were sat round the pool till 1pm. They did let us keep the room until we left, which was helpful.

Upon check-out, we were given a bill and questioned the price of the trip into town, as had been told 15 euros return - we were told it was 10 euros there and 15 back and this information was in our room. This was 100% not the case, i'm also confident there was no pricing in the first room we stayed in. I would have been happy to walk with the receptionist to the room to be shown where this pricing list was but this didn't happen.

We were then told that their card machine was not working. We were given a sheet to write all the details of our credit card down so they could take the payment later - this included the CVC code on the back. I said that I was not comfortable with this and felt it posed a security risk - I was then shown a cabinet with a number of completed credit card forms from previous customers. Yikes. Hopefully they don't get broken into any time.

We eventually agreed to pay the driver in cash on the way back to the airport - word of warning, you can only take 2000 dirham per day from each card, so we struggled to reach the final bill - we were a few pounds short in the end but nothing we could do, as this issue was highlighted to us 10 minutes before we were due to leave for the airport.

Sad to be negative, as this place could be a great experience, although i'm not sure how they will get round the immediate surroundings issue (fine if you elect not to leave, as you can't see it from the grounds). We were able to relax, as mentioned before, the pool area was nice and we wanted some chill time from staying in the town centre. Many reviewers before us seemed to like this place a lot, although a lot of these reviews are now quite old.

I've made this review as balanced and honest as possible - I hope it is off use.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
29
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

i come regularly in marrakesh since 10 years,
and it is surely the best place i have ever been during those years.
bedroom are spacious, the garden is very nice, very calm with candle during the night,
it is a very romantic place,
the food is awesome,
i will be back soon with some friends

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We had the chance to be invited in this villa by a friend for the celebration of his 50th birthday and this was wonderfull. The villa is located in a remote area of Marrakech but the in house drivers are cheap and flexible. Then you have the chance to enter a Ryad with beautifull rooms, nice gardens, a good size swiming pool and really helpfull employees. Special thanks to the cooking team as the food is factastic. If you like cosy, familly-like places, do not miss that one.

Room Tip: a room at first floor with a balcony for spring and the one near the outside dining room for summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I just came back from this fanstatic place in marrakesh, the staff is very polite and his devoted to our request,
the garden is very quiet with many lovely place,
at night there are many little candles everywhere, it is so romantic,
the only bad things is to checkout from this palace and come back in london and

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toscana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

I spent this weekend in Marrakech and I chose Villadarzina.
I saw the pictures on their website which promised well, but I have been greatly suprised when I arrived there : it is even much better than I could imagine.
If you are looking for an extremely charming place, quiteness and a great service, that's the place for sure. Furthermore, I think they have the b-e-s-t Chef in the kitchen from the whole city : try the Tajines and the desserts, drink the local maroccan wines (not expansive at all) and ask to be served by the fireplace... You cannot get better.
I took a suite in front of the garden. There was a huge bathtub in the bathroom and in the evening the service put lots of candles...

So I strongly suggest to chose this location if you intend to spend high quality time in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

I just came back from the luxurious villa Dar Zina in Marrakech after a friend recommandation.
I have been staying in one of the four royal suites and I enjoyed a relaxing long week-end with almost 15 qualified employees to help making my stay unique and very exclusive!!
I enjoyed the decoration, the morrocan gastronomy, and all kind of personnal services offered.
It is the best place for discrete, luxurious and exclusive vacation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2006

If you wish to get the real feeling of Marrakesh you must stay in riads in the Medina. Villa dar zina is about 20 min drive from the centre, located in a deserted area, not much then a little private villa with a nice garden and a pool area.

I found it well overpriced for the srvice and quality provided. Not many staff around when needed. Except breakfast everything costs extra, 250€ for a double room, almost the same price for a dbl room in the villa des oranges in medina where breakfast, light lunch, all the non alcohol drinks all day long, laundry is included in the price. I stayed in both places there is no way of comparison between the two as villa des oranges is far much better.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Dar Zina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dar Zina

Address: 4, Lot Jnane Brika | Rte de Targa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Dar Zina is one of the best Villa Riad in marrakech, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Dar Zina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Dar Zina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.