We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of Charm and Oppulence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Red House to your Saves list
The Red House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Avenue El Yarmouk | Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 1,120 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Oasis of Charm and Oppulence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Its hard to put into words but this hotel and its staff are second to none! The fantastic service given by Abdel and his staff left us wishing we had booked a longer trip. The Red House itself is a splendid example of Moroccan opulence but it is well used and very comfortable. My travel companion and myself were given 'The Blue Room', which overlooked the beautiful garden and had a four poster bed and double balcony. There were even two showers, which meant we could both get ready at the same time without wasting time waiting for the other to vacate the facilities! The hotel has an award winning restaurant that is open to the general public as well as guests and people come by recommendation to sample the food. The breakfasts, lunches and Dinners are excellent and plentiful and the Chef is proud of his kitchen and staff. His enthusiasm for his work shines and this is reflected in the quality of the food offered. It is also nice to have the option of having your breakfast tray delivered at a time of your choosing (between 5am and noon!), to either your room, the poolside or the restaurant. We enjoyed breakfast on the balcony in our PJ's most mornings.

I am a keen Geocacher and mentioned to Abdel, when we arrived, that I would like to locate the 4 existing caches in Marrakech. He was thrilled by the idea of helping me and took myself and my friend in his own car to the locations we needed, in order for us to find them. He also allowed the placing of a cache in the grounds of the hotel. All of this was done in his own time and with great enthusiasm. Thank you Abdel :)

To rate this hotel is not difficult, as it gets full marks on all counts. The rooms are comfortable, well air conditioned, very clean and rather lavish. The food is excellent, plentiful and of superb quality for the region. The Hotel itself is splendid, with a wonderful clean pool but most of all the Staff are absolutely worth their weight in Gold. Very many thanks again to Abdel, Steve, Morgan Freeman and Barak (you all know who you are), for a wonderful holiday in your beautiful city. We will be sure to visit again and again!!! Also, thank you so very much for making my Birthday so special! :)

Another tip, book your trips from the hotel, they are far cheaper and give a more personal service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    39
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
176
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bushey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Red House is perfection! From the moment we were met at the airport to the time of our departure we enjoyed wonderful customer service. The highly-trained staff took care of our every wish - we were treated with respect and good humour. The building is beautiful, rooms large and comfortable. The quality and presentation of food is excellent and how lovely to be served breakfast by the pool! The Red House is in a terrific location, being just a short walk to the medina. Exceptional!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

There are two types of hotel I enjoy: big, luxurious, anonymous ones when I'm on business and small personal ones when I'm on holiday, with excellent customer service where you learn the name of the staff looking after you by the second day. The Red House is amongst the best of the latter variety.
First, we were met at the airport by the complementary car service (the driver had lots of personality); then we arrived at this old Marrakech palace and felt as if we'd been transported to another world. It's more like being invited to a large private house in many ways, being spacious and with a kind of slightly faded glory which suits the atmosphere of the hotel perfectly. Everything is impeccably clean with wonderful modern touches like big screen TV's and personal Nespresso machines in the room. The meals were also among the best we had.
What really separates this old palace from many of the Riads is the opportunity to relax in the afternoon at the swimming pool. It's never crowded - there being only 8 rooms - and although there's a bit of traffic noise, the atmosphere is sublime. We breakfasted each morning and dined one evening under the pergola in the garden and still have wonderful memories of the Red House and its impeccable service.

Room Tip: The suite with a separate TV room and 2 bathrooms is exceptional value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinwenden, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What is unique about this hotel is the value for money combined with superb service. We recently stayed in one of the Royal Suites -- which for the price was outstanding; with a large room, two bathrooms and a separate sitting room with another tv and comfortable seating--perfect for relaxing when my wife wanted to stay up and work on her laptop after I went to sleep. The staff were extremely attentive to every detail -- the room was immaculate in cleanliness; and we had assistance with reservations, drivers, restaurants, excursions, walking tours, hammams, shopping, even directions to the local Carrefore market to buy our own wine (at a fraction of the restaurant prices), water & Coke zero (200 meters away),
The key distinction between this hotel and those Riads in the walled Medina is the outdoor space. While many riads have a roof deck, and some have a small pool inside the Riad, you can actually lay out by the pool at the Red House, surrounded by beautiful, private gardens. This can be a nice way to end an afternoon of gritty, dusty site seeing in the Medina.
Also, walking around the immediate neighborhood to fine dining, bars and nightclubs, is very convenient for the traveler who had a big day out.
The hotel is small (less than 10 rooms), and therefore quiet, it is not for people who prefer large impersonal / anonymous hotels with legions of staff. It is beautiful, charming and romantic.
We will return...

Room Tip: Suites are worth every penny....tons of space to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordstrand, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is located very near the medina, apx 5 min walk away, and only about 7-8 minutes close to the "new town". The staff at this hotel is amazing....I had never experienced that kind of service any other place. Specially Abdel, the concierge, is so determined to his work and delivers way beyond what you will expect from a consierge. So is the driver, the restaurant staff, -and also the cleaning staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Small 5 Star Hotel with great service. Professional Receptionist. Clean and large suits like european standart. Perfect food quality. I really enjoy my time and i will come back for sure.
Don t need a huge Hotel with hundred of rooms. It is an oasic in the jungle!!

Room Tip: 203 ( large Suit with 2 TV and and and )
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I had two extra days in Marrakech and stayed at the Red House....This hotel was amazing from the Staff , rooms and locations this was a great found. The pool was relaxing and the staff went the extra step to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House

Address: Avenue El Yarmouk | Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 1,120 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Red House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Red House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red House Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.