We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Red House to your Saves list
The Red House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Avenue El Yarmouk | Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 1,079 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Waterloo, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

There are two types of hotel I enjoy: big, luxurious, anonymous ones when I'm on business and small personal ones when I'm on holiday, with excellent customer service where you learn the name of the staff looking after you by the second day. The Red House is amongst the best of the latter variety.
First, we were met at the airport by the complementary car service (the driver had lots of personality); then we arrived at this old Marrakech palace and felt as if we'd been transported to another world. It's more like being invited to a large private house in many ways, being spacious and with a kind of slightly faded glory which suits the atmosphere of the hotel perfectly. Everything is impeccably clean with wonderful modern touches like big screen TV's and personal Nespresso machines in the room. The meals were also among the best we had.
What really separates this old palace from many of the Riads is the opportunity to relax in the afternoon at the swimming pool. It's never crowded - there being only 8 rooms - and although there's a bit of traffic noise, the atmosphere is sublime. We breakfasted each morning and dined one evening under the pergola in the garden and still have wonderful memories of the Red House and its impeccable service.

Room Tip: The suite with a separate TV room and 2 bathrooms is exceptional value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    35
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
42
156
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Steinwenden, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What is unique about this hotel is the value for money combined with superb service. We recently stayed in one of the Royal Suites -- which for the price was outstanding; with a large room, two bathrooms and a separate sitting room with another tv and comfortable seating--perfect for relaxing when my wife wanted to stay up and work on her laptop after I went to sleep. The staff were extremely attentive to every detail -- the room was immaculate in cleanliness; and we had assistance with reservations, drivers, restaurants, excursions, walking tours, hammams, shopping, even directions to the local Carrefore market to buy our own wine (at a fraction of the restaurant prices), water & Coke zero (200 meters away),
The key distinction between this hotel and those Riads in the walled Medina is the outdoor space. While many riads have a roof deck, and some have a small pool inside the Riad, you can actually lay out by the pool at the Red House, surrounded by beautiful, private gardens. This can be a nice way to end an afternoon of gritty, dusty site seeing in the Medina.
Also, walking around the immediate neighborhood to fine dining, bars and nightclubs, is very convenient for the traveler who had a big day out.
The hotel is small (less than 10 rooms), and therefore quiet, it is not for people who prefer large impersonal / anonymous hotels with legions of staff. It is beautiful, charming and romantic.
We will return...

Room Tip: Suites are worth every penny....tons of space to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordstrand, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel is located very near the medina, apx 5 min walk away, and only about 7-8 minutes close to the "new town". The staff at this hotel is amazing....I had never experienced that kind of service any other place. Specially Abdel, the concierge, is so determined to his work and delivers way beyond what you will expect from a consierge. So is the driver, the restaurant staff, -and also the cleaning staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Small 5 Star Hotel with great service. Professional Receptionist. Clean and large suits like european standart. Perfect food quality. I really enjoy my time and i will come back for sure.
Don t need a huge Hotel with hundred of rooms. It is an oasic in the jungle!!

Room Tip: 203 ( large Suit with 2 TV and and and )
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I had two extra days in Marrakech and stayed at the Red House....This hotel was amazing from the Staff , rooms and locations this was a great found. The pool was relaxing and the staff went the extra step to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were very well taken care of, nothing was too much trouble.
The gardens and swimming pool were fantastic.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean.
If we went back to Marrakech, we would certainly book here again.
LOR

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing ! We came for a wedding and we staid for three night! What a place ! The service was a true delight. Thanks to Abdallah the hotel Concierge we had an easy stay with a lot of help in finding the right people to deal with.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House

Address: Avenue El Yarmouk | Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 1,079 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Red House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Red House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red House Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.