We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming and well run riad in the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad El Borj

Save Saved
You added Ryad El Borj to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ryad El Borj
63 Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #238 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A charming and well run riad in the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

A lovely riad with lots of Moroccan charm. We stayed 4 nights in the Suite El Menzah which has its own spacious terrace with views of the city and distant mountains - though you have to walk a few stairs to get there. Many thanks to Daniel and Azziz for their very personal attention and assistance with all manner of things, including booking bus tickets to Essouira, accommodation in Imlil and a double package at the nearby hamman. We only had one evening meal there but it was very good, served on a rose petal strewn table and washed down with a good but reasonably priced local wine. As a general rule wine served in Marrakech restaurants can be very pricey and not very good. This is a good place to stay, you will be well looked after.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
44
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Like other reviews I agree it would be difficult to find on your own, use the barrow men for as little as 30dh they will take you and your luggage to the door. Coming from the airport the ryad is on the over side of Jemma El Fna Square and depending on what day and what time you arrive it limits to how far a car can enter the area around the square. The location is excellent with the souks and many of the main tourist sites being within easy walking distant, a couple of mins will get you into the square where a horse drawn carriage will take you where you want after agreeing a price
We stayed in the tower room which has a private terrace with great views over Marrakesh, it was prefect for relaxing afternoons before heading back into the madness of the square, the breakfast was simple but filing and tasty, we also had an evening meal, this was dearer then most restaurant's in the square but was certainly of a high quality and quantity, the staff were all smiles and the owner went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable.
The stairs could be a problem but the same could be said of most ryads, certainly would stay here again

Room Tip: ask if the tower room is available, more stairs but well worth the climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Wow...My first thought entering El Borj. A totally indulgent visual feast.

Orange trees in the courtyard, tiny birds fluttering around, mosaic flooring, metal trellis on the windows, dreamy blues and subtle greens....divine.

Unfortunately we only stayed for one night. Marrekesh was the final stop on a 7day trip to Ouirgan and Essaouira. However I do wish we had booked a few nights, just to settle into the city and get under its skin.

We stayed in the tower suite, El Menzah, complete with its own private terrace...the views across Marrakesh are stunning. We were so lucky to catch the sun setting.

Daniel the owner is lovely and is part of the charm of El Borj. He was the perfect host...albeit for our short visit!!!

Will definitely return to Marrakesh and El Borj. Perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

First and foremost, DO NOT attempt to find this Riad yourself....you won't !! We arranged our Moroccan trip through Naturally Morocco Ltd, and their organisation based on experience was superb. We were met at the main square by a barrow man who took our cases and guided us through the square and narrow streets of the medina to a small alleyway. Stopping at a large wooden door, and wondering what we had booked, our fears were taken over by amazement as the door opened onto a beautiful courtyard, and we were greeted by a lovely older lady who made us a mint tea as part of the welcome.
We had the upper room in the tower which has its own large terrace and a further upper terrace, which commands amazing views of the rooftops and Mosque towers.
We stood on the terrace and watched the sun go down, just as around twenty odd Mosques started their call to prayer....a true Champagne moment.
The French owner Daniel is very attentive and ensures that everything is catered for. Not top luxury but full of character and charm....everything you would imagine a traditional Moroccan Riad would be.
We will return !!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

There was good communication after we had booked the ryad, and we didn't take them up on the offer of helping us find it, you should. It is right in the heart of the city, a 2 minute walk from the main square and in amongst the souks. With that in mind we couldn't believe how peaceful the ryad was as soon as you opened the door. We had breakfast on the terrace each morning and mint tea whenever we asked. The courtyard was beautiful with trees and tiles. The pool was very cold and across the street, but ours was more of a winter break and didn't affect us. I don't think we could have had a better location or place to stay on our trip to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed for three nights in the Riad and had a great time. Daniel and his staff were all very helpfull. We really enjoyed the breakfast served on the terrace. The riad is perfectly placed to visit all of the attractions in and around the square.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We (family of four with two teenagers) stayed three nights in the smaller of the two Riads, which we had to ourselves. Like the main Riad, it has the most beautiful courtyard with orange trees and the addition of a very striking plunge pool at the heart of it. Both Riads have been renovated and decorated with a lovely taste for authenticity. We were thrilled to arrive to such luxurious, exotic and quietly beautiful surroundings and were very pleased with the rooms which were most comfortably appointed and which had the smallest of details attended to, fresh roses included. We were welcomed by the owner Daniel himself who couldn't have done more to make our arrival, visit and departure any better or smoother. The staff, too, are to be commended for their helpfulness, kindness and attention. His cook is fabulous and we strongly advise you to book a meal or two there - the two meals we ate here were without doubt the best meals of our stay in Morocco. Breakfast on the terrace is a pleasure and delicious (plentiful too!). It's quiet, despite being a five minute walk along the busy souks from the Djema el Fnaa and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We will definitely be coming back to the Ryad el Borj on our next visit to Marrakech and couldn't recommend it highly enough - thank you Daniel and all of your staff for such a wonderful taste of what we hope is much more to come.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad El Borj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad El Borj

Address: 63 Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ryad El Borj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad El Borj Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad El Borj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.