We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Ryad!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad El Borj

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ryad El Borj to your Saves list
Ryad El Borj
63 Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 1,113 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Albacete, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice Ryad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

A surprising little bit of paradise tucked away in a dimly lit alley way in the centre of Marrakech. The rooms are quaint with lovely decor, they have large comfortable beds and hot running showers. There can be a lot of stairs to climb so bear that in mind if you are unsteady on your feet! We had dinner cooked for us our first night and we had the whole courtyard to ourselves, the table was decorated, the service was excellent and the food amazing. Compared to eating out, the price was also very reasonable. Definitely worth it. The hosts at the Ryad are lovely, welcoming and helpful but brush up your French before you travel as this will help a lot. The only reason for 4 out of 5 and not a full 5 is due to having to evade the homeless people on the way into the Ryad. Some people may find this a little intimidating.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Schweiz
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The riad is as nice as on their photos, but apart from that we were really disappointed from our stay there. The surrounding is very busy and it's hard to get to the riad without paying some kids who you wouldn't have found it without their help. We asked for restaurant recommendations and the receptionist had only one recommendation, a pretty touristy place close to the Jamaa el Fna. Breakfast was nothing special and it seemed that no one had a great attention for details. Unfortunately, same applies to the roof terrace...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had an wonderful stay in this lovely Ryad right in the middle of the souks close to el efna. This ryad is arranged with much love to details. The food is outstanding and the service superb! Our expectations were by far exceeded and you can not avoid falling in love with this place and the staff!


Daniel, we will surely come back!

Merci beacoup!

A bien tôt

Yasmin & Dirk

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Excellent place to stay in the midst of the madness of the Medina.
Very good for my 9 year old son who was given extra youghurt every day for breakfast and generally fussed over. Food gorgeous-lamb tagine wth bananas and lovely plates of hors d'oevres. My son wasn't charged for evening meal and the staff even rushed to the shop to get him some fanta. our wine was at cost price too.
Pool is absolutely freezing so bear this in mind when booking at Easter. Would imagine it would be quite a treat in the heat of summer. I plan to return and book the tower room so we can see the view. We were in the beautiful suite- what an amazing bath with loads of hot water at any time of day!

Room Tip: Tower room for view. Suite for all out luxury. Am sure all rooms were good though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of February and loved it. Location was perfect – just around the corner from the main square, whilst still managing to be blissfully quiet and the service was exceptional. The staff were able to offer advice on everything from where to have dinner, to which places to avoid and which hotel to stay in on the next leg of our trip. They even gave us their laptop one evening to research and book another hotel!
We had arranged to have dinner at the ryad on our first night as we were arriving about 7pm, but due to a miscommunication this didn’t happen and the staff were so apologetic and went on to cook us a wonderful 3 course meal the following night (with wine!) all for free! I highly recommend eating at the ryad if possible, the food was excellent, traditional Moroccon and they made us feel really special setting up a little table in a private room just for us with a little log fire too. Breakfast on the terrace was also great – lots of food (although the same each day), served very efficiently in a lovely sunny area. We stayed in two different rooms – in the main ryad and in the annexe. Both were standard rooms but plenty big enough for two and clean and decorated in a beautiful traditional Moroccon style. Had a slight issue with sporadic electricity in the annexe but I think that was because the electric heater they supplied (which was rather powerful!) kept blowing the fuse. Every time we told the staff, they fixed the problem straight away and it didn’t spoil our stay one bit. Overall, this ryad was the perfect start to our holiday and I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: The annexe was very quiet and private... we were the only ones there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This place was wonderful, we had the suite which was huge; two living rooms, bedroom, dressing room and bathroom with skylit bath. We ate there one night and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Spent four nights in Ryad El Borj in Jan 2012. This place is an oasis of tranquility just a short distance from the medina - the room was great, the staff v helpful and the communal areas are charming.

Having our breakfast each morning on the roof terrace was a highlight!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad El Borj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad El Borj

Address: 63 Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ryad El Borj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad El Borj Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad El Borj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.