We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay in the middle of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad El Borj

Save Saved
You added Ryad El Borj to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ryad El Borj
63 Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay in the middle of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had an wonderful stay in this lovely Ryad right in the middle of the souks close to el efna. This ryad is arranged with much love to details. The food is outstanding and the service superb! Our expectations were by far exceeded and you can not avoid falling in love with this place and the staff!


Daniel, we will surely come back!

Merci beacoup!

A bien tôt

Yasmin & Dirk

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
44
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Excellent place to stay in the midst of the madness of the Medina.
Very good for my 9 year old son who was given extra youghurt every day for breakfast and generally fussed over. Food gorgeous-lamb tagine wth bananas and lovely plates of hors d'oevres. My son wasn't charged for evening meal and the staff even rushed to the shop to get him some fanta. our wine was at cost price too.
Pool is absolutely freezing so bear this in mind when booking at Easter. Would imagine it would be quite a treat in the heat of summer. I plan to return and book the tower room so we can see the view. We were in the beautiful suite- what an amazing bath with loads of hot water at any time of day!

Room Tip: Tower room for view. Suite for all out luxury. Am sure all rooms were good though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of February and loved it. Location was perfect – just around the corner from the main square, whilst still managing to be blissfully quiet and the service was exceptional. The staff were able to offer advice on everything from where to have dinner, to which places to avoid and which hotel to stay in on the next leg of our trip. They even gave us their laptop one evening to research and book another hotel!
We had arranged to have dinner at the ryad on our first night as we were arriving about 7pm, but due to a miscommunication this didn’t happen and the staff were so apologetic and went on to cook us a wonderful 3 course meal the following night (with wine!) all for free! I highly recommend eating at the ryad if possible, the food was excellent, traditional Moroccon and they made us feel really special setting up a little table in a private room just for us with a little log fire too. Breakfast on the terrace was also great – lots of food (although the same each day), served very efficiently in a lovely sunny area. We stayed in two different rooms – in the main ryad and in the annexe. Both were standard rooms but plenty big enough for two and clean and decorated in a beautiful traditional Moroccon style. Had a slight issue with sporadic electricity in the annexe but I think that was because the electric heater they supplied (which was rather powerful!) kept blowing the fuse. Every time we told the staff, they fixed the problem straight away and it didn’t spoil our stay one bit. Overall, this ryad was the perfect start to our holiday and I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: The annexe was very quiet and private... we were the only ones there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This place was wonderful, we had the suite which was huge; two living rooms, bedroom, dressing room and bathroom with skylit bath. We ate there one night and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Spent four nights in Ryad El Borj in Jan 2012. This place is an oasis of tranquility just a short distance from the medina - the room was great, the staff v helpful and the communal areas are charming.

Having our breakfast each morning on the roof terrace was a highlight!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

from the original booking emails to my farewell from the great staff, I could not fault this Ryad. Had 2 nights by myself at the of of a 2 week tour but was made to feel so comfortable, friendly staff, fabulous room on 3rd floor, amazing food and the best location. I ate in both nights, as the first night was so nice and tried after 2 weeks on the go! Gorgeous table set for myself, made to feel special, thanks everyone that made my stay very memorable

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velden am Worther See, Austria
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I decided to splash out and go for the Riad experience in Marrakesh, and this is where I ended up. It is a great place. And don't worry, it isn't that expensive if you aren't on a shoestring. I had one of the smaller rooms on the first floor for the first night, for the other two I got the tower room which I found amazing. It isn't especially large but good sized. The real seller for this room is the private roof terrace with a 360 degree great view over the Medina. Given the location of the house pretty much in the middle of town, this is amazing. Like the whole house the room is nicely decorated with mosaic floors, rugs, and a colourful blanket. On the cupboard were real roses where I stayed. The room (again like the whole house) is impeccably clean. Since I was given the choice of any room I wanted I also saw the suite, which is certainly larger than any flat I have ever lived in and has a big living room with pillows on the floor, a bathtub with a window in the ceiling and a canopy bed. Breakfast is not great, pretty much bread only, but anything else would be the exception in Morocco anyway. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The location is about 5 minutes walk from Djeema el Fna (the big central square) and the souks. There are plenty of shops around, and restaurants are not far either. I could use the kitchen and the office, and was allowed to fix my bike in the courtyard. I was impressed by this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad El Borj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad El Borj

Address: 63 Derb Moulay Abdelkader | Derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ryad El Borj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad El Borj Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad El Borj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.