We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Relaxing Riad in the midst of a crazy city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Zina to your Saves list
Riad Zina
38 Derb Assabane | Riad Laârouss, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #903 of 1,129 Marrakech B&B and Inns
California
1 review
“Wonderful, Relaxing Riad in the midst of a crazy city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

We had a great time at Riad Zina. Beate and the staff were more than accommodating. We stayed in the suite which was very nice with an outdoor terrace lounge. The breakfast was great and the lounging areas in the courtyard and the roof were relaxing to lounge around in. It was wonderful to be able to go out on the crazy streets and have a relaxing place to come back to. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malaga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

What can I say? After 10 years of traveling to Morocco and having seen so many Riads... Riad Zina struck me as the real thing, exactly that what a riad should be. Thank you very very much Beate, Fousia and Malika, for genuine hospitality and the way you safeguard and contribute to the history of riads. If riads were a wine... Zina is for connoisseurs!

  • Liked — The genuine craft of hospitality
  • Disliked — Can not think of anything, sorry
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

The Riad Zina is a wonderfull place to enjoy the dream of the Arabian Nights! The owner is more than friendly and hleps your everytime to get an interesting journey in Maroc. She knows a lot of interesting places and the whole team of Riad Zina is giving the best. Starting from cleanness, accomodation and Service I can really suggest this Riad! We spent 5 nights in the Riad Zina and this would be the first place to go when we get back to Marrakech one day!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

We stayed at the Riad Zina for four nights at the end of November and we had a fabulous time. The Riad is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The roof terrace provides a great view over the Medina and was a perfect place to take breakfast in the sun.

The three staff were very friendly and professional - helping to make retaurant reservations, organising taxis and giving a guided tour of the Medina on our first night.

The breakfast was different every morning and tea and cakes in the afternoon were also tasty.

  • Liked — The freindly staff and stylish design
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

We stayed at Riad Zina for just two nights at the end of our trip, but it might be too short. The Riad is in the north east side of Fuena square (the location is very good) so that you can enjoy a short while walk through the Medina before getting there and I believe you would feel as if you're dipping in the old life in Medina. Talking about the Riad itself, facilities and rooms are completely cleaned up, well maintained and the meal served by charming clerks is also what I shouldn't miss to mention. Besides that, nice furniture and the stylish atmosphere will make you feel you are in a famous resort.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

We stayed in Road Zina on our final night in Marrekech. We researched the web for a long time before making the booking and felt we were splashing out on something special for a last night (100 Euros/£75) . The roof terrace and court yard are indeed very lovely however without warning we were given a room without an en suite with a toilet/shower located round the corner opposite the reception desk . This was a very narrow hall space and meant that we had no privacy using the bathroom at all. Also we had to walk through the courtyeard in the night/and morning to shower, while other guests were eating breakfast. Because it is a very small bathroom, there was no space for changing in it, this meant walking around in a public reception and eating space in dressing gowns. The staff were not especially warm and in some cases pretty cool. We needed to get to the airport the following morning and the women who runs the riad offered to ring us a taxi and put the cost of it on the bill. Although the car we got was larger than the regular yellow taxis it cost us an incredible amount - £17 for a ride that we could have done for about £2. It was literally about 5 - 10 minute ride. Although we had been happy for her to ring the taxi for us at the time we were surprised that she had not warned us that it was the most costly way of doing it. We assumed it was because she got a large cut. Finally the towels were like cardboard and very scratchy and we had a condom packet on the floor next to the bed. Given we could have got a lot more for the same price and enjoyed a much more comfortable stay elsewhere we felt dissapointed and ripped off!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

Lovely small riad in the centre of Marrakech old City. This authentic old house built more than 350 years ago offers a great architecture blended with a very fashionable 70's decoration. With only 4 rooms, it is very calm and relaxing and the staff is incredibly nice. You must try Malika's Couscous, a perfection.

  • Liked — Great hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Zina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zina

Address: 38 Derb Assabane | Riad Laârouss, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #903 of 1,129 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Zina is a welcoming guesthouse to the west of the Ali Ben Youssef Mosque in the north of the medina, with just 3 rooms and 1 suite around the courtyard, a lots of interesting and arty clutter, you're really made to feel at home... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Zina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Zina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.