We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must to visit - Marrakech and stay HERE. one ticked off the bucket list” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Meriem

Save Saved
You added Riad Meriem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Meriem
97 Derb El Cadi, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Surrey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“a must to visit - Marrakech and stay HERE. one ticked off the bucket list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

When I remembered it was our 10th anniversary imminently I started to suggest places my gorgeous wife would like and she came up with Marrakech. I bought Alastair Sawday’s book and whilst I shortlisted about 10 she picked this as the first one the book fell op0en on. After a couple of other guide boos featured it too and Trip Advisor spoke highly of it, we settled on it and I lost out on my argument for the star room for the red room. So, you arrive to heat, follow a man with a car through ha maze of street that aren’t the most beautiful and land in heaven. Wonderful place. We set out for a little explore but returned to eat in the riad that night and it was excellent. Perfect place and taste. We snuck a peek at some of the other rooms and decided I was right with the star room but actually both were brilliant and even the room we were given for a shower late on the day of departure was beautiful – my wife deciding we’d actually ask for that when we come back (and we will and we’ll stay here).
So, what makes it special?
Firstly it has to be the location. A short walk from the place / main square means every time you go out you have to explore the souks.
On a par – the excellent advice from Cyrus. None of it bad or worrying, heed his guidance on places to go / see / eat.
Do the spa they recommend (Les Bains de Marrakech), but be sure to head to the Kosybar afterwards. Have a lazy lunch at an upmarket hotel (Jardins de la Koutoubia) to contrast the frenetic mayhem outside / nearby. Get lost in the souks and enjoy getting lost then finding yourself.
Go to spice square – we had a great coffee on the roof terrace opposite the recommended Café de Epices – which was great and the lunches other people had looked scrumptious.
Equally good – the service and friendliness of the riad – I will be recommending it to my parents and we will be coming back; when we do it will be here (Riad Meriem) again.
How long to stay? We did 4 days and if it was any longer I’d probably consider exploring beyond the medina – if a week then take a trip to the Atlas mountains, but 4 days is ideal for city walking and people / spectacle watching. Forget fashion and have some good and comfortable trainers for the day if walking / exploring.

Room Tip: We had the red room but looked in some others; you can't go wrong. A fantastic riad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    11
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here for a short break and loved it. The Riad is very calming and provides a great bolt hole from the hustle and bustle in Marrakech. All the rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The staff are very helpful and friendly. We pre ordered a lunch to have on arrival and ate on the roof terrace. It was wonderful with delicious fresh produce and was the perfect way to start our break

Room Tip: I think the rooms are pretty similar and we spent most of our time in the town or on the roof terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My new husband and I stayed here as a surprise honeymoon and had such a beautiful and relaxing experience! The staff could not have been helpful booking and arranging trasport for us to the best restaurants! The rooms are stunning and clean! Breakfast in the morning and wine in the evening on the roof terrace was delightful! I wouod recomend to anyone and would love to go back as the staff could not do enough to look after you

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnleys, va
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Among the strangest places I have ever stayed was the Riad Meriem. Like all of the old city of Marrakech, it is in a rabbit warren tucked away in a seeming cave. Like all riads, the door from the rabbit warren opens to central courtyard. The staff was incredibly warm and helpful. The manager Cyrus was out on our arrival and was still fighting a tough Spring cold the next day when first met. Cyrus "got" us as travelers better than any property manager/concierge, etc has before. His suggestions are spot on and he is quite a nice guy just to chat with.

So, why the Average score? The place is just not being maintained. Towels are threadbare, Robes have stains on them, bedding sags, bath fixtures oxidized and cranky, and an over all lack of maintenance bring this place down. Also, NO PRIVACY! None. We were in a room on the bottom floor with a thin door that is more like a gate with everyone able to sit and know your business and peek in. Uncomfortable. Nice rooftop though.

IF looking for an inexpensive jumping off point for exploring the medina this could be your spot. Cyrus guided us perfectly and he really got into being helpful. If looking for luxury and privacy this is NOT your spot.

Breakfast was good and the meal provided to us for the one dinner we ate in was very good!

Room Tip: IF staying here, do not stay in the Aubergine room on the first floor. No privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days following a fun but dusty week of exploring Morocco... what a fabulous way to end the trip. Beautiful decor, flowers everywhere and lush places to relax during every part of the day. On the roof terrace chairs are artfully placed around so at any point of the day you can recline in sun or in shade. Perfect. My husband picked up a bug our last day in the desert and arrived at the riad in a bit of a state- the staff couldnt do more to help, even having a friend open up a pharmacy out of hours to get him the medications he needed. I wouldnt stay anywhere else in Marrakech!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Star Room, it was a bit dark but we loved it, a total relaxing hideaway from the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I hesitate to write this review because I really wanted to love Riad Meriem and, judging by the other reviews, my fiance and I are the first people ever to not be blown away by our stay. The positives: great rainfall shower, comfortable bed, good breakfast. The negatives: everything else. When we arrived, the guide they sent spoke only Arabic (no English, no French, so if you had any questions you were simply out of luck), our room smelled heavily of cigarette smoke, and we were not given any information about the amenities (wifi, breakfast) or given a tour of the Riad. Obviously, we're independent travellers so we could do without any of this this, but these details were the absolute minimum customer service we received at three other Riads throughout our stay in Morocco. As for the decor...much has been made of the Thomas Hayes design. Let me tell you the reality: the door to our room had no lock whatsoever. The bathroom also has no door. The windows do not close competely, so you can hear EVERY noise from the courtyard. The "romantic" lighting is so dark you can barely see enough to put in contacts, let alone apply makeup or shave. The furnishings in the room are so minimalist (not even a nightstand) so your belongings end up strewn about the room. So, in all, this place is not terrible by any means. Especially if you are staying in one of the two smaller rooms, I believe you will get your money's worth. However, having received twice the service/amenities for the same price elsewhere I simply felt compelled to provide my honest thoughts here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent 4 nights in the elegant Red Room and were looked after with friendliness and care by Hassan and Abdul. The riad efficiently organised our airport pick-up and departure via a taxi and porter. It would be daunting to try to find the riad by yourself as it's in the maze of alleys in the medina, a great location 5 mins from the souks, the Square (Jemaa El Fna) and the mayhem and throb of the mopeds and hustle of the streets.
The riad is a beautifully-restored building with a peaceful courtyard and sunny roof terrace that is a joy to return to, to recharge in a serene peace, before venturing out again into the throb, noise, colours, tastes, theatre and humanity of Marrakech.

Room Tip: The Red Room was comfortable with an exotic style and highly rcmd. All rooms appeared to be of a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Meriem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Meriem

Address: 97 Derb El Cadi, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#172 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Meriem is (in his own words) "a labour of love" for the New York designer Thomas Hays. He has created it with the art lover in mind with a fusion of oriental textiles, exquisite paintings plus his own Fine Art Photography. This exclusive boutique hotel has been entirely crafted by Marrakchi artisans to ensure that it retains its authenticity whilst using the talents of the best local craftsmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Meriem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Meriem Marrakech
Riad Meriem Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Meriem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.