We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice people, property a bit shabby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Meriem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Meriem to your Saves list
Riad Meriem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Derb El Cadi, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice people, property a bit shabby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Among the strangest places I have ever stayed was the Riad Meriem. Like all of the old city of Marrakech, it is in a rabbit warren tucked away in a seeming cave. Like all riads, the door from the rabbit warren opens to central courtyard. The staff was incredibly warm and helpful. The manager Cyrus was out on our arrival and was still fighting a tough Spring cold the next day when first met. Cyrus "got" us as travelers better than any property manager/concierge, etc has before. His suggestions are spot on and he is quite a nice guy just to chat with.

So, why the Average score? The place is just not being maintained. Towels are threadbare, Robes have stains on them, bedding sags, bath fixtures oxidized and cranky, and an over all lack of maintenance bring this place down. Also, NO PRIVACY! None. We were in a room on the bottom floor with a thin door that is more like a gate with everyone able to sit and know your business and peek in. Uncomfortable. Nice rooftop though.

IF looking for an inexpensive jumping off point for exploring the medina this could be your spot. Cyrus guided us perfectly and he really got into being helpful. If looking for luxury and privacy this is NOT your spot.

Breakfast was good and the meal provided to us for the one dinner we ate in was very good!

Room Tip: IF staying here, do not stay in the Aubergine room on the first floor. No privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank doc_skid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days following a fun but dusty week of exploring Morocco... what a fabulous way to end the trip. Beautiful decor, flowers everywhere and lush places to relax during every part of the day. On the roof terrace chairs are artfully placed around so at any point of the day you can recline in sun or in shade. Perfect. My husband picked up a bug our last day in the desert and arrived at the riad in a bit of a state- the staff couldnt do more to help, even having a friend open up a pharmacy out of hours to get him the medications he needed. I wouldnt stay anywhere else in Marrakech!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Star Room, it was a bit dark but we loved it, a total relaxing hideaway from the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I hesitate to write this review because I really wanted to love Riad Meriem and, judging by the other reviews, my fiance and I are the first people ever to not be blown away by our stay. The positives: great rainfall shower, comfortable bed, good breakfast. The negatives: everything else. When we arrived, the guide they sent spoke only Arabic (no English, no French, so if you had any questions you were simply out of luck), our room smelled heavily of cigarette smoke, and we were not given any information about the amenities (wifi, breakfast) or given a tour of the Riad. Obviously, we're independent travellers so we could do without any of this this, but these details were the absolute minimum customer service we received at three other Riads throughout our stay in Morocco. As for the decor...much has been made of the Thomas Hayes design. Let me tell you the reality: the door to our room had no lock whatsoever. The bathroom also has no door. The windows do not close competely, so you can hear EVERY noise from the courtyard. The "romantic" lighting is so dark you can barely see enough to put in contacts, let alone apply makeup or shave. The furnishings in the room are so minimalist (not even a nightstand) so your belongings end up strewn about the room. So, in all, this place is not terrible by any means. Especially if you are staying in one of the two smaller rooms, I believe you will get your money's worth. However, having received twice the service/amenities for the same price elsewhere I simply felt compelled to provide my honest thoughts here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank cancemini4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent 4 nights in the elegant Red Room and were looked after with friendliness and care by Hassan and Abdul. The riad efficiently organised our airport pick-up and departure via a taxi and porter. It would be daunting to try to find the riad by yourself as it's in the maze of alleys in the medina, a great location 5 mins from the souks, the Square (Jemaa El Fna) and the mayhem and throb of the mopeds and hustle of the streets.
The riad is a beautifully-restored building with a peaceful courtyard and sunny roof terrace that is a joy to return to, to recharge in a serene peace, before venturing out again into the throb, noise, colours, tastes, theatre and humanity of Marrakech.

Room Tip: The Red Room was comfortable with an exotic style and highly rcmd. All rooms appeared to be of a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmPenicuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Red Room for three nights and loved it! The staff were very friendly and helpful!
The staff helped us with showing us around the medina maze, booking taxis , arranging excursions and restaurants.
Will definitely stay here the next time I visit Marrakech!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdbodin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I just want to thank my fabulous staff for the best "staycation" ever !
now, of course this delicious riad is not mine and i hesitate as i write this; but for 5 lazy, luxurious, sun-drenched days, my beau and I felt like it most certainly was.
we did very little touristing (it was a return trip for me) for one simple reason---we were having a glorious time at "home." basking like 2 happy lizards on the terrace, entranced by the rhythms of the prayers, the blueness of the sky, the tiny chirping of the birds...why go anywhere else?
as for the particulars: breakfasts and dinner were yummy. there was good Moroccan wine and nibbles for the asking. reservations were made and taxis found at the drop of a hat. our room was a beauty, as was the entire riad. and the service, adorable!

if you're looking for the perfect secret hideaway, a love nest or an exotic place for a clandestine tryst, this is your riad. I cannot think of a better place to relax and revive one's self than here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaPadrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Ive just come back from morocco and stayed in this riad and i have to say it was the most lovely place i have ever stayed in all my travelling. The people who worked there were so lovely and went above and beyond the call of duty in helping me and my three friends. I would seriously advice people to go and stay here they will make you feel safe and secure in beautiful surroundings and will give great advice on what you should and shouldnt do while there, sorting things out for you. Aswell as all that its just really beautiful and you'll find everything you need in gorgeous rooms and the food they do it great aswell! All in all loved the staff and the owner and I would advice anyone to go there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Dar Fakir
Dar Fakir
#177 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar 73
Dar 73
#82 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Ariha
Riad Ariha
#118 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#15 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meriem Hotel
Meriem Hotel
#336 of 490 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
#139 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Meriem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Meriem

Address: 97 Derb El Cadi, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#128 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Meriem 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Meriem is (in his own words) "a labour of love" for the New York designer Thomas Hays. He has created it with the art lover in mind with a fusion of oriental textiles, exquisite paintings plus his own Fine Art Photography. This exclusive boutique hotel has been entirely crafted by Marrakchi artisans to ensure that it retains its authenticity whilst using the talents of the best local craftsmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Meriem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Meriem Marrakech
Riad Meriem Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing