We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Meriem

Save Saved
You added Riad Meriem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Meriem
97 Derb El Cadi, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed in the Red Room for three nights and loved it! The staff were very friendly and helpful!
The staff helped us with showing us around the medina maze, booking taxis , arranging excursions and restaurants.
Will definitely stay here the next time I visit Marrakech!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    11
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I just want to thank my fabulous staff for the best "staycation" ever !
now, of course this delicious riad is not mine and i hesitate as i write this; but for 5 lazy, luxurious, sun-drenched days, my beau and I felt like it most certainly was.
we did very little touristing (it was a return trip for me) for one simple reason---we were having a glorious time at "home." basking like 2 happy lizards on the terrace, entranced by the rhythms of the prayers, the blueness of the sky, the tiny chirping of the birds...why go anywhere else?
as for the particulars: breakfasts and dinner were yummy. there was good Moroccan wine and nibbles for the asking. reservations were made and taxis found at the drop of a hat. our room was a beauty, as was the entire riad. and the service, adorable!

if you're looking for the perfect secret hideaway, a love nest or an exotic place for a clandestine tryst, this is your riad. I cannot think of a better place to relax and revive one's self than here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Ive just come back from morocco and stayed in this riad and i have to say it was the most lovely place i have ever stayed in all my travelling. The people who worked there were so lovely and went above and beyond the call of duty in helping me and my three friends. I would seriously advice people to go and stay here they will make you feel safe and secure in beautiful surroundings and will give great advice on what you should and shouldnt do while there, sorting things out for you. Aswell as all that its just really beautiful and you'll find everything you need in gorgeous rooms and the food they do it great aswell! All in all loved the staff and the owner and I would advice anyone to go there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

j ai pass une bonne vac a riad meriem avec ma famme et merci bcb a cyrous et hassan avec tout les equipes excellent vraiment si excellent
the rooms are beautiful,the staff were wonderful.iwouldn't stay anywhere else. it's in the heart of the medina so it's tricky to find if you are good with drection but onece you the walk once it's no easy.but that said this riad is great.loved it

Room Tip: star suit and red suit et chambre ivory
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Hi we visited this fantastic riad in October 2012. We would definitely recommend this gorgeous riad to any visitor. This beautiful riad is a real haven from the heat and bussle of the Marrakech streets. The interior is perfectly finished in traditional Moroccan style. We stayed in the star room, which is so romantic.The traditional Moroccan food served at this riad actually was the tastiest traditional food we ate during our trip. The assistance we received from Cyrus , Hassan and Hamza really made our trip.

Thank you all so much! Angela & Eoin from Ireland

Room Tip: The star room is one of the most romantic rooms we have stayed in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

There is nothing you can complain about with this beautiful riad. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. It's in the heart of the medina so it's tricky to find if you are no good with directions but once you do the walk once it's easy. It's daunting at first as it's down winding alleys that get darker as you go through but it's safe and you get the true Marrakech experience in the heart of the old town.

Cyrus, Hassan and Abdul we're extremely helpful and friendly and nothing with too much for them.

The rooms were super clean, the food excellent, their insights top notch. They even gave us a bottle of bubbly for my girlfriends birthday which was a lovely touch.

Don't bother about looking elsewhere this riad and it's staff are the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

What an amazing place. The rooms are beautiful, the staff were wonderful . It was a 10 minute walk to the main square which you have to walk. So it might not be great if you struggle with walking any distance but the same could be said for Marrakech in general. But that said this riad is great. Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Meriem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Meriem

Address: 97 Derb El Cadi, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#129 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Meriem is (in his own words) "a labour of love" for the New York designer Thomas Hays. He has created it with the art lover in mind with a fusion of oriental textiles, exquisite paintings plus his own Fine Art Photography. This exclusive boutique hotel has been entirely crafted by Marrakchi artisans to ensure that it retains its authenticity whilst using the talents of the best local craftsmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Meriem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Meriem Marrakech
Riad Meriem Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Meriem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.