We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility amongst the chaos of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Meriem

Save Saved
You added Riad Meriem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Meriem
97 Derb El Cadi, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility amongst the chaos of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 via mobile

We have just got back from Riad Meriem and it was the best place we have ever stayed at. Cyrus the owner provided invaluable advise and helped us choose places to eat and visit, arranging reservations and transport. I must say the food at the Riad was superb. His team were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Well worth a stay

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    11
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

I say that as Barrhead Travel were hopeless , however despite their mistakes Madeline and the team went out of their way to make this the most wonderful holiday!

The Riad is set in a perfect location, just minutes from the heart of the action ! Let the Riad organise the airport transfers and you will then have a seemless arrival into this hectic and vibrant city. Arrival here is very exciting so many people, mopeds and donkeys on the streets, very intense and culturally overwhelming!

Marrakech has lots to offer, guidance from Cyrus and Hassan is well observed plus they will organise bookings for dinner and the essential hammam experience.

Breakfasts are delicious, dinner at the Riad on the first night is a must do. Really anything else on that first night is just too hard and the dinner in the Riad is absolutely excellent.

In summary, we were very quickly made to feel at home and the service here is equal to the best I have ever received anywhere. Book with complete confidence.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Riad Meriem was all that we hoped for and more - a beautiful, tranquil space. It casts a spell when you walk in - it felt like entering a secret garden, another timeless world which goes back centuries We were walmly welcomed on arrival by Hassan with drinks in the courtyard, followed by a delicious meal on the roof terrace. The courtyard is dominated by an amazing cascade of bougainvillea and two elegant palm trees, but the focus is the ornate plunge pool, which is surprisingly deep and very refreshing.

An impressive array of plants in pots line the roof terrace - scented jasmine, plumbago,rosemary, pomegranate and even olives. The terrace is spacious with separate areas for shade and privacy. The entire riad is exquisitely decorated with traditional materials - plasterwork, tiles and wrought iron - not ostentatious or pretentious, but very tasteful. Dappled lighting from traditional brass lanterns is subtle and subdued, creating a magical atmosphere. Our room was clean and the shower a delight.

The food was excellent, the best we had in Marrakech - we particularly remember a wonderful lunch served in the courtyard after a dip in the pool and also a romantic meal on the terrace by candlelight. Breakfast, served on the roof terrace, were delicious - freshly squeezed orange juice in abundance and fresh breads and pancakes and home-made fig jam. This was also a time to meet fellow guests and compare notes.

The staff were always available without being obtrusive - when you needed something they were there and were always very relaxed, helpful and with a ready sense of humour. Cyrus provided guidance and suggestions at breakfast time and gave us his mobile number so that if we had any problem we could contact him. The riad is very well-positioned in the midst of the Medina, close to the souks, and with Cyrus's directions we were quickly able to orientate ourselves and find our way around.

We strongly recommend the Riad Meriem as a beautiful oasis where you can experience the best of Morocco's tradition of hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I can't imagine a better place to stay in Marrakech than Riad Meriem.

Right in the heart of the medina, the Riad is a tranquil oasis away from the mayhem of the souks.

The staff is exceptional, our room was great (Matisse), and the food was great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

Just got back from 3 day break, what a totally fantastic experience. We had the 'Red' room which was perfect, amazing bathroom with fab shower. Cyrus and the road team make you very very welcome, nothing is too much trouble, it's really important to take your first hour to chill with a cool beer or glass of wine, generously offered by Cyrus on arrival and talk about your what you'd like to experience, we had a plan but after great advice made some revisions. The location of the riad is your first taste of what being in the heart of the Medina is all about, this raid is found deep right along with the locals but close enough to the centre of the souks, you really feel you experiencing life with the locals. Marrakech is a fabulous city with more colour, noise and vibrance than I've seen pretty much anywhere. We were met from the airport and taken directly to our raid, the last part of the journey was on foot since the narrow streets are only suitable for donkeys, mopeds and pedestrians!!
Recommendations for dinner would be Le Fonduke, Le Commptoire for mid to high end dinning experience in authentic surroundings but would also suggest you run the gauntlet in the food Market in the main square one evening it's mad! But worth the barrage of offers from the plethora of eager stall hosts - try it its fun.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Room:
We stayed in the boutique Star room, it was great and lived up to its promises on the website.

Wifi:
This is provided for free.

Staff:
Abdul and Hassan were very helpful, we got to meet Cyrus too who provided tips on what to see and where to go

Location:
This Riad is a bit hard to find, Abdul kindly showed us the way to the main square on our first night. The Medina is a cacophony of colours and noise, it got quite exhausting by our third day (not helped by the fact that I had got food poisoning, but not from the Riad's food!).

The only downside I noticed about this Riad was the presence of some bird droppings on some of the sofa cushions in the pool area, but this is quite a minor point.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Beautiful Riad in the Medina but not worth the price tag for the Star room. Would have been better to book the ever so slightly smaller room for 50€ less.
Service from the staff was pleasant; similar to what you could expect from a large Hotel chain.
After travelling for 3 weeks in Morocco and staying in Riad's, this was by far, the least friendly with no personal touches. Not the Riad experience you read about, or in my case, experience from other Riad's.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Meriem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Meriem

Address: 97 Derb El Cadi, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#130 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Meriem is (in his own words) "a labour of love" for the New York designer Thomas Hays. He has created it with the art lover in mind with a fusion of oriental textiles, exquisite paintings plus his own Fine Art Photography. This exclusive boutique hotel has been entirely crafted by Marrakchi artisans to ensure that it retains its authenticity whilst using the talents of the best local craftsmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Meriem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Meriem Marrakech
Riad Meriem Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Meriem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.