We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful secret garden - a hideaway in the heart of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Meriem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Meriem to your Saves list
Riad Meriem
97 Derb El Cadi, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Somerset, UK
1 review
“A beautiful secret garden - a hideaway in the heart of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Riad Meriem was all that we hoped for and more - a beautiful, tranquil space. It casts a spell when you walk in - it felt like entering a secret garden, another timeless world which goes back centuries We were walmly welcomed on arrival by Hassan with drinks in the courtyard, followed by a delicious meal on the roof terrace. The courtyard is dominated by an amazing cascade of bougainvillea and two elegant palm trees, but the focus is the ornate plunge pool, which is surprisingly deep and very refreshing.

An impressive array of plants in pots line the roof terrace - scented jasmine, plumbago,rosemary, pomegranate and even olives. The terrace is spacious with separate areas for shade and privacy. The entire riad is exquisitely decorated with traditional materials - plasterwork, tiles and wrought iron - not ostentatious or pretentious, but very tasteful. Dappled lighting from traditional brass lanterns is subtle and subdued, creating a magical atmosphere. Our room was clean and the shower a delight.

The food was excellent, the best we had in Marrakech - we particularly remember a wonderful lunch served in the courtyard after a dip in the pool and also a romantic meal on the terrace by candlelight. Breakfast, served on the roof terrace, were delicious - freshly squeezed orange juice in abundance and fresh breads and pancakes and home-made fig jam. This was also a time to meet fellow guests and compare notes.

The staff were always available without being obtrusive - when you needed something they were there and were always very relaxed, helpful and with a ready sense of humour. Cyrus provided guidance and suggestions at breakfast time and gave us his mobile number so that if we had any problem we could contact him. The riad is very well-positioned in the midst of the Medina, close to the souks, and with Cyrus's directions we were quickly able to orientate ourselves and find our way around.

We strongly recommend the Riad Meriem as a beautiful oasis where you can experience the best of Morocco's tradition of hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    11
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I can't imagine a better place to stay in Marrakech than Riad Meriem.

Right in the heart of the medina, the Riad is a tranquil oasis away from the mayhem of the souks.

The staff is exceptional, our room was great (Matisse), and the food was great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

Just got back from 3 day break, what a totally fantastic experience. We had the 'Red' room which was perfect, amazing bathroom with fab shower. Cyrus and the road team make you very very welcome, nothing is too much trouble, it's really important to take your first hour to chill with a cool beer or glass of wine, generously offered by Cyrus on arrival and talk about your what you'd like to experience, we had a plan but after great advice made some revisions. The location of the riad is your first taste of what being in the heart of the Medina is all about, this raid is found deep right along with the locals but close enough to the centre of the souks, you really feel you experiencing life with the locals. Marrakech is a fabulous city with more colour, noise and vibrance than I've seen pretty much anywhere. We were met from the airport and taken directly to our raid, the last part of the journey was on foot since the narrow streets are only suitable for donkeys, mopeds and pedestrians!!
Recommendations for dinner would be Le Fonduke, Le Commptoire for mid to high end dinning experience in authentic surroundings but would also suggest you run the gauntlet in the food Market in the main square one evening it's mad! But worth the barrage of offers from the plethora of eager stall hosts - try it its fun.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Room:
We stayed in the boutique Star room, it was great and lived up to its promises on the website.

Wifi:
This is provided for free.

Staff:
Abdul and Hassan were very helpful, we got to meet Cyrus too who provided tips on what to see and where to go

Location:
This Riad is a bit hard to find, Abdul kindly showed us the way to the main square on our first night. The Medina is a cacophony of colours and noise, it got quite exhausting by our third day (not helped by the fact that I had got food poisoning, but not from the Riad's food!).

The only downside I noticed about this Riad was the presence of some bird droppings on some of the sofa cushions in the pool area, but this is quite a minor point.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Beautiful Riad in the Medina but not worth the price tag for the Star room. Would have been better to book the ever so slightly smaller room for 50€ less.
Service from the staff was pleasant; similar to what you could expect from a large Hotel chain.
After travelling for 3 weeks in Morocco and staying in Riad's, this was by far, the least friendly with no personal touches. Not the Riad experience you read about, or in my case, experience from other Riad's.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Riad Meriem is beautiful. We had a wonder 5 night stay. Hassan looked after us very well from arrival to departure, it was sad to leave. The very friendly Cyrus would pop in most mornings to say hello & advise us of places to eat out, what to see & where to go. All of his recommendations were great - Bo&Zin & also Le Comptoir Darna for dinners, Ourika Valley for a day trip, hammam treatments at Le Bain Bleu & Les Bains de l'Alhambra. Breakfast on the top terrace was so good - freshly squeezed orange juice, daily made bread, fresh fruit & yoghurt & a surprise dish every morning. We ate one meal at the Riad & for me, it was exactly what I had come to Marrakech for, delicious targine & couscous! The portions were so huge, we felt bad about what we couldn't finish! One main thing i'd like to point out was whenever we went out of an evening to dinner, they had arranged for someone to pick us up on foot from the Riad, walk us to the car where ever it was parked, take us to the restaurant & would be back there at the time agreed to take us back to the Riad, always walking us back to the front door. I thought this was an excellent service. Whether or not other Riads offer this service I do not know, but I was worried about never finding our Riad again by taking a wrong turn, especially in the dark but I didn't have to worry about that at all with the service Riad Meriem provided. It's location within the Medina is great too. It's less than 5min walk into the Souks, and 10mins into Jemaa el Fna Square. Once we got our bearings to & from the Square we didn't get lost. We were planning on doing a lot more than what we did but when we got there, we were pretty happy sat in the sun on the Terrace with a book & a glass of wine most afternoons!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We were after a romantic get-away and found it. The room, service, food, setting, quiet, dream-like ambiance were more than we had hoped for. We will return again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Meriem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Meriem

Address: 97 Derb El Cadi, Azbest | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#120 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Meriem is (in his own words) "a labour of love" for the New York designer Thomas Hays. He has created it with the art lover in mind with a fusion of oriental textiles, exquisite paintings plus his own Fine Art Photography. This exclusive boutique hotel has been entirely crafted by Marrakchi artisans to ensure that it retains its authenticity whilst using the talents of the best local craftsmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Meriem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Meriem Marrakech
Riad Meriem Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Meriem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.