We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boutique bohemia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Magi to your Saves list
Riad Magi
79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #621 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
“boutique bohemia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I have visited Riad Magi several times and have been welcomed so warmly. Powdery pastels mix with Moroccan touches - the perfect mellow haven. Courtyard calm during the daytime and candlelit by night - I have lovely memories of a very special place to stay, unwind and relax. Warmly and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
29
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

My favourite overnight stopping off place between arriving in Marrakech and setting off for Essaouira. I love the warm welcome I always receive from the charming and helpful staff. This is very important to me particularly when I travel alone. Breakfast in the courtyard or on the terrace is magical. The staff are always on hand to find me coach tickets and taxis and help with my luggage. I love it and stay whenever I can.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Good location right off the Djeema El-fna - although the entrance is down some pretty strange alley ways which are partly full of rubble and feel as though you are heading into some spooky dungeon!!! When you arrive the staff are very friendly and helpful - we especially liked the night porter Yousseff.
The evening we got there the Assistant Manager recommended a restaurant to us and we were whisked off there with a booking already made. When we got there it was extortionately expensive - we felt that he should have asked before sending us.

We had also been told by the owner Maggie that the Manger would pick us up at the airport which we thought exceptionally kind - as it turned out it was a random driver who the Assistant Manager said we had to pay!!! That hadn't been mentioned at all and when we explained that he said “ok then don’t worry about it”.

We stayed in a room on the ground floor right off the courtyard - it was a pleasant room but the door didn't close properly so everyone walking through the courtyard could see straight into our room at all times of night and day. In addition you could hear every sound made by anyone else in the Riad - either as it echoed through the courtyard or through the pipes and vents in the bathroom.

The roof top area is very nice and in all it was convenient and OK. I think it best suits a younger age group that aren’t quite as fussy as us

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Lovely riad with a great terrace and a wonderful staff. The location is excellent as well. The only problem was the noise in the morning...you can hear everything from 8 a.m. onward, so if you stay here bring some earplugs or just plan on waking early.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

I recently stayed at Riad Magi and I cannot say enough about the wonderful staff. The location is prime and the rooftop terrace is amazing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

While I'm sure Riad Magi is normally a sparkling oasis in the Marrakesh Medina, the character is completely diminished by the fact that they currently have almost no hot water. In fact, with the exception of the few rooms on the ground floor, there isn't even cold water! The manager explained that this was due to a heavy rain a few weeks ago, but from the looks of the torn up street and exposed piping in the front of the riad, this might be a longer-term issue. I would suggest calling before reserving to make sure that this problem has been resolved.

Other than the major water problem, the staff were very friendly, English and French widely spoken, and they were very helpful in securing airport transport. Would give it high marks otherwise!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Hidden tranquillity within the madness of the Medina, Marrakech. Fantastic service provided by small team of staff; nothing to much trouble, including complementary afternoon tea. Great fresh and plentiful breakfasts. Very satisfied guests. Upgraded our room as available. Only downside is that all room face the central courtyard (where breakfast is served) therefore forget about sleeping in; otherwise superbly quite all other times. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Magi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magi

Address: 79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #621 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Magi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Magi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.