We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Origin Hotels Riad Magi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Origin Hotels Riad Magi to your Saves list
Origin Hotels Riad Magi
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #573 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
“home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

My favourite overnight stopping off place between arriving in Marrakech and setting off for Essaouira. I love the warm welcome I always receive from the charming and helpful staff. This is very important to me particularly when I travel alone. Breakfast in the courtyard or on the terrace is magical. The staff are always on hand to find me coach tickets and taxis and help with my luggage. I love it and stay whenever I can.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    9
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
32
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Good location right off the Djeema El-fna - although the entrance is down some pretty strange alley ways which are partly full of rubble and feel as though you are heading into some spooky dungeon!!! When you arrive the staff are very friendly and helpful - we especially liked the night porter Yousseff.
The evening we got there the Assistant Manager recommended a restaurant to us and we were whisked off there with a booking already made. When we got there it was extortionately expensive - we felt that he should have asked before sending us.

We had also been told by the owner Maggie that the Manger would pick us up at the airport which we thought exceptionally kind - as it turned out it was a random driver who the Assistant Manager said we had to pay!!! That hadn't been mentioned at all and when we explained that he said “ok then don’t worry about it”.

We stayed in a room on the ground floor right off the courtyard - it was a pleasant room but the door didn't close properly so everyone walking through the courtyard could see straight into our room at all times of night and day. In addition you could hear every sound made by anyone else in the Riad - either as it echoed through the courtyard or through the pipes and vents in the bathroom.

The roof top area is very nice and in all it was convenient and OK. I think it best suits a younger age group that aren’t quite as fussy as us

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Lovely riad with a great terrace and a wonderful staff. The location is excellent as well. The only problem was the noise in the morning...you can hear everything from 8 a.m. onward, so if you stay here bring some earplugs or just plan on waking early.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

I recently stayed at Riad Magi and I cannot say enough about the wonderful staff. The location is prime and the rooftop terrace is amazing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

While I'm sure Riad Magi is normally a sparkling oasis in the Marrakesh Medina, the character is completely diminished by the fact that they currently have almost no hot water. In fact, with the exception of the few rooms on the ground floor, there isn't even cold water! The manager explained that this was due to a heavy rain a few weeks ago, but from the looks of the torn up street and exposed piping in the front of the riad, this might be a longer-term issue. I would suggest calling before reserving to make sure that this problem has been resolved.

Other than the major water problem, the staff were very friendly, English and French widely spoken, and they were very helpful in securing airport transport. Would give it high marks otherwise!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Hidden tranquillity within the madness of the Medina, Marrakech. Fantastic service provided by small team of staff; nothing to much trouble, including complementary afternoon tea. Great fresh and plentiful breakfasts. Very satisfied guests. Upgraded our room as available. Only downside is that all room face the central courtyard (where breakfast is served) therefore forget about sleeping in; otherwise superbly quite all other times. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Riad Magi is a great place to stay if you want to be close to the square and the markets. Down a laneway away from the noise of the city, Riad Magi offers comfortable rooms, a great breakfast and fantastic staff who are always there to help with any request you may have. In a word , fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#379 of 480 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
#149 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kssour Agafay
Kssour Agafay
#318 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#112 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Origin Hotels Riad Magi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Origin Hotels Riad Magi

Address: 79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #573 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Origin Hotels Riad Magi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Magi is a colourful five-room riad that gives a feeling of mystery and adventure with its narrow stairways and variety of floor levels. It is located two doors down from Riad Lhena, close to Jamaa El Fna. The Riad Magi courtyard is shaded by large orange trees creating a wonderful atmosphere for dining together in the Moroccan tradition. The rooftop terrace is perfect for relaxing in the sun or outdoor dining with its sun loungers and canopied lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Origin Hotels Riad Magi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Origin Hotels Riad Magi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.