We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, but no hot water!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Origin Hotels Riad Magi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Origin Hotels Riad Magi to your Saves list
Origin Hotels Riad Magi
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #647 of 1,134 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely people, but no hot water!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

While I'm sure Riad Magi is normally a sparkling oasis in the Marrakesh Medina, the character is completely diminished by the fact that they currently have almost no hot water. In fact, with the exception of the few rooms on the ground floor, there isn't even cold water! The manager explained that this was due to a heavy rain a few weeks ago, but from the looks of the torn up street and exposed piping in the front of the riad, this might be a longer-term issue. I would suggest calling before reserving to make sure that this problem has been resolved.

Other than the major water problem, the staff were very friendly, English and French widely spoken, and they were very helpful in securing airport transport. Would give it high marks otherwise!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    9
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
32
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Hidden tranquillity within the madness of the Medina, Marrakech. Fantastic service provided by small team of staff; nothing to much trouble, including complementary afternoon tea. Great fresh and plentiful breakfasts. Very satisfied guests. Upgraded our room as available. Only downside is that all room face the central courtyard (where breakfast is served) therefore forget about sleeping in; otherwise superbly quite all other times. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Riad Magi is a great place to stay if you want to be close to the square and the markets. Down a laneway away from the noise of the city, Riad Magi offers comfortable rooms, a great breakfast and fantastic staff who are always there to help with any request you may have. In a word , fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Riad Magi is run by a British owner and the staff has a good understanding of the English language, which makes communication easy and without many errors.

The riad is located right near the main square in the Medina. It is easy to find, once you have found it. It is advisable to have you picked up on the square on arrival, so the staff can show you the way.

The riad is beautiful and everything is spotlessly clean. The rooms are big enough. The beds - at least the one we had - were very, very hard, so you might need to get used to that. One disadvantage is the privacy level; given the small size of the Riad (6 rooms) and the lack of isolation, every sound you make can be heard by the other guests, like the flushing of the toilet.

The staff is helpful, but keep in mind that -like everything in Marrakech- they get commission on activities they book for you. In most instances, their advise is not a problem, but we had one occasion where the staff booked a different agent for the activity than we had chosen: the activity was alas not what we expected. Also keep in mind that they don't have always the best prices available; a taxi can be rented much cheaper after some bargaining than if you arrange it via the hotel .

If you book a restaurant through their staff, ask if they can accompany you towards the restaurant. This will make your navigation through the small medina streets much much easier.

Breakfast is OK, although choice is limited and not varied widely during our stay. We had dinner in the hotel once and the food and preparation was excellent, comparable to the better restaurants in the city. In the Riad Wifi is available, although not in your room.

So depending on your type of visit, this riad may be a good choice. Ideal for exploring the medina, not so ideal if you'd like some privacy during your stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

A big thanks to Tarik, Yusuf, Hyait and Fatima for making our stay so wonderful, to Abderrazak for our 3 day trip through the beautiful Moroccan countryside, and of course to Maggi, for being so helpful during the planning of our trip. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the breakfasts very yummy, and the overall experience of staying in a Riad was so much better than an impersonal hotel.The staff became more like friends, and we were very sad to say goodbye after a fabulous week in Marakech. We shared many laughs with them, and I would thoroughly recommend that if you have the time, take the cooking lessons, well worth it. It was also so nice to meet Maggi, we really felt part of her home.
Sue and Peter

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonski
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Riad Magi is a lovely old place off a side street from the hustle and bustle of the Djemaa f'na at the centre of Marakech. It is pretty quiet and welcoming, we could sit having mint tea in the court yard without much hint of noise outside. Very tranquil and relaxing. Our room was airy and spacious, white and blue, the curtains floating with the breeze. We ate out in the city, but came back at night and had wine on reclined chairs on the roof top overlooking roofs of the city and with the hazy stars.
Service has been excellent with the attentions of a gentleman who would go out of his way to help us if he could.
Don't expect a pool, jacuzzi or sauna, here, but we both thought that this Riad was lovely.

John Millen & Twinks

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

There are a number of things that set Riad Magi above and beyone the rest of the riad crowd in the Marrakech medina:

1. The people. If owner Maggie Perry is in town, you're in luck. I am not biased just because she organized the most fabulous wedding for my husband and me. Maggie is a treat for any visitor to Marrakech - helping you sort the sparkle from the luster in the myriad of options of what to do/see/eat in town. Manager Abderazak is also a star. He has a heart of gold and makes everything happen - from the mundane yet important airport pick-ups to organizing musicians and a hammam party for thirty men. And the rest of the ladies and gents, including cook Hayat (who is also a beautician), make your stay feel as if you're in their home and you're an honored guest. It's the people that give life to Riad Magi.

2. The location. Just off the medina in a friendly Derb.

3. The price. Many riads believe "Old Town" must mean "Outrageously Expensive". Not so at Riad Magi, which is very fairly priced on its rooms and its meals.

4. The style. Simple yet perfectly and authentically finished.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Origin Hotels Riad Magi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Origin Hotels Riad Magi

Address: 79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #647 of 1,134 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Origin Hotels Riad Magi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Magi is a colourful five-room riad that gives a feeling of mystery and adventure with its narrow stairways and variety of floor levels. It is located two doors down from Riad Lhena, close to Jamaa El Fna. The Riad Magi courtyard is shaded by large orange trees creating a wonderful atmosphere for dining together in the Moroccan tradition. The rooftop terrace is perfect for relaxing in the sun or outdoor dining with its sun loungers and canopied lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Origin Hotels Riad Magi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Origin Hotels Riad Magi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.