We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Origin Hotels Riad Magi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Origin Hotels Riad Magi to your Saves list
Origin Hotels Riad Magi
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #577 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
bath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the perfect riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

I have travelled in Morrocco alot and I have to say that this is definitely one of the best places I have stayed.

perfectly situated a few minutes walk from Djema al Fna it is surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh but inside there is nothing but peace and tranquility. There are five or six rooms centred around a courtyard that provides a much needed centre of cool and calm in the heat of the city.

I have stayed in four of the rooms and they are all beautifully decorated in the traditional style, luxuriant, cosy and clean each with an en suite bathroom. There is a roof terrace where you can lounge around, listen to the call to prayer and watch the swallows ducking and diving around you. Or if the heat is too much you can descend to the central courtyard and sit under the lemon tree to drink the delicious mint tea that is always availabe and chat with your fellow guests (if you choose).

The thing that really makes Riad Magi special for me are the staff. I have met many incredible characters in Morocco but I have never come across such a wonderful group of welcoming friendly helpful people as the people that work in this Riad. They are there for you always to help you with anything you could need. The manager speaks both English and French perfectly and is a really great guy, and the other members of staff are all incredibly sweet.

If you are thinking of going to Marrakesh I would thoroughly recommend that the first place you call is Riad Magi- you wont regret it.

I cant finish this review without mentioning that the breakfast you will be given at Riad Magi is the best in Morrocco.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    9
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
32
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

A small group of us stayed at Riad Magi's whilst visiting Marrakech last weekend and what a beautiful little haven it is! Tucked away at the back of the Medina the Riad has beautifully restored rooms all with en suites, all built around a central courtyard, with fountains and orange trees. It was so peaceful and such a contrast after a day bartering in the bustling souks!
We also did a cooking course in the courtyard under the orange trees so that was a fab experience - learning to cook our own chicken tagine's & meat tangia's! Plus the manager took us to the Mellah food market to get our our local supplies of spices and preserved lemons etc... so we can now recreate authentic Moroccan food back home. A thoroughly enjoyable and recommendable weekend - I thought the Riad was excellently located and beautiful, the staff were so helpful and friendly, the markets were great fun and Marrakech was just as mad as I expected it to be! All in all a stunning 10/10!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We booked to stay at Riad Magi for two nights during a week-long trip to Marrakech on the advice of friends who had stayed there - what a wonderful recommendation this was.

The location is great, only a few minutes walk from Jemaa el Fna and easy to find. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. We enjoyed lovely breakfasts each morning on the roof terrace and we were overwhelmed by the level of service. Throughout our stay we were made to feel completely at home by all the staff and nothing was too much trouble, from changes in breakfast, recommending/booking restaurants and organising excursions, to personal shopping and walking us to various locations within the city to ensure ease of passage – a first class service!

We were so delighted with our experience that we extended our stay. We would highly recommend Riad Magi and definitely intend to return soon!

The experience made a great contribution to a memorable holiday!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I was lucky enough to spend a few nights at this incredible place, the staff are marvellous, the ambience is superb and the service put's many a five star hotel to shame. The rooms are simple, elegant, super clean with views into the courtyard.
If you are lucky enough to stay here when Maggie is in residence then you are in for a special treat, she is a very special person indeed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Myself and my wife recently stayed at Riad Magi for a long weekend break having had it recommended to us by a friend who had stayed previously - we really were overwhelmingly impressed by the attentiveness and helpfulness of the staff - we were literally treated like we were VIPs for the duration of our stay.

We found the manager Abdul particularly charming - having never been to Morocco before we must admit we found the country a little daunting, but he was only more than happy to help us out with any bookings or arrangements that we needed to be made, and was only too willing to recommend exciting places to visit, and local restaurants to eat in. We really appreciated his help, and he certainly made our short stay a lot less stressful (and a lot more enjoyable) by sharing his knowledge of the area.

We also particularly enjoyed the lavish breakfasts that were laid on every morning on the terrace. We really enjoyed our stay, and definitely plan to return should we ever visit Morocco again. Thanks Riad Magi for such a welcome relaxing break!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

Having just returned from the most restfull week at Riad Magi, I am still waking around in a blissfull holiday mood, I have never stayed anywhere as welcoming and friendly. The staff are so considerate, nothing was too much trouble for them, the manager gave us perfect advice on where to go and what to do, it was like having our very own holiday planner.
I am already looking at my diary and planning the next trip. Ten out of ten is all I can say.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We were having a lovely stay, and enjoyed the company of the workers in the riad.
Unfortunately, as we were leaving we were scammed by the manager.
We had negotiated a rate, which we kindly paid early as requested by the manager (who wasn't going to be in for the rest of our stay) As we were leaving to the airport we received a call saying that we hadn't payed for our final night of stay, which of course we had.
The manager proceeded to follow us to the airport, and would not let us get through security until we resolved the issue. We ended up giving him an extra 90 euro which was unnecessary as we had already paid. Afterwards we saw him pay off the security guard who would not let us through.

My advice avoid this riad if you do not want to be scammed. Although the other staff members are lovely, the manager is not worth the price of staying there. Be careful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#378 of 480 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
#153 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kssour Agafay
Kssour Agafay
#317 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#114 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Origin Hotels Riad Magi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Origin Hotels Riad Magi

Address: 79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #577 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Origin Hotels Riad Magi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Magi is a colourful five-room riad that gives a feeling of mystery and adventure with its narrow stairways and variety of floor levels. It is located two doors down from Riad Lhena, close to Jamaa El Fna. The Riad Magi courtyard is shaded by large orange trees creating a wonderful atmosphere for dining together in the Moroccan tradition. The rooftop terrace is perfect for relaxing in the sun or outdoor dining with its sun loungers and canopied lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Origin Hotels Riad Magi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Origin Hotels Riad Magi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.