We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Origin Hotels Riad Magi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Origin Hotels Riad Magi to your Saves list
Origin Hotels Riad Magi
79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #689 of 1,120 Marrakech B&B and Inns
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

I stayed at Riad Maji during the Arts in Marrakech Festival. The Riad is part of the fringe festival. Its event is always one of the most popular - and just about the only one which extends its (free) hospitality to ordinary Moroccans and genuinely reflects the local culture.
I have stayed there several times and it's a real home-from-home as the staff are great and Maggie is most welcoming and helpful. I think your reviewer who was put off by paying by cheque etc. missed out on a wonderful holiday experience with her nit-picking attitude but I can't help feeling rather glad about that , as all the people I have met at the Riad have had the easy and relaxed attitude you need to get the best out of Morocco. Your reviewer comes across as too uptight to really enjoy the place. A lucky escape there Maggie is all I can say.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
29
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

On February 2nd (two months before our intended stay) I called Magi Perry to make a booking for two double rooms for two nights at Riad Magi. She quoted me a price of £75 per room per night, which I agreed to happily. She then said to confirm the booking I would need to post her a cheuqe for £100 (who writes cheques these days anyway!) and then would need to pay the remaining £200 before I left the UK and had even landed in Marakesh!! I told her I thought paying the full amount for a hotel before you had even been to the country was very strange and she insisted that everyone does it. I explained I had stayed all over the world and had always paid on check-out and she replied "this is no backpacking place". She proceeded to be terribly rude.
I almost told her that we were no backpackers and our last hotel had been five star. But I didn't bother. I cancelled my booking right away.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

In the knowledge that we had organised a complicated surf tour ahead of us, we wanted to find somewhere we could relax with trustworthy hosts at a reasonable price.

We were picked up from the airport and had already had a great transfer rate negotiated for us by the Riad team. We then arrived and were given a lovely breakfast after a gruelling early start from Luton.

We were immediately given bottled water and offered any help or advice we required.

The acommodation itself was lovely, Tadelakt plaster in beautiful colours and a lovely communal roof terrace and courtyard was always lovely to come back to after the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh.

The Riad team organised our taxi to the coast for 6 at an incredibly good rate and sorted our return.

We had dinner in the Riad before flying out the next day and it was our best meal in Morocco.

Definately would recommend.

Sam

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happedazze
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

Wonderful location. Stayed here with 4 other medical mission volunteers following our mission in Er-rachida. I liked it so much I went back a week later for two days when my bf came to travel with me. The staff is wonderful, the owner Magi is very accomodating and gracious. Loved having breakfast on the roof, it's very cozy and romantic.

highly recommend staying here..

  • Liked — atmosphere and staff
  • Disliked — narrow stairwell
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon. We stayed for 2 nights at the start, and 4 nights at the end. The service here is way above expectation, the staff who work here are helpful, friendly, professional. But they also seem to enjoy working here, which adds to the lovely atmosphere.

Morocco threw everything it could at us, storms in the Sahara, villages washed away in front of our eyes, illness, and a dishonest driver - but on returning to riad Magi we were able to recover in style.

Maggie, who owns the Riad, helped us arrange several excursions, and we took advantage of khadija (one fo the staff) excellent culinary skills with an afternoon of learning to cook some moroccan dishes.

I would definitely recommend Riad Magi,

  • Liked — friendly, intimate atmosphere
  • Disliked — the pillows, they need new ones in the little room (i had to think of something)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

Probably a little over-priced, but the service was excellent, and apart from the mosque in the morning, very quiet whilst at the same time being very central. The small number of rooms makes it feel more like you are staying in someone's house than a hotel.

  • Liked — Service, clean, comfortable, central
  • Disliked — A little over-priced
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

After staying in Ryad Mabrouka in Fes it was quite disappointing to stay in Riad Magi in Marrakech. It is a quiet riad but definitely not a heaven.
We have stayed three nights in the ground floor room which was ok.

The room rate was 1040 dirhams per night, instead of 65 pounds' equivalent of 945 dirhams. On top of that there is a 10 percent VAT charge that comes with the bill and is not mentioned anywhere. For the total price that comes, I think it is possible to stay in a much better riad in Marrakech.

An overall problem I had in Morocco was the breakfasts being too sweet and it was the same in Riad Magi. If you don't like sweets and eggs, then you cannot have breakfast in this riad. No cheese, no unsweetened yoghurt, no olives, and nothing 'fresh'.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Origin Hotels Riad Magi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Origin Hotels Riad Magi

Address: 79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #689 of 1,120 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Magi is a colourful five-room riad that gives a feeling of mystery and adventure with its narrow stairways and variety of floor levels. It is located two doors down from Riad Lhena, close to Jamaa El Fna. The Riad Magi courtyard is shaded by large orange trees creating a wonderful atmosphere for dining together in the Moroccan tradition. The rooftop terrace is perfect for relaxing in the sun or outdoor dining with its sun loungers and canopied lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Origin Hotels Riad Magi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Origin Hotels Riad Magi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.