We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast under the orange trees....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Magi
79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #577 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“breakfast under the orange trees....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I really loved my stay at Riad Magi. For my first night in Morocco, I was picked up from the airport by Abdol, who was warm and helpful, and assisted to this beautiful riad in the heart of the medina. The rooms are beautifully decorated with traditional decor, and overlook a central courtyard with gorgeous orange trees and singing birds, where one has a delicious breakfast courtesy of Leila, also charming and friendly. The rooftop terrace is also a treat in the morning or evening. I returned a few days later for another two nights with my mother, and she also had a wonderful time -- the staff made her very comfortable and I was grateful for their help. One of the remarkable things about Riad Magi is that it is very peaceful and calm, an oasis really, but only steps from the craziness (and fun) of the souks and the Djemaa el Fnaa. By the way, you'll also be blown away by the courtesy and kindness of Maggie, who runs things beautifully from the UK and was invaluable when I was planning my trip. I hope to return soon....

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I had the blue room on the first floor overlooking the terrace and my mother had the cream double ro...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
29
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had visited Marrakech several times but had never taken our children and were nervous of how they'd cope with the hustle and bustle. However prior to arrival the lovely owners, Maggie & Clay had spoken to us and given us a full list of child friendly activities and restaurants. The staff took us to the Riad and could not have made us feel more at home. The fantastic manager, Abdul and the attentive and kind cook/caretakeer Helema were on hand to help with any requests small or large from the best place to buy rugs to where the kids could see chameleons. We are pretty fussy travellers but the standard of care and the lovely rooms ensure that we will all return.
The Vogel Family

Room Tip: We took the 2 courtyard rooms as the larger one has 2 huge beds that the children could share.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

staff are extremely kind, caring and considerate, and the rooms are lovely. you can have your breakfast on the roof terrace it's absolutely delicious - they make the best vanilla yoghurt i have ever tasted! Abdul the manager is so helpful, and because we could not speak much french he spent a whole day on the phone booking and planning our holiday for us which was very helpful. its also very affordable. thanks for having us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Ideally placed a few paces from the main square and the souks, this intimate riad has bundles of character and is managed by a delightful man named Abdhul.The breakfasts are delicious and the riad is peaceful, which is quite an achievement in Marrakech. I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Riad Magi staff very attentive everything organised from pick up at airport to delivery with luggage at reception in riad. Very good breakfast set us up for day, offers of coffee or mint tea when we returned to riad from day of sightseeing .Staff worked constantly keepingriad clean and tidyso quiet but only 5 mins from very busy Jeema el Fna where anything goes Souks on doorstep good variety of restaurants,be prepared to wander and to get lost no matter how many maps you have, you come across sights by accident a good way to see life in the medina. Warning be aware of very good pickpockets I had my mobile taken from buttoned pocket in narrow busy street be careful without being paranoid.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at this riad for 4 nights and had a most enjoyable time. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, and the breakfasts are excellent. It is situated about 4 minutes from the top of the main square, but since it is round a few corners it is blissfully quiet - it is hard to believe it is only a short stroll from the busslingly life of the square.

The riad also runs Moroccan cooking courses, which we did not attend, but there was one during our stay which looked very good.

No swimming pool - but this did not matter to us.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011 via mobile

My girlfriend and I recently enjoyed a very pleasant stay at this friendly and attractive riad. Located just a few hundred yards from the main square, it's the ideal base for your Marrakech adventure. From the moment you step inside, the attentive staff will make you feel right at home (we had a pot of mint tea waiting for us!) The brightly-coloured rooms are basic but have an authentic charm, whilst the roof terrace provides decent views over the city and the perfect breakfast setting. The staff were very helpful in answering our (many) questions and organising excursions outside Marrakech (e.g. ask about a Land Rover tour up into the Atlas Mountains to see how the Berber people live). All in all, we would thoroughly recommend Riad
Magi for anyone seeking a relaxed and romantic place to stay. SA

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Magi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magi

Address: 79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #577 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Riad Magi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Magi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Magi to your Saves list