We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Origin Hotels Riad Magi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Origin Hotels Riad Magi to your Saves list
Origin Hotels Riad Magi
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #580 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Loved this place! An authentic experience of a Marrakesh. Small number of nicely decorated rooms (home from home feel) with very attentative staff. Breakfast on the roof top garden was great, boiled eggs, fresh juices, yogurts etc. Can't be beaten on location, the souk & main square is right on your doorstep. The manager Abdulsak was extremely helpful from airport pick ups right the way through to booking restaurants (Le Comptoir & Le Tanjia) & tours (4x4 upto Ourika Valley in the Atlas Mountains for a walk & lunch). Couldnt fault Raid Magi, a touch of real Marrkesh in comfort! The owner Maggie is a delight to deal with. An ambassdor for the place with an encyclopedic knowledge of what makes it tick!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    9
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
32
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed at the Riad Magi for 2 nights. Its position was perfect - tucked away in a quiet backwater but only minutes away from the bustling souk. The room was comfortable and tastefully decorated and we ate in the central courtyard amongst the orange trees.The staff were very helpful and friendly, carrying our baggage to and from the square, arranging taxis and serving up delicious breakfasts. The owner, Maggie, gave us apperitifs on the house then accompanied us into Marrakech where we dined together at one of her favourite restaurants. This was our first trip to Marrakesh and our stay at Riad Maji helped to make it a very special experience.

Jill and Robin Martin

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed in this Riad twice during our 2 weeks trought Marrocos.

This was the first place we arrived to, so we were charmed by how sort of nice it appeared - not luxurious, but simple & traditional.

We were not to bothered by the enormous amount of noise starting at 6am - one day at 5 even. Neither troubled by the lack of privacy.

When we went to pay the first time around & the lady had considerably inflated the price agreed (we ended up paying around 1100 DM per night). We did not want to stress we just paid it - after all, what's a few euros when one is enjoying a holiday.

Then we set off driving north to Fes & decided to return for the last night to Riad Magi. Since I was sick on that day (terrible food poisoning)
It took considerably longer to arrive - so we called the hotel to inform that we would be arriving between 10 & 11 pm. As we arrived - there was no one to open the door - we had to wait in the rain as a couple of neighbors of the hotel we so kind to call & try to find the staff for us - we were met with a not friendly face & no appologies on the part of the staff!!

We had also reserved a specif room - instead, we were given a tiny other room.

But all this would be really little if the lady had not demanded of us at 8 am ( I was still sleeping - as still unwell) to pack and be out by 10 - as she was busy & had a group arriving then - btw normal checkout time is 12 & we had booked over a week in advance.

After staying in several places throughout Marrocos - I can certainly say that the main attraction in this hotel is the location, since the staff is not caring & rude.

Also, important to note that rooms are full of damp - so, mind it if you or your kids have asthma or allergies.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We spent a total of 2 weeks in Marrakesh at the Riad Magi. We were fortunate indeed to have the owner Maggy Perry and her husband Clay in residence the first week. She is a delightful raconteuse and a wealth of information on the hidden back streets and unknown gems of Marrakesh. Evenings on the roof-top with wine and spirited conversation. She is also a fantastic cook and offers a great class in Moroccan cuisine from the hands-on trip to the market through the belly-busting desert.

After traveling around Morocco we returned for another stay. Maggy and Clay were back in London at that time but the Moroccan staff couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating, especially Abdurezzak Sanhaji Moutiq, the wonderfully efficient and responsive on-site manager. The in-house staff (Wafah, Fousia and Yousef) were always solicitous, friendly, patient and helpful.

We were traveling in a group of 8 so we "took over" the entire establishment. It was like having our own home instead of being in a hotel. The place is intimate and homey. An ideal location for forays into the medina, 3 minutes from J'ma al Fna.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east grinstead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Another wonderful stay at Riad Magi. It was so easy to leisurely walk to any of the main attractions, as the riad is in a very central position close to the square. Considering its location the riad is extremely quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed comfortable nights in a big double room and lovely breakfasts up on the terrace and on fine days it was lovely and warm with wonderful views of the mountains.

It always comes up to expectations and the staff are so friendly and go out of their way to help, Riad Magi is becoming a home from home. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a true Moroccan experience and doesn't want to stay in a souless hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

if ill go again in marrakech i would for due back...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

I am a seasoned traveller and have had many an experience in staying at a wide cross section of hotels ranging from palaces to primative, all over the world. But of all these Riad Maji is the one that has called me back two or three times a year for the last fifteen years. Why? the staff (my friends now) are exceptional and the peace is unique amongst the passion and chaos of Marrakech. Thank you Maggie and all at Riad Maji for making me feel truly special. Je reviens!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#378 of 480 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
#151 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kssour Agafay
Kssour Agafay
#319 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#112 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Origin Hotels Riad Magi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Origin Hotels Riad Magi

Address: 79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #580 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Origin Hotels Riad Magi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Magi is a colourful five-room riad that gives a feeling of mystery and adventure with its narrow stairways and variety of floor levels. It is located two doors down from Riad Lhena, close to Jamaa El Fna. The Riad Magi courtyard is shaded by large orange trees creating a wonderful atmosphere for dining together in the Moroccan tradition. The rooftop terrace is perfect for relaxing in the sun or outdoor dining with its sun loungers and canopied lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Origin Hotels Riad Magi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Origin Hotels Riad Magi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.