We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At first we thought it was nice but we wrong” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Riad Magi to your Saves list
Riad Magi
79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #609 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“At first we thought it was nice but we wrong”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in this Riad twice during our 2 weeks trought Marrocos.

This was the first place we arrived to, so we were charmed by how sort of nice it appeared - not luxurious, but simple & traditional.

We were not to bothered by the enormous amount of noise starting at 6am - one day at 5 even. Neither troubled by the lack of privacy.

When we went to pay the first time around & the lady had considerably inflated the price agreed (we ended up paying around 1100 DM per night). We did not want to stress we just paid it - after all, what's a few euros when one is enjoying a holiday.

Then we set off driving north to Fes & decided to return for the last night to Riad Magi. Since I was sick on that day (terrible food poisoning)
It took considerably longer to arrive - so we called the hotel to inform that we would be arriving between 10 & 11 pm. As we arrived - there was no one to open the door - we had to wait in the rain as a couple of neighbors of the hotel we so kind to call & try to find the staff for us - we were met with a not friendly face & no appologies on the part of the staff!!

We had also reserved a specif room - instead, we were given a tiny other room.

But all this would be really little if the lady had not demanded of us at 8 am ( I was still sleeping - as still unwell) to pack and be out by 10 - as she was busy & had a group arriving then - btw normal checkout time is 12 & we had booked over a week in advance.

After staying in several places throughout Marrocos - I can certainly say that the main attraction in this hotel is the location, since the staff is not caring & rude.

Also, important to note that rooms are full of damp - so, mind it if you or your kids have asthma or allergies.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
29
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We spent a total of 2 weeks in Marrakesh at the Riad Magi. We were fortunate indeed to have the owner Maggy Perry and her husband Clay in residence the first week. She is a delightful raconteuse and a wealth of information on the hidden back streets and unknown gems of Marrakesh. Evenings on the roof-top with wine and spirited conversation. She is also a fantastic cook and offers a great class in Moroccan cuisine from the hands-on trip to the market through the belly-busting desert.

After traveling around Morocco we returned for another stay. Maggy and Clay were back in London at that time but the Moroccan staff couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating, especially Abdurezzak Sanhaji Moutiq, the wonderfully efficient and responsive on-site manager. The in-house staff (Wafah, Fousia and Yousef) were always solicitous, friendly, patient and helpful.

We were traveling in a group of 8 so we "took over" the entire establishment. It was like having our own home instead of being in a hotel. The place is intimate and homey. An ideal location for forays into the medina, 3 minutes from J'ma al Fna.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east grinstead
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Another wonderful stay at Riad Magi. It was so easy to leisurely walk to any of the main attractions, as the riad is in a very central position close to the square. Considering its location the riad is extremely quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed comfortable nights in a big double room and lovely breakfasts up on the terrace and on fine days it was lovely and warm with wonderful views of the mountains.

It always comes up to expectations and the staff are so friendly and go out of their way to help, Riad Magi is becoming a home from home. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a true Moroccan experience and doesn't want to stay in a souless hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

if ill go again in marrakech i would for due back...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

I am a seasoned traveller and have had many an experience in staying at a wide cross section of hotels ranging from palaces to primative, all over the world. But of all these Riad Maji is the one that has called me back two or three times a year for the last fifteen years. Why? the staff (my friends now) are exceptional and the peace is unique amongst the passion and chaos of Marrakech. Thank you Maggie and all at Riad Maji for making me feel truly special. Je reviens!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I have visited Riad Magi several times and have been welcomed so warmly. Powdery pastels mix with Moroccan touches - the perfect mellow haven. Courtyard calm during the daytime and candlelit by night - I have lovely memories of a very special place to stay, unwind and relax. Warmly and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

My favourite overnight stopping off place between arriving in Marrakech and setting off for Essaouira. I love the warm welcome I always receive from the charming and helpful staff. This is very important to me particularly when I travel alone. Breakfast in the courtyard or on the terrace is magical. The staff are always on hand to find me coach tickets and taxis and help with my luggage. I love it and stay whenever I can.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Magi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magi

Address: 79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #609 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Magi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Magi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.