We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Origin Hotels Riad Magi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Origin Hotels Riad Magi to your Saves list
Origin Hotels Riad Magi
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #383 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Palm Desert CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We spent a total of 2 weeks in Marrakesh at the Riad Magi. We were fortunate indeed to have the owner Maggy Perry and her husband Clay in residence the first week. She is a delightful raconteuse and a wealth of information on the hidden back streets and unknown gems of Marrakesh. Evenings on the roof-top with wine and spirited conversation. She is also a fantastic cook and offers a great class in Moroccan cuisine from the hands-on trip to the market through the belly-busting desert.

After traveling around Morocco we returned for another stay. Maggy and Clay were back in London at that time but the Moroccan staff couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating, especially Abdurezzak Sanhaji Moutiq, the wonderfully efficient and responsive on-site manager. The in-house staff (Wafah, Fousia and Yousef) were always solicitous, friendly, patient and helpful.

We were traveling in a group of 8 so we "took over" the entire establishment. It was like having our own home instead of being in a hotel. The place is intimate and homey. An ideal location for forays into the medina, 3 minutes from J'ma al Fna.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank StevePalmDesertCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
east grinstead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Another wonderful stay at Riad Magi. It was so easy to leisurely walk to any of the main attractions, as the riad is in a very central position close to the square. Considering its location the riad is extremely quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed comfortable nights in a big double room and lovely breakfasts up on the terrace and on fine days it was lovely and warm with wonderful views of the mountains.

It always comes up to expectations and the staff are so friendly and go out of their way to help, Riad Magi is becoming a home from home. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a true Moroccan experience and doesn't want to stay in a souless hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

if ill go again in marrakech i would for due back...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank furiaceka85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

I am a seasoned traveller and have had many an experience in staying at a wide cross section of hotels ranging from palaces to primative, all over the world. But of all these Riad Maji is the one that has called me back two or three times a year for the last fifteen years. Why? the staff (my friends now) are exceptional and the peace is unique amongst the passion and chaos of Marrakech. Thank you Maggie and all at Riad Maji for making me feel truly special. Je reviens!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burlington190758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I have visited Riad Magi several times and have been welcomed so warmly. Powdery pastels mix with Moroccan touches - the perfect mellow haven. Courtyard calm during the daytime and candlelit by night - I have lovely memories of a very special place to stay, unwind and relax. Warmly and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elbalchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

My favourite overnight stopping off place between arriving in Marrakech and setting off for Essaouira. I love the warm welcome I always receive from the charming and helpful staff. This is very important to me particularly when I travel alone. Breakfast in the courtyard or on the terrace is magical. The staff are always on hand to find me coach tickets and taxis and help with my luggage. I love it and stay whenever I can.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sofia06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Good location right off the Djeema El-fna - although the entrance is down some pretty strange alley ways which are partly full of rubble and feel as though you are heading into some spooky dungeon!!! When you arrive the staff are very friendly and helpful - we especially liked the night porter Yousseff.
The evening we got there the Assistant Manager recommended a restaurant to us and we were whisked off there with a booking already made. When we got there it was extortionately expensive - we felt that he should have asked before sending us.

We had also been told by the owner Maggie that the Manger would pick us up at the airport which we thought exceptionally kind - as it turned out it was a random driver who the Assistant Manager said we had to pay!!! That hadn't been mentioned at all and when we explained that he said “ok then don’t worry about it”.

We stayed in a room on the ground floor right off the courtyard - it was a pleasant room but the door didn't close properly so everyone walking through the courtyard could see straight into our room at all times of night and day. In addition you could hear every sound made by anyone else in the Riad - either as it echoed through the courtyard or through the pipes and vents in the bathroom.

The roof top area is very nice and in all it was convenient and OK. I think it best suits a younger age group that aren’t quite as fussy as us

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#163 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ali
Hotel Ali
#379 of 490 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kssour Agafay
Kssour Agafay
#393 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Sohane
Riad Dar Sohane
#126 of 1,149 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Lhena
Riad Lhena
#338 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#25 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Origin Hotels Riad Magi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Origin Hotels Riad Magi

Address: 79 Derb Moulay Abdul Kader, Derb Dabachi | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Origin Hotels Riad Magi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Magi is a colourful five-room riad that gives a feeling of mystery and adventure with its narrow stairways and variety of floor levels. It is located two doors down from Riad Lhena, close to Jamaa El Fna. The Riad Magi courtyard is shaded by large orange trees creating a wonderful atmosphere for dining together in the Moroccan tradition. The rooftop terrace is perfect for relaxing in the sun or outdoor dining with its sun loungers and canopied lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Origin Hotels Riad Magi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing