We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous *******” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Yeux Bleus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Les Yeux Bleus to your Saves list
Riad Les Yeux Bleus
7 Derb El Ferrane, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #404 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous *******”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is the most special place, it has a calmness about it so when you come back from the hustle and bustle of the souks and square you feel completely at ease again as you sit down to some delicious mint tea bought by Rashid. Two mornings running we asked for mint tea up on the roof tops and then on the third morning we didn't even have to ask as there was Rashid with our tea at exactly the same time waiting for us to go up to the roof top - what service. Nothing was too much trouble for them, we ate dinner there the first night which was delicious and then they booked restaurants elsewhere. If we didn't finish our bottle of wine they would always keep it for us, so we could finish it the next day. One of us had rather an important birthday and so we arrived with 2 bottles of champagne as a surprise for her and they very happily kept it in their fridge and opened 1 for us to have bucks fizz at breakfast with such charm and happiness.

The Hamman and massage was out of this world and definitely worth recommending.

As far as the loo situation was concerned, not having a door to shut from the bedroom, we soon discovered there was one with a door, basin, lock (soundproof!) etc up on the roof terrace and so there was no problem or embarrassment!

I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a very special place amidst the franticness of outside. It is really easy to get to anywhere being very central, just remember the address or take their card with you so when you get lost someone can show you where to go as just saying the name of the Riad didn't always work.

I went with friends to celebrate a birthday but am determined to go back for a romantic stay!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the old part overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at Riad les yeux bleus at the start of our trip in Marrakesh and it truly is a beautiful and charming riad. In keeping with Morrocan architecture the attention to detail to the doors, walls and ceilings were amazing, beautifully decorated. The splash pool was very cooling in the midst of the august heat. Beds were super comfortable, breakfast was a feast! Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Definitely would love to go back again, hopefully soon....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We planned our trip through Best of Morocco, online - an excellent organization! We wanted to have a safe but exotic and memorable family trip with our two daughters, who were are in university - we had only 10 days as that is all their school break allowed. We started and ended our adventure in Marrakech, where we stayed at Riad Les Yeux Blue - truly an oasis after a long travel from Toronto via Paris in mid-February. The staff were so welcoming, the riad is so beautiful (and spotless). After the taxi ride and walking down the narrow alleyways of old town Marrakech (exotic even for seasoned travelers), we were dazzled from the moment the antique wooden door opened to a gracious welcome. The girls had their own suite - the decor is so authentically old world Moroccan - a five star hotel could not come close to this intimate setting. Rose petals on the made-up beds, a hammam, a cozy dinner, breakfast on the rooftop with a spectacular view of the city. We travelled with a driver across the Atlas mountains on a 5 day trek to the Sahara desert where we rode camels for an overnight camp out in the middle of the
Sahara (highly recommended). Our stop back in Marrakech at the end of our trip was so sweet as we felt like we had returned "home" when we arrived back at Riad Les Yeux Blue. Mmmm.. I can taste the Moroccan mint tea and homemade almond biscuits as I write this...... We all agreed, we would return here in a heart beat. A wonderful trip for friends, a couple or family with older kids.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the original part - the pre-dawn hourly calling to prayer can be heard through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Wonderful holiday in Morocco – superbly organised by Janine at ‘Complete Morocco’ and commencing with this riad in Marrakech (also see Kasbah Bab Ourika and MG Spa Hotel in Essaouira). As per other reviews one wonders what’s happening when guided down the alleys and arrive down a dead-end at a huge wooden door but Yeux Bleus is an oasis in the middle of frenetic Marrakech. There were four adults and we had the two ground floor rooms. Ours opened onto a salon which felt like our own sitting room with the doors open but curtains drawn – very small so we just had cases open on the floor for our three nights. I think we were in the ‘cheap seats’ but this place is so beautiful and well managed we just loved it. Our friends’ room was larger and opened onto the courtyard and pool area. This was also where we had breakfast – fresh juice, breads, honey, cheese etc. There is also a roof terrace with beds and covered area and view across city.

We were disappointed with the Square – our expectations were high and envisaged snake charmers, acrobats, fire eaters and jugglers. None of that these days it seems, just ladies plaiting hair and applying henna tattoos. There were two men dressed as women dancing to traditional music and some lads boxing!

The souk is like a rabbit warren and I can guarantee you will get lost. We were saved a couple of times and we gladly paid a few dirhams. All part of the fun. However on one occasion we were hustled when walking to the Majorelle gardens – some chap told us they were closed for cleaning until 2.00 pm and we fell for it. He kept turning up on his bike wherever we were walking to take us to his cousin’s shop or somewhere! We just could not get rid of him. Mostly people were friendly and helpful and we are glad we have visited Marrakech though probably wouldn’t return. The four of us ate at the stalls one night and the food was really good – but I was very ill next day. Only me.

We didn’t really visit anywhere else, just wandered around and got the feel of the place. Yeux Bleus was also perfect for this as it was centrally located – just lovely and can thoroughly recommend, no adverse comments whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighouse, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

When ou walk down the little allyway the first time you worry of where you are going then the open the door to a lovely place. Beauty and luxury, relaxing, great staff. We also had the Hamman and dinner at the riad, both great you just have to book it. Highly recommended.

We went beginningof March greata weather and Marakesh is a must see!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We travelled with a group, so we booked the whole Riad. The rooms were big, comfortable and were cleaned impeccably, with beautiful little added touches. Service was fantastic. Nothing was a bother for them, and we had some pretty fussy and demanding travellers. Lots of separate public spaces & rooms to escape and relax in. Beautiful large rooftop terrace. No TVs in the rooms, but one of the public spaces by the pool has one if you want to catch up on the news. Wifi down by the pool and lounge areas. The riad is beautifully designed and captured the essence of Marrakech. Close to the souks for shopping and only 10 min walk to the main square. We definitely recommend this little oasis. Don't recommend travelling in Sept though, as temperature got up to 51 degrees.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Having read the previous reviews I find it hard to add anything that has not already been said but I did want to write a review because it is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed and so different from modern hotels (obviously!). Having arrived tired from the flight and the scary drive from the airport like previous reviewers we were rather dismayed and apprehensive as we were taken through the warren of alleys. But I will never forget going through that door into this beautiful place. I'm not fond of the word 'jawdropping' but that's what it was. It was just stunning - and the tortoise trundling around the pool, and the cat, Nanu, snoozing in one of the chairs, completed the picture.
We were made to feel very welcome and were offered a drink on arrival while we completed the paperwork. Try the mint tea, it's superb. The meals were very good and we could choose where we sat for breakfast - usually on the roof terrace which was a gorgeous suntrap. The staff were attentive and the standard of service was excellent; nothing was too much trouble for them. We had two evening meals there and they were very enjoyable and very generous portions. We too loved the dessert 'pastilla' .
Our room was clean and peaceful; I agree with some of the previous reviewers about the lack of a door to the bathroom - somewhat unusual, but we just made use of
our MP3 player!
We were woken by the call to the prayer the first morning about 6am but after that don't think we noticed it and it is not a complaint - after all, it is to be expected in a Muslim country.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Les Yeux Bleus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Yeux Bleus

Address: 7 Derb El Ferrane, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #404 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Les Yeux Bleus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Yeux Bleus Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Les Yeux Bleus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.