We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in mad Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Yeux Bleus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Les Yeux Bleus to your Saves list
Riad Les Yeux Bleus
7 Derb El Ferrane, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #426 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Knowle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Oasis in mad Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Wonderful holiday in Morocco – superbly organised by Janine at ‘Complete Morocco’ and commencing with this riad in Marrakech (also see Kasbah Bab Ourika and MG Spa Hotel in Essaouira). As per other reviews one wonders what’s happening when guided down the alleys and arrive down a dead-end at a huge wooden door but Yeux Bleus is an oasis in the middle of frenetic Marrakech. There were four adults and we had the two ground floor rooms. Ours opened onto a salon which felt like our own sitting room with the doors open but curtains drawn – very small so we just had cases open on the floor for our three nights. I think we were in the ‘cheap seats’ but this place is so beautiful and well managed we just loved it. Our friends’ room was larger and opened onto the courtyard and pool area. This was also where we had breakfast – fresh juice, breads, honey, cheese etc. There is also a roof terrace with beds and covered area and view across city.

We were disappointed with the Square – our expectations were high and envisaged snake charmers, acrobats, fire eaters and jugglers. None of that these days it seems, just ladies plaiting hair and applying henna tattoos. There were two men dressed as women dancing to traditional music and some lads boxing!

The souk is like a rabbit warren and I can guarantee you will get lost. We were saved a couple of times and we gladly paid a few dirhams. All part of the fun. However on one occasion we were hustled when walking to the Majorelle gardens – some chap told us they were closed for cleaning until 2.00 pm and we fell for it. He kept turning up on his bike wherever we were walking to take us to his cousin’s shop or somewhere! We just could not get rid of him. Mostly people were friendly and helpful and we are glad we have visited Marrakech though probably wouldn’t return. The four of us ate at the stalls one night and the food was really good – but I was very ill next day. Only me.

We didn’t really visit anywhere else, just wandered around and got the feel of the place. Yeux Bleus was also perfect for this as it was centrally located – just lovely and can thoroughly recommend, no adverse comments whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brighouse, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

When ou walk down the little allyway the first time you worry of where you are going then the open the door to a lovely place. Beauty and luxury, relaxing, great staff. We also had the Hamman and dinner at the riad, both great you just have to book it. Highly recommended.

We went beginningof March greata weather and Marakesh is a must see!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We travelled with a group, so we booked the whole Riad. The rooms were big, comfortable and were cleaned impeccably, with beautiful little added touches. Service was fantastic. Nothing was a bother for them, and we had some pretty fussy and demanding travellers. Lots of separate public spaces & rooms to escape and relax in. Beautiful large rooftop terrace. No TVs in the rooms, but one of the public spaces by the pool has one if you want to catch up on the news. Wifi down by the pool and lounge areas. The riad is beautifully designed and captured the essence of Marrakech. Close to the souks for shopping and only 10 min walk to the main square. We definitely recommend this little oasis. Don't recommend travelling in Sept though, as temperature got up to 51 degrees.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Having read the previous reviews I find it hard to add anything that has not already been said but I did want to write a review because it is one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed and so different from modern hotels (obviously!). Having arrived tired from the flight and the scary drive from the airport like previous reviewers we were rather dismayed and apprehensive as we were taken through the warren of alleys. But I will never forget going through that door into this beautiful place. I'm not fond of the word 'jawdropping' but that's what it was. It was just stunning - and the tortoise trundling around the pool, and the cat, Nanu, snoozing in one of the chairs, completed the picture.
We were made to feel very welcome and were offered a drink on arrival while we completed the paperwork. Try the mint tea, it's superb. The meals were very good and we could choose where we sat for breakfast - usually on the roof terrace which was a gorgeous suntrap. The staff were attentive and the standard of service was excellent; nothing was too much trouble for them. We had two evening meals there and they were very enjoyable and very generous portions. We too loved the dessert 'pastilla' .
Our room was clean and peaceful; I agree with some of the previous reviewers about the lack of a door to the bathroom - somewhat unusual, but we just made use of
our MP3 player!
We were woken by the call to the prayer the first morning about 6am but after that don't think we noticed it and it is not a complaint - after all, it is to be expected in a Muslim country.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We tend to stay in 5-star modern hotels and we were a little worried when our agent recommended a 'riyad' called les Yeux Bleus. We were even more worried when our driver took us down long dark winding alleys deep within the old city. He opened a nondescript door, and there was this pure jewel of a small hotel, decorated and maintained with such good taste that it almost hurt. Only five minutes walk from the main square.
I note that others have complained about poor soundproofing between bathroom and bedroom. I can see that could indeed be a problem if you eat something unwise... Fortunately it didn't bother us.
If we visit Marrakech again, 5-star hotels have lost us. We're staying here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

In the old part of Marrakech you walk through narrow alleyways wondering where on earth you are going and suddenly a beautiful old wooden door opens, a warm smile welcomes you and you discover an enchanting magical old palace. A Riad is an old house built around a patio. Les Yeux Bleus has two patios, a small one with an old fountain in the middle doubles up as the winter dining room, the main one opens up to the skies and has been cleverly redesigned with a small swimming pool. It is the living center of the house. The patios are surrounded by open galleries, there are two upper floors, the last floor being the roof/terrace. The bedrooms are opening onto the galleries. There are 8 bedrooms and as many living rooms/libraries/ sitting room every one of them tastefully decorated with beautiful Morrocan furniture, art and antiques.
The bedrooms all have their own local style. Ours boasted a large double bed, comfy antique armchairs, small tables and a wardrobe. The painting on the wall of a Morrocan old man was stunning. The bathroom was so beautiful in the local craft of “Tadelakt”. Although temperature was soaring outside, the room remained cool and we did not need to use the air conditioning. The place is very quiet and the only thing we noticed was the call to prayer in the early morning.
Dinner is provided on request. Ours was set in the small patio. White table cloth, antique Morrocan plates and smart cutlery, it was better than in a 5 star hotel. We were offered a gastronomic menu of Morrocan delicacies: many different salads each prepared with different species and various “Tagines” in their special tagine dishes. The pudding of” pastilla” was exquisite. The Morrocan wines were matching perfectly. The staff was always discrete and efficient, planning ahead of our needs. Another couple had a romantic dinner by the little pool, their table set with candle lights and petals of roses.
Breakfast can be enjoyed in the patio downstairs or on the terrace on the last floor. Breakfast can offer you the best Morrocan pancakes and patisseries as well as croissants with fresh coffee and fresh orange juice. Do ask for mint tea, not only because it is the most refreshing local drink but also for the pleasure to see it served with the amazing gesture that takes the teapot so far away from the glass. The last floor has a view on the roofs of Marrakech and it is also where the Hammam is, where you can get a massage and get pampered after a long day shopping in the souk or walking in the Atlas mountains. The Riad is 5 minutes walk from the souk and the main square Jama El Fna that is bustling with tourist attractions but we would recommend you explore the shops on the way to the square as they are shops for locals.
We highly recommend the Riad Les Yeux Bleus because it has been for us the perfect place for a long week end. It gave us a great base to explore Marrakech following the recommendations of the staff there. The staff sense of hospitality made us feel we were welcome in their home, not guests in a hotel. Although there are 8 rooms, we never noticed the other guests and there are as many living rooms so that we could chose our own living room to relax. We could live the dream that this was our beautiful palace out of a story from “The 1001 nights”.

Room Tip: book dinner there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Just had 4 nights in this Riad, special occaision for my wife, first time in Marrakesh, this riad was really wonderful. Tastefully done throughout, a real peaceful haven in the center of this mad city. Get a room on the first floor. Staff extremely friendly and attentive. Gorgeous roof terrace where we had our breakfast each morning. Ignore other comments about being woken by call to prayer, you are in Marrakesh, whereever you stay will not be far from a mosque! We'd stay here again like a shot.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#2 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#48 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#32 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Les Yeux Bleus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Yeux Bleus

Address: 7 Derb El Ferrane, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #426 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Les Yeux Bleus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Yeux Bleus Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Les Yeux Bleus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.