We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A vertiable oasis in the middle of the medina in Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad 72

Save Saved
You added Riad 72 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad 72
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   72 Arset Awzel, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A vertiable oasis in the middle of the medina in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

From the moment we stepped into Riad 72 we knew that we were in for something special. There is a real sense of tranquility that owes as much to the refined tastefulness of the refurbishment of the riad as it does to the outstanding personlised service of all the staff. This is a boutique hotel at its best. No request, however small was too much trouble. The strawberries that we brought back from the market, which we asked to be washed appeared beautifully prepared moments later with a home made orange syrup and artisan yoghurt on the side. Dinners were outstanding and breakfast, served on the rooftop terrace overlooking the medina and with spectacular views to the snow capped Atlas mountains was the perfect way to start the day. Time spent in the kitchen one afternoon with Habiba, learning how to create some of the Moroccan dishes she serves, was a highlight. Cristian, who manages Riad 72 was extremely helpful and informative, providing not only valuable advice on where to go and what to see, but also offering insights into the cultural and historical aspects of Morocco. The room we stayed in, although one of the smaller rooms was extremely tastefully appointed with everything we needed...again the attention to detail was exquisite. No hesitation in recommending Riad 72.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
102
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The 4 room Riad was a former noblemans home and thus claimed the right to build higher than his neighbours. The rooms are luxurious and stylish, the Riad is Italian owned and renovated, we stayed in a room called 'Lille', with its high ornate wooden ceilings, large loungey bed
and traditional meets modern bathroom design you are guaranteed an oasis and a sanctuary from the
hustle and bustle of the Marrakech street. Christian the manager and his staff are on hand at all times and nothing feels rushed. Its a very chilled
environment. They gently suggest your route for each day and after the breakfast made by the brilliant in house local chef Habiba (which is in itself something to write home about)
a spread of delicious french and moroccan freshly baked bread and pastries honey and jams, with coffee or mint tea.
You are free to collapse in comfort anywhere in the riad, with balconies, a salon and the lovely rooftop ringing with the sounds of the
call to prayer. The tiny pool was too cold at this time of year and would mainly serve as a place to dip/cool off in the hotter months i imagine. It's tiny though! The atmosphere is so quiet, in contrast to the alleyways outside. We travelled in February
off season and the temperature was about 22degc most days, dropping to 9 or 10 in the evenings. Highly recommended if you want a chilled holiday. Thanks to Nouahmane, Rahid and Aziz for their fun and help throughout the stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel has a good location in the old town just north west of the main souk. The staff are very helpful and several of them speak good english. It's certainly worth organising airport transfers with the hotel as it is not on a main street and would be difficult to find, particularly if like us you are on your first visit to Marrakech.

Inside the hotel is an oasis of cool tranquility, much needed after a morning in the souk! The decor is quirky but classy and the rooms are comfortable. Of note, both the rooms we stayed in had only a curtain to separate the sleeping area from the bathroom. Probably not a place for new couples on a first holiday!

Breakfast is continental, however many of the pastries are deep fried which becomes hard work after a few days. I would advise avoiding the evening meals in the hotel. Although the food is of a reasonable standard, it was not made clear at the time of booking or on the menu that eating in involves a set menu of three courses, this works out to be very expensive indeed. It is certainly possible to get better Moroccan food elsewhere for a better price.

Overall this is a comfortable reasonably priced hotel in a good location, ideal if you want to stay somewhere a bit different and not break the bank. I would however advise avoiding evening meals in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UovoMarrakech, Owner at Riad 72, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for taking the time to share with us and other reviewers your experience at Riad 72 back in october 2012.
We are pleased to hear that you had a very nice experience and considered the Riad a peaceful and comfortable place to stay in Marrakech.
As far as the evening meals, we are both sorry and surprised in reading that you had to order a set menu of three courses. This is not our policy with hotel guests. Prices and menus are on all tables and all our guests have complete freedom of ordering only what they wish.
We do apologize for the inconvenience and hope next time you are in town you decide to give us a chance to prepare a lovely dinner for you.
Should you have any further comment or suggestions please do not hesitate to get in touch with our manager.
Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was our first trip to Marrakech and the staff, service and surroundings of Riad 72 truly made it such a special trip. We can't emphasise enough just how beautiful and tranquil Riad 72 is, an oasis of calm against the hustle an bustle of such a vibrant city.
The rooms are fabulous, each with there own unique features, from a bath that you could fit a group in to an elegant mezzanine suite. We slept like babies in our huge bed surrounded by fluffy pillows, lulled to sleep by the rustle of banana palms and song's of birds outside in the courtyard.
We chose to eat our first breakfast on the roof and what a delight it was, an array of pastries, fruit, breads and homemade preserves served with our choice of fresh orange juice and mint tea; all whilst we gazed over the views of the city with the Atlas mountains off in the distance.
We ate at the Riad for two of our three nights in the city as the food was so delicious, Fatima and the entire team really do go above and beyond and made each meal a delight.
We really can't thank Christian and his team at Riad 72 enough. We can't wait to return to Marrakech and especially to the warmth and tranquility of Riad 72.

Room Tip: The mezzanine suite is so quite and peaceful with a secret door to the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As wonderful as when we first visted 8 years ago!
Whether arriving for the first time or returning from a day of Marrakech madness, from the moment you step through the huge wooden door you are transported to an oasis of calm and beauty. The Riad is beautiful in every detail. It doesn't try to recreate the feel of the kasbah in the way some of the riads do, it reflects the taste and style of its Italian owner with an influence of Morrocco, fine art and luxuary.
Eat at the Riad. Tables are prepared in the courtyard of the riad but you can also choose to eat on the roof terrace or in the lounge. Fatima prepares wonderful traditional food in the little kitchen adjacent to the courtyard. You don't choose your menu, you are treated to a succession of tasty dishes. I have eaten in a number of good restaurants in Marrakech but the food and atmosphere in the riad is the best.
The food is matched by the quality of service which is sublime.
Marrakech is an expereince not to be missed but the conversation on the way home was all about the riad, the food and the lovely people at riad 72.
Thank You Cristian and your great team.

Room Tip: you're not there to swim and forget keeping fit, the food is too good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Riad 72 is the perfect place to combine tranquility, excellent food and superb service. Located behind a wooden door at the end of a labyrintic ally, this Moroccan-Italian Riad is an ideal oasis for an extended weekend in this intriguing city.

When you have enjoyed your late night cocktail at the Mamounia followed by a dinner at Le Foundouk be sure to save a night to dine at the Riad 72. A truly magnificent experience where a never ending marathon dinner is created on simple basics.

Riad 72 was a truely genuine experience not least to the ever assisting staff Rashid, Aziz, Aicha, Habiba, Mehdi, Naima and the hotel manager Christian.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Never been to Marrakech but it was fantastic and the service and food at Riad 72 will be reason enough to go back. It's a beautiful place tucked away in the Medina, maybe 10 minutes walk from the crazy chaos (in a good way) of the main square...and it's a welcome oasis of calm to return to after tramping around the souks. Our room (the Karma suite) was huge with a beautiful high, wooden ceiling.

The fantastic Christian and his capable team (Aziz, Rashid and others) have perfected the art of of low key but attentive and friendly service. English is spoken but if you're a French (or Arabic) speaker then obviously even better. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them, the ever smiling Aziz even walked us to one of the main restaurants when we were fretting about finding it. I was pleased he came, we would have got lost! If I had a minor criticism it would be that to order a beer on the roof terrace you had to go all the way to the bottom to find a member of staff. But that sounds incredibly lazy now that I've read that back.

And finally, the food- it's really, really good. In fact, I'd say we didn't eat as well as we did in the Riad so make sure you book. The lemon, olive and chicken was really great. And to top it all, the breakfasts: we didn't eat the same thing twice and it was all made in house. Drinking fresh OJ on the roof terrace overlooking this ancient city will be a memory that long stays with me. Will definitely come back and stay in the peaceful, beautiful place.

Room Tip: Karma room is huge, would have been happy with any of them though. It's very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad 72? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 72

Address: 72 Arset Awzel, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad 72 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad 72 is a romantic retreat that mixes the best of modern Moroccan craftsmanship with contemporary Moroccan design. It has its own private hammam and, thanks to its lushly planted patio, fountain and water features, songbirds are often found here serenading the guests. The terrace is one of the highest of the medina. It offers incomparable views over the old city and onto the majestic Atlas mountains: ideal for soaking up the sun or a sunset aperitif. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad 72 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad 72 Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad 72, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.