We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad 72

Save Saved
You added Riad 72 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad 72
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   72 Arset Awzel, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cornwall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Thank you again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As wonderful as when we first visted 8 years ago!
Whether arriving for the first time or returning from a day of Marrakech madness, from the moment you step through the huge wooden door you are transported to an oasis of calm and beauty. The Riad is beautiful in every detail. It doesn't try to recreate the feel of the kasbah in the way some of the riads do, it reflects the taste and style of its Italian owner with an influence of Morrocco, fine art and luxuary.
Eat at the Riad. Tables are prepared in the courtyard of the riad but you can also choose to eat on the roof terrace or in the lounge. Fatima prepares wonderful traditional food in the little kitchen adjacent to the courtyard. You don't choose your menu, you are treated to a succession of tasty dishes. I have eaten in a number of good restaurants in Marrakech but the food and atmosphere in the riad is the best.
The food is matched by the quality of service which is sublime.
Marrakech is an expereince not to be missed but the conversation on the way home was all about the riad, the food and the lovely people at riad 72.
Thank You Cristian and your great team.

Room Tip: you're not there to swim and forget keeping fit, the food is too good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
105
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Riad 72 is the perfect place to combine tranquility, excellent food and superb service. Located behind a wooden door at the end of a labyrintic ally, this Moroccan-Italian Riad is an ideal oasis for an extended weekend in this intriguing city.

When you have enjoyed your late night cocktail at the Mamounia followed by a dinner at Le Foundouk be sure to save a night to dine at the Riad 72. A truly magnificent experience where a never ending marathon dinner is created on simple basics.

Riad 72 was a truely genuine experience not least to the ever assisting staff Rashid, Aziz, Aicha, Habiba, Mehdi, Naima and the hotel manager Christian.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Never been to Marrakech but it was fantastic and the service and food at Riad 72 will be reason enough to go back. It's a beautiful place tucked away in the Medina, maybe 10 minutes walk from the crazy chaos (in a good way) of the main square...and it's a welcome oasis of calm to return to after tramping around the souks. Our room (the Karma suite) was huge with a beautiful high, wooden ceiling.

The fantastic Christian and his capable team (Aziz, Rashid and others) have perfected the art of of low key but attentive and friendly service. English is spoken but if you're a French (or Arabic) speaker then obviously even better. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them, the ever smiling Aziz even walked us to one of the main restaurants when we were fretting about finding it. I was pleased he came, we would have got lost! If I had a minor criticism it would be that to order a beer on the roof terrace you had to go all the way to the bottom to find a member of staff. But that sounds incredibly lazy now that I've read that back.

And finally, the food- it's really, really good. In fact, I'd say we didn't eat as well as we did in the Riad so make sure you book. The lemon, olive and chicken was really great. And to top it all, the breakfasts: we didn't eat the same thing twice and it was all made in house. Drinking fresh OJ on the roof terrace overlooking this ancient city will be a memory that long stays with me. Will definitely come back and stay in the peaceful, beautiful place.

Room Tip: Karma room is huge, would have been happy with any of them though. It's very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Within a five to ten minute walk of the Central souqs. Riad 72 is tucked away in the narrow alleyways of a quiet part of town. Thankfully a taxi was arranged to pick us up as there was no way we would have ever found it without local knowledge. I am in truth loathe to recommend this riad as I fear it will become "too" popular and may spoil but here goes .... the riad itself is a fantastic old building with just four suites. We were lucky enough to spend three blissful nights in a tastefully decorated suite boasting a massive kingsize bed and an amazing bathroom with a tub that easily accommodated my 6 foot frame (stretched out)!. The fact that this place gets the basics right is only the start. The little touches like fresh red roses in the room, high end boutique pillows, rose petals on the dinner table etc. make a real difference. For me there are three main reasons why Riad 72 should be the only option in Marrakech, Due to its size and intimacy it really feels like you have the place to yourself most of the time which is fantastic for such a top class establishment complete with massive roof terrace which is ideal for taking breakfast. This brings me on to point two which is the food - the home cooked freshly prepared food here is amazing (I am a big foodie but could not bring myself to eat anywhere else for 2 of the 3 nights), Fatima serves up phenomenal treats and her meatball and egg tagine is world class, not too mention freshly prepared pastries, freshly squuezed orange juice and premium coffee every morning for breakfast - Superb! Lastly the service, all the staff are very attentive, helpful and polite but special mention to Christian and Rashid who were always on hand to offer advice and to ensure that we had a great stay.
A superb place to stay and please do not change a single thing.

Room Tip: Book early because this place seems to be always full
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had the luck of being recommended Riad 72 by a friend who stayed there recently.
My holiday ( one week) has been simply perfect. The Riad is a safe, quite and luxurious haven. You cannot ask for a better place after having walked around the Souk and the Medina.
It's like entering a magic world. Service very good, the room beautiful, attention to every details, always fresh flowers, new artisanal soaps, great breakfast, and mint tea anytime you like it.
Sunsets in the roof top are amazing, especially if in the company of your beloved girl and a cocktail...They also organize tours and give you customized suggestions on restaurants and things to do and see. Well done, Viva Riad 72 and thank you guys!

Room Tip: every corner and room is perfect, but if you can afford it...book the Karma Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here with my partner and a couple of friends for a mid-week break in February and loved every second of it. We stayed in the Amal room which was beautiful and had the biggest bed and most amazing stone bath. Little touches like bottles of water and fresh fruit and flowers added extra comfort. The roof terrace is fantastic and on our first day we had a delicious traditional three course lunch served shortly after we arrived (book ahead) in a beautiful covered dining area overlooking the atlas mountains with intermittent calls to prayer breaking the distant sounds of the city. There is plenty of room for sunbathing a lovely little plunge pool to cool off. Breakfast was amazing and consisted of fresh juice and more freshly baked pastries and breads then you could ever eat. All food was cooked by Fatima, the in house cook who is incredibly talented. All of the staff and the manager were so friendly and helpful with nothing being too much trouble. The Riad is perfectly situated for exploring all of Marrakech's attractions but hidden enough to provide welcome relief from the constant outside bustle. I would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I cannot say enough about Riad 72. Riad 72 was a luxurious safe haven from the chaos just beyond its walls in the Medina. First of all, the riad itself is one of the oldest and most well-known in the city. Its decor, gardens, and terrace are so perfectly decorated that one feels immediately calmed while simultaneously experiencing the charms of Moroccan decor: color, pillows, iron work, palm trees justting up thru the ceiling. With only 4 rooms, the hotel truly starts to feel like one's home. A fact that the charming, and incredibly warm staff will remind you of constantly, " you are home, whatever you like."

The unexpectedly fun aspect of this riad truly was the staff. They take the word "doting" to a new level and went above and beyond to ensure we felt at home. As two American women, we felt a bit nervous when going out from time to time, and Rashid and Norman were always more than willing to escort us, call taxis, arrange guides, etc. We were always welcomed back from our day with warm mint tea and cookies and a smile.

Even having spent a day at La Mammounia, the premier luxury resort in Marrakech, I still suggest everyone stay at Riad 72.

As a side note, speaking French (even a few phrases) will go a long way at the hotel, and in the city in general.

Room Tip: all 4 rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad 72? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 72

Address: 72 Arset Awzel, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad 72 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad 72 is a romantic retreat that mixes the best of modern Moroccan craftsmanship with contemporary Moroccan design. It has its own private hammam and, thanks to its lushly planted patio, fountain and water features, songbirds are often found here serenading the guests. The terrace is one of the highest of the medina. It offers incomparable views over the old city and onto the majestic Atlas mountains: ideal for soaking up the sun or a sunset aperitif. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Riad 72 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad 72 Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad 72, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.