We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A royal stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad 72

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad 72 to your Saves list
Riad 72
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Arset Awzel, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A royal stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had the luck of being recommended Riad 72 by a friend who stayed there recently.
My holiday ( one week) has been simply perfect. The Riad is a safe, quite and luxurious haven. You cannot ask for a better place after having walked around the Souk and the Medina.
It's like entering a magic world. Service very good, the room beautiful, attention to every details, always fresh flowers, new artisanal soaps, great breakfast, and mint tea anytime you like it.
Sunsets in the roof top are amazing, especially if in the company of your beloved girl and a cocktail...They also organize tours and give you customized suggestions on restaurants and things to do and see. Well done, Viva Riad 72 and thank you guys!

Room Tip: every corner and room is perfect, but if you can afford it...book the Karma Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    18
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
155
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here with my partner and a couple of friends for a mid-week break in February and loved every second of it. We stayed in the Amal room which was beautiful and had the biggest bed and most amazing stone bath. Little touches like bottles of water and fresh fruit and flowers added extra comfort. The roof terrace is fantastic and on our first day we had a delicious traditional three course lunch served shortly after we arrived (book ahead) in a beautiful covered dining area overlooking the atlas mountains with intermittent calls to prayer breaking the distant sounds of the city. There is plenty of room for sunbathing a lovely little plunge pool to cool off. Breakfast was amazing and consisted of fresh juice and more freshly baked pastries and breads then you could ever eat. All food was cooked by Fatima, the in house cook who is incredibly talented. All of the staff and the manager were so friendly and helpful with nothing being too much trouble. The Riad is perfectly situated for exploring all of Marrakech's attractions but hidden enough to provide welcome relief from the constant outside bustle. I would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I cannot say enough about Riad 72. Riad 72 was a luxurious safe haven from the chaos just beyond its walls in the Medina. First of all, the riad itself is one of the oldest and most well-known in the city. Its decor, gardens, and terrace are so perfectly decorated that one feels immediately calmed while simultaneously experiencing the charms of Moroccan decor: color, pillows, iron work, palm trees justting up thru the ceiling. With only 4 rooms, the hotel truly starts to feel like one's home. A fact that the charming, and incredibly warm staff will remind you of constantly, " you are home, whatever you like."

The unexpectedly fun aspect of this riad truly was the staff. They take the word "doting" to a new level and went above and beyond to ensure we felt at home. As two American women, we felt a bit nervous when going out from time to time, and Rashid and Norman were always more than willing to escort us, call taxis, arrange guides, etc. We were always welcomed back from our day with warm mint tea and cookies and a smile.

Even having spent a day at La Mammounia, the premier luxury resort in Marrakech, I still suggest everyone stay at Riad 72.

As a side note, speaking French (even a few phrases) will go a long way at the hotel, and in the city in general.

Room Tip: all 4 rooms are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our holidays at Riad 72 was a real pleasure.The service was great - thanks to Habiba, Aziz, Thouria, Rachid and Cristian. Fine cooking, a terrace with a fantastic view to the Atlas mountains and a hammam. The Riad 72 is perfectly situated in the Medina. We really appreciated our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a cooking course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Due to adverse weather conditions we ended up staying four nights here rather than the original two. The riad is beautifully decorated, our room was lovely with a huge comfy bath. My partner is 6"4 and he really liked having a bath he could lye down in. All the staff where really friendly and helpful, going out of their way to help us on many occasions. We ate in the riad a few times and the food was always great, much better than any restaurant or market we went to. The location is very central and close to all the main sights.
We would very much recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This has to be one of the best secret treasures in Marrakech. Have spent several long weekends of relaxation here with good food and wine as a bonus. The building is stunning with amazing views from the roof top terrace. The plunge pool is not big but we got 6 people in to cool of which was fun especially as the wine was flowing.
One tip is to ask Fatima for her Orange soup..it is amazing and if she ever gives you the recipe please tell me.
The staff will make you feel welcome and there is nothing too small that they will not assist you on, even escorting you to other restaurants.
You will have the best time here especially if you and your friends want to hire the wholeplace. Had an amazing birthday here one year
Enjoy

Room Tip: If you like a good bath then ask for the Amal Room as the bath is to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cervia Milano Marittima, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The ryad 72, is absolutly unic, after arriving in to Marrakech airport, the ryad sent a driver to pick me and my wife, was our first experience in Marrakech, the ryad is an oásis inside the Medina, the location is excelent Very quiet, and close to the main Marrakech attractions.
The decoration is amazing, simple and Very confortabel, the rooms confortabel and with Excelent dimensions, the bathroom was beautiful, Excelent shower, Excelent amenities, everything clean, the towels Very good quality. On the terrace we fund a Very small, but fresch kind of pool, a could shower, and the most confortabel pool furniture i ever experience, Very good to take a nap, or read a book.
But above all That i have mention above, what was really important, the service provide for the staff, all of them from the lady in the kitchen, until the waiters, and the door man, they really made our tripe fantastic, helping with rezervations, a 7 stars service, allways helping in everything
This hotel is the best value for money That we can have

Room Tip: The ryad have 4 rooms, we stay at the small one, and cheaper, but i saw the others, and ours was per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#12 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#34 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#48 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad 72? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 72

Address: 72 Arset Awzel, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad 72 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad 72 is a romantic retreat that mixes the best of modern Moroccan craftsmanship with contemporary Moroccan design. It has its own private hammam and, thanks to its lushly planted patio, fountain and water features, songbirds are often found here serenading the guests. The terrace is one of the highest of the medina. It offers incomparable views over the old city and onto the majestic Atlas mountains: ideal for soaking up the sun or a sunset aperitif. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad 72 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad 72 Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad 72, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.